BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-26-2009, 02:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
funkyp56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: iPhon
OS: 3.1.2
PIN: iPhones have no PIN
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 257
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default You poor, poor user you.

Please Login to Remove!

Why, in this day in age, would you ever want a smartphone, (a device that lives and dies on the internet) that does not have wi-fi? That type of thing would make me switch carriers. I just don't get it. Viva la 8900, 9000, and 8350i.
__________________
BES 5.0.0.137 w/30 Users
Network Admin
Offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 02:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
BBF Moderator
 
akosnitzky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Southern Florida
Model: 9650
OS: 6.0.0.333
Carrier: Verizon BIS
Posts: 14,484
Post Thanks: 6
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Wirelessly posted (Its All About the U!)

maybe a rant and rave post
__________________
------
Follow @akosnitzky on Twitter

LET'S GO CANES!
Offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 02:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
ataneja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 9630
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 5
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've had devices with Wi-Fi and never used it because of Sprint's data network. It would be nice to have, but far from a dealbreaker for me. Just my experience and opinion.
__________________
Sanyo PM-8200/Samsung A900/Samsung A900m/HTC Mogul 6800/Moto Q9c/Curve 8330/Tour9630
Offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 02:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NY
Model: 9630
OS: 4.7
PIN: N/A
Carrier: sprint
Posts: 10
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i've never felt the need for it...my bb is not my laptop, the data service i get is more than sufficient for what i use it for....personally, while wifi appears to be a nice feature, i can't imagine NEEDING wifi unless i lived in west virginia (no offense to any west virginians out there)...but to each their own
Offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 02:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
BlackBerry God
 
penguin3107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Model: iOS 5
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 11,701
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 237 Times in 219 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by funkyp56 View Post
Why, in this day in age, would you ever want a smartphone, (a device that lives and dies on the internet) that does not have wi-fi?
Coming from a Bold to a Tour, I thought for sure I'd miss WiFi.
I absolutely don't.
For my needs, it's completely unnecessary.

I would welcome the feature if added, but I'm not crushed over the fact that it doesn't have it now.
__________________
BCSA
BES 5.0.3 MR4 :-: Exchange 2007 SP3 RU3
http://port3101.org
Offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 03:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
BBF Moderator
 
akosnitzky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Southern Florida
Model: 9650
OS: 6.0.0.333
Carrier: Verizon BIS
Posts: 14,484
Post Thanks: 6
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

I never owned a phone with wifi so I dont know what I am missing
__________________
------
Follow @akosnitzky on Twitter

LET'S GO CANES!
Offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 05:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: Droid
OS: Google!
PIN: PONG???
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 1,555
Post Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

i have a different view, its a cell phone i pay for data, why should it it be on my network not the network i get data from. if i wanted wifi i would carry a laptop with me, and connect to random places.
Offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 07:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
No longer Registered.
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NJ
Model: WP7
OS: The Best
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 1,930
Post Thanks: 6
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wabbit View Post
i have a different view, its a cell phone i pay for data, why should it it be on my network not the network i get data from. if i wanted wifi i would carry a laptop with me, and connect to random places.
Well, one might not have his/her laptop with them or there may not be a strong cell signal, but wifi available. Each person has their own reasons for wanting wifi. Sure the cell network is the primary data source, but having a back up is great as well.
Offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 09:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
BlackBerry God
 
penguin3107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Model: iOS 5
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 11,701
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 237 Times in 219 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wabbit View Post
i have a different view, its a cell phone i pay for data, why should it it be on my network not the network i get data from. if i wanted wifi i would carry a laptop with me, and connect to random places.
Take T-Mobile, for instance.
They allow UMA on their WiFi enabled BlackBerry devices which allows phone calls over WiFi.
This is a FANTASTIC benefit for the end user, and one I do wish I could have.
(I'm not about to switch to T-Mobile for it though.)

If Verizon offered UMA... then I'd be upset over lack of WiFi on the Tour.
For me, UMA is really the only reason I'd want WiFi on a phone.
__________________
BCSA
BES 5.0.3 MR4 :-: Exchange 2007 SP3 RU3
http://port3101.org
Offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 10:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
BBF Spam Killer Moderator
 
daphne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: on a sunny beach
Model: Z
OS: 10.2.1.12
PIN: X1ZPY34K
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 9,165
Post Thanks: 122
Thanked 146 Times in 116 Posts
Default

I was thinking about this yesterday... am I missing something by not having a wi-fi enabled phone... came to the conclusion that for my purposes it's not something I really need. I don't trust unsecured wi-fi networks and I wouldn't need it at home -- I can't think of any reason I really need it.
__________________
Report spam text messages to 7726
#BlackBerry by choice #BlacBerry 10 is here!

Last edited by daphne : 07-26-2009 at 10:44 PM.
Offline  
Old 07-26-2009, 10:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
BlackBerry God
 
LunkHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Here
Model: 850
OS: 0.0.00001
PIN: kie swear
Carrier: USPS Priority
Posts: 10,992
Post Thanks: 160
Thanked 160 Times in 59 Posts
Default

I have never needed wifi on a device... I agree with penguin though.. If it was offered i'd take it, but can really care less if it's there or not...

Not a deal breaker for me... Never has been, never will be...

Kris
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.