BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-17-2009, 10:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
jsconyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In a van down by the river.
Model: NOTE2
OS: 4.1
PIN: <- Where do I find this?
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 15,071
Post Thanks: 139
Thanked 140 Times in 121 Posts
Default Verizon tech support is clueless...SHOCKER!!

Please Login to Remove!

<rant>

So I have a user that has an 8330 that is constantly dropping the data connection. Keeps going to lowercase 1xev. A battery pull temporarily fixes the issue. I updated the PRL to no avail. He was running 4.5.0.77 on his device. I upgraded his OS to 4.5.0.138 and .160 and it didn't help. So I decided to call Verizon to request a replacement device.

I explained the issue and the steps I took in troubleshooting the issue to this point. The rep proceeds to tell me that I need to upgrade the device to 4.7. I tell him the Curve does not run on 4.7 the Storm does. He swears to me his co-worker is running his Curve on 4.7. I explained to him that his co-worker either has the Storm or he is being facetious or pulling his leg. He continued to tell me that he cannot assist me any further until I upgrade to 4.7. I asked him to send me information on how to upgrade the Curve to 4.7. He then checked BlackBerry.com and saw that the latest OS for the Curve is 4.5. He then admits he is confused (obviously).

He puts me on hold for about 10 minutes and then comes back and asks for the address to ship the replacement device. So in the end, the outcome is what I was looking for. I just wish that the reps would be properly trained.

</rant>
__________________
The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits.
When you take things for granted, the things you are granted, get taken.
Even a mosquito doesn't get a pat on the back until it starts to work.
Too many people miss the silver lining because they're expecting gold.
[BES 5.0.3 / GroupWise 2012 HP2]
Offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 10:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
iPhone Convert
 
juwaack68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tulip City - MI
Model: iP5
OS: 6.0.2
PIN: to beans
Carrier: I'm not
Posts: 13,875
Post Thanks: 3
Thanked 72 Times in 55 Posts
Default

UGH! While I appreciate the myraid of calls people on the 'front lines' receive, I agree with you. I hate calling in for support and realizing I know more then the person I'm talking to.

It would be nice if you could say "Can I just remote control your computer for a minute to do what I KNOW needs to be done?"
__________________
No longer a BES Admin, but it was fun while it lasted!
Offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 10:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
jsconyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In a van down by the river.
Model: NOTE2
OS: 4.1
PIN: <- Where do I find this?
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 15,071
Post Thanks: 139
Thanked 140 Times in 121 Posts
Default

Yeah, I agree, they deal with a lot of people at a non-stop basis. He also asked if I wiped the device. I said yes, I did a security wipe as well as wiped with JL_Cmder. He had no clue what JL_cmder was and asked if I did the other wipe. That confused me and asked what he meant by "other wipe" and he said through the options menu. He meant the security wipe and I stated again that I tried that.
__________________
The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits.
When you take things for granted, the things you are granted, get taken.
Even a mosquito doesn't get a pat on the back until it starts to work.
Too many people miss the silver lining because they're expecting gold.
[BES 5.0.3 / GroupWise 2012 HP2]
Offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 10:51 AM   #4 (permalink)
iPhone Convert
 
juwaack68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tulip City - MI
Model: iP5
OS: 6.0.2
PIN: to beans
Carrier: I'm not
Posts: 13,875
Post Thanks: 3
Thanked 72 Times in 55 Posts
Default

The...."other wipe"?? *smacks forehead*

Were your teeth clenched?
__________________
No longer a BES Admin, but it was fun while it lasted!
Offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 11:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
BBF Moderator
 
akosnitzky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Southern Florida
Model: 9650
OS: 6.0.0.333
Carrier: Verizon BIS
Posts: 14,484
Post Thanks: 6
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Wirelessly posted (Its All About the U!)

Its frustrating. Also they want you do the battery pull first and then diagnose. Well of course things will be better
__________________
------
Follow @akosnitzky on Twitter

LET'S GO CANES!
Offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 12:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
usblues1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Old Fort NC
Model: 8330
OS: 4.5.0.160
PIN: 30282BE0
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 392
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I had sorta the same thing happen when I got Vz Navigator for my curve. I got it set up on my acct, was sent the link for an OTA install, but the link would not work. I tried all the standard stuff, OTA update, battery pull, and stuff. i finally called VZW. they tried to get to do the same things, I told them I had already done that, I said that to several layers of tech ppl. I was told I had too old a version of software, i needed this ceritan one, I told them I had the release after that one, she said she would have to have someone call me. So I sat there staring at my phone, and finally went into the browser settings, and changed the emulator settings from IE to BB, it worked, so I get the call and this tech asked all the same questions and had me to do the same stuff the others did, all the while i'm trying to break in and say I had it working, then he tells me Ihave a Bad device. I then get to talk and tell him what I did and that I have Nav working just fine, but thanks for the call.
__________________
I just want a honest weeks pay, for a honest days work - Steve Martin.
Offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 12:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
usblues1965's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Old Fort NC
Model: 8330
OS: 4.5.0.160
PIN: 30282BE0
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 392
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I need to start proof reading my posts before I post them. That is a horroble example of grammar and puncuation (I will never be able to spell though)
__________________
I just want a honest weeks pay, for a honest days work - Steve Martin.
Offline  
Old 07-18-2009, 07:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PDX, OR
Model: 9550
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 37
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

jsconyers, were you talking to the indirect support tech guys or the normal CSR techs? Either way, I wouldn't be surprised, but everyone on the IDR line makes me want to shoot myself.
Offline  
Old 07-18-2009, 08:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
BBF Moderator
 
akosnitzky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Southern Florida
Model: 9650
OS: 6.0.0.333
Carrier: Verizon BIS
Posts: 14,484
Post Thanks: 6
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Critical or not. Sometimes we are at their mercy
__________________
------
Follow @akosnitzky on Twitter

LET'S GO CANES!
Offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 09:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
New Member
 
jsconyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In a van down by the river.
Model: NOTE2
OS: 4.1
PIN: <- Where do I find this?
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 15,071
Post Thanks: 139
Thanked 140 Times in 121 Posts
Default

Here is an update.

So the replacement device came in. However, it was not an 8330, it was an 8830 World Edition device. I called Verizon up and let them know of the mistake. The lady I spoke with was very polite and apologized for the mistake. She then put in an order to send me an 8330 overnight.

Just as she stated, I had a refurbished 8330 in my hand by about noon the next day. I was setting the device up for the user and found that the delete key didn't work (thank goodness for typos). At this point,t his user has 2 Curves that don't work properly, one dropping data coverage, and one with a delete key not working, and an 8830 device that was sent by mistake.

I call up my rep and explain the situation and how this user has been pretty patient in getting this issue resolved, but their patience is beginning to wear a little thin (and rightfully so), as well as mine. My rep said she'd call around to a few stores and see if we could do the swap in the store to get the user a working device in the user's hand by end of business. She called around to a few stores with no luck. There was one store that had a device that we could swap out. This store was a little out of the way but time was running out as the user was leaving by 5 and it was already 4 at this point. I set the user a password on the BES and went to meet her. She swapped out the devices and I headed back. Began activating the device on the way back. Got it back to him with 6 minutes to spare.

So in the end, the rep did an outstanding job of coming through on short notice, and the last lady I worked with in tech support was very polite. It's not her fault the delete key didn't work. All appears to be fine now. Just a little fiasco there to keep the day interesting.
__________________
The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits.
When you take things for granted, the things you are granted, get taken.
Even a mosquito doesn't get a pat on the back until it starts to work.
Too many people miss the silver lining because they're expecting gold.
[BES 5.0.3 / GroupWise 2012 HP2]
Offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 07:45 AM   #11 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
CoDudette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Mumbai
Model: iOS
OS: 5.0.1
PIN: OT Noir.
Carrier: Vodafone IN
Posts: 1,937
Post Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

vodafone are as bad!

When the Bold was released here, our Vodafone sales rep delievered 3 handsets to us and i was so stoked! knowing that it takes a couple hours here for all our BB services to start after getting a new BB, we didn't think anything was wrong.
ok, so then.. the EDGE remained in caps, but there was NO data service activated. so that was a bit of a bummer. i called vodafone, and they kept telling me, it's a problem from my end, as everything is showing 'activated' on their servers. i asked them if there was a problem with software (OS) compatibility and should i wipe my device and reload a 'newer' version of available bold software.
the guy said, 'madam, we're not sure what you mean by wiping your device. we do not recommend it. your bb is showing registered on the vodafone network. how about taking out the battery and trying to see if it works after?'

i felt like crying. this continued for a week. every time i would call, i would get the same answer. and every day, for a couple hours, my bb would work, so i didn't load a newer OS.
basically, we had .126 loaded on the devices, which somehow were incompatible with vodafone. don't ask why. so i just downloaded .162 and lo and behold, it worked.
i actually rang vodafone after and told them the problem and asked em to tell people THIS was the issue. *sigh* needless to say, it is frustrating as hell!
Offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 07:25 AM   #12 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Model: STORM
PIN: N/A
Carrier: VERIZON WIRELESS
Posts: 153
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsconyers View Post
<rant>

So in the end, the outcome is what I was looking for.
</rant>
And yet you felt compelled to post this.
Offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 01:28 PM   #13 (permalink)
BlackBerry Genius
 
mriff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Florida swamps
Model: iPhon
OS: 4.0.4
PIN: High
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 6,779
Post Thanks: 106
Thanked 61 Times in 47 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottRPriester View Post
And yet you felt compelled to post this.
You have an amazing grasp of the obvious.
__________________
Ignorance more frequently begets confidence than does knowledge. CD
Offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 02:00 PM   #14 (permalink)
New Member
 
jsconyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In a van down by the river.
Model: NOTE2
OS: 4.1
PIN: <- Where do I find this?
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 15,071
Post Thanks: 139
Thanked 140 Times in 121 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottRPriester View Post
And yet you felt compelled to post this.
I like how you "felt compelled" to quote the <rant> </rant> and leave out the entire rant.

This is a rant and raves forum, is it not?
__________________
The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits.
When you take things for granted, the things you are granted, get taken.
Even a mosquito doesn't get a pat on the back until it starts to work.
Too many people miss the silver lining because they're expecting gold.
[BES 5.0.3 / GroupWise 2012 HP2]
Offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 03:07 PM   #15 (permalink)
Stuck In The '70's Mod
 
ndub33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: The 'burbs east of Seattle.
Model: 9810
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 7,599
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Guess I interpreted it as closure on the situation-and a pretty positive conclusion, at that. We always like to read good news here.
__________________
1st Step in Troubleshooting: Do you have a BlackBerry Data Plan?
2nd Step in Troubleshooting: Pull the Battery.
Offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 03:10 PM   #16 (permalink)
New Member
 
jsconyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In a van down by the river.
Model: NOTE2
OS: 4.1
PIN: <- Where do I find this?
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 15,071
Post Thanks: 139
Thanked 140 Times in 121 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ndub33 View Post
Guess I interpreted it as closure on the situation-and a pretty positive conclusion, at that. We always like to read good news here.
That's exactly what it was meant to be - a positive conclusion.
__________________
The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits.
When you take things for granted, the things you are granted, get taken.
Even a mosquito doesn't get a pat on the back until it starts to work.
Too many people miss the silver lining because they're expecting gold.
[BES 5.0.3 / GroupWise 2012 HP2]
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.