BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-31-2009, 07:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
F5fstop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southeastern Utah
Model: 9630
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 43
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default So-called Media Manager

Please Login to Remove!

Why did Blackberry decide to use Roxio for their media manager? I have never had good luck with Roxio and it appears, I never will. In additon, this program is slower than molasses in the Antarctic.

Part of that problem might be my mistake. When I first installed it, it asked if I wanted it to catalog all my photos, and like a dumb a** I said yes. Did not understand that from that time on, when I open the manager it looks at all my photo files and loads displays their images.

When you have over 2000 image files on a hard drive, and some are in proprietary Nikon RAW format, it takes almost 15 minutes to load and display (and it can't display the Nikon NEF files, but it sure does try).

PS Bridge displays all photos too, but only take about 20 seconds to load and display. This Roxio is a POS.

I am going to load the manager again, then this Roxio POS program and this time, I will tell it to NOT catalog my photos; hopefully it will open a lot faster in the future.

Ok...rant now over....
__________________
Greetings from the Colorado 'High Desert' Plateau; Canyon Country, Utah

Last edited by F5fstop : 10-31-2009 at 07:27 PM.
Offline  
Old 10-31-2009, 11:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: 9xx0
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,907
Post Thanks: 60
Thanked 244 Times in 182 Posts
Default

You don't even need the Roxio software, why are you stuck on loading it?
Offline  
Old 11-01-2009, 09:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: Droid
OS: Google!
PIN: PONG???
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 1,555
Post Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

its about 10 times faster to just copy your content to the sd card once the phone is connected to the pc. but thats just me.
Offline  
Old 11-01-2009, 10:06 AM   #4 (permalink)
BlackBerry God
 
aiharkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida Panhandle
Model: BBPP
OS: 10.3.0
Carrier: T-Mobile USA
Posts: 13,753
Post Thanks: 16
Thanked 503 Times in 489 Posts
Default

Wirelessly posted (8820)

Ditto the above. I've never used it. Never saw the need.
__________________
- Ira
Offline  
Old 11-04-2009, 12:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
New Member
 
Worker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: O2 Business
Posts: 11
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wabbit View Post
its about 10 times faster to just copy your content to the sd card once the phone is connected to the pc. but thats just me.
Absolutely. Using an an app to do what an OS does by default is pollution.

In general I'm worried by the level of abstraction that PC/MAC users have to deal with nowadays. There are additional layers of nonsense involved in what should be very straightforward processes.
Offline  
Old 11-05-2009, 05:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
No longer Registered.
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NJ
Model: WP7
OS: The Best
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 1,930
Post Thanks: 6
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSanders View Post
You don't even need the Roxio software, why are you stuck on loading it?
You do if you want to load video. Otherwise it won't be properly formated for the BB and won't play.
Offline  
Old 11-06-2009, 07:08 AM   #7 (permalink)
New Member
 
Worker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: O2 Business
Posts: 11
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Not necessarily, it's perfectly possible to encode BlackBerry compatible videos away from the Media Manager.

Me? I use Super to encode my videos, but everyone's got their personal preference.
Offline  
Old 11-08-2009, 09:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
BlackBerryForums.com Super Moderator
 
SteveO86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Model: 9650
OS: 6.0.0.280
PIN: I heard it drop!
Carrier: VZW BIS
Posts: 6,534
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
Default

While I do find Roxio to be slow and bloated I've only really used it to move videos, as far as music/sound/picture files go those can just be copied via Windows Explorer/My Computer like any normal external media. So you can bypass the Media Manager for those entirely.

All that aside to date I've never had a problem a with Roxio software yet. *Knock on wood*
__________________
8830 -> 8330 -> 9550 -> 9650
Just think about how far BlackBerries have come from then till now... And what else is coming.

Follow me on Twitter
Offline  
Old 11-12-2009, 06:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Model: Z10
OS: 10.3-1052
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 80
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSanders View Post
You don't even need the Roxio software, why are you stuck on loading it?
Quote:
Originally Posted by wabbit View Post
its about 10 times faster to just copy your content to the sd card once the phone is connected to the pc. but thats just me.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Worker View Post
Absolutely. Using an an app to do what an OS does by default is pollution.

In general I'm worried by the level of abstraction that PC/MAC users have to deal with nowadays. There are additional layers of nonsense involved in what should be very straightforward processes.
Well, can someone explain to me how to transfer files from my Pearl's built-in memory to my PC without the Media Manager? My BB doesn't have an SD card installed (and, BTW, the OP never mentioned if that BB had an SD card installed either). And even though a "removable disk" pops up in my list of drives on my PC when I plug it in, I have no direct access to it - it tells me to "Please insert disk into drive..."

The ability to set the phone to show up as a mass storage device on the PC is only for an installed media card. At least that's how it is on my Pearl. Maybe some of the newer phones have this ability with built-in memory too?
Offline  
Old 11-13-2009, 08:04 AM   #10 (permalink)
BlackBerryForums.com Super Moderator
 
SteveO86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Model: 9650
OS: 6.0.0.280
PIN: I heard it drop!
Carrier: VZW BIS
Posts: 6,534
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
Default

If you do NOT have a media card they must use the Roxio program, as that is the only way to access the onboard memory of the 8100.

Plus the 9630 (listed in the OPs profile) comes with a 2GB media card out of box, So we are assuming its still there.

Also this is a Rants and Raves forum, another post should probably be opened in the 8100 series forum so you get the proper assistance as not everyone comes to this particular forum.
__________________
8830 -> 8330 -> 9550 -> 9650
Just think about how far BlackBerries have come from then till now... And what else is coming.

Follow me on Twitter

Last edited by SteveO86 : 11-13-2009 at 08:05 AM.
Offline  
Old 11-13-2009, 12:15 PM   #11 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Model: Z10
OS: 10.3-1052
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 80
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveO86 View Post
Also this is a Rants and Raves forum, another post should probably be opened in the 8100 series forum so you get the proper assistance as not everyone comes to this particular forum.
I didn't really need assistance as I knew what the deal was with my BB. I was (sort of) merely ranting back.

I was not, however, aware that the OP's BB actually came with an SD card. So the responses provided where appropriate.
Offline  
Old 11-13-2009, 02:43 PM   #12 (permalink)
BlackBerryForums.com Super Moderator
 
SteveO86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Model: 9650
OS: 6.0.0.280
PIN: I heard it drop!
Carrier: VZW BIS
Posts: 6,534
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
Default

And there I go keep trying to be helpful
__________________
8830 -> 8330 -> 9550 -> 9650
Just think about how far BlackBerries have come from then till now... And what else is coming.

Follow me on Twitter
Offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 02:12 PM   #13 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Model: None
PIN: N/A
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 1,638
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

RIM really needs to find an alternative for Roxio. It's one of those flawed things that BB users accept but shouldn't have to put up with.

It bogs down the startup of one of my computers, and I can't even get it to open on that one in spite of many attempts to install it with different versions of DM. Way back on DM 4.3 was the last time it worked on that PC. Another computer gives an error that I've tried to fix but can't. It does run on a third PC.

But then it's almost worthless. It is easy to find alternatives to convert video, but why is that necessary? RIM should provide something that works so it isn't necessary to install multiple programs when you buy a BB. How does an average consumer figure out what alternative program to download?

Look at iphone. Apple gets it. There's no reason BB couldn't take a whack at this problem and find a program that works.
Offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 04:55 PM   #14 (permalink)
BlackBerryForums.com Super Moderator
 
SteveO86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Model: 9650
OS: 6.0.0.280
PIN: I heard it drop!
Carrier: VZW BIS
Posts: 6,534
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
Default

I now see why the this thread is the rants and raves.. LOL

What else does the iPhone do??
__________________
8830 -> 8330 -> 9550 -> 9650
Just think about how far BlackBerries have come from then till now... And what else is coming.

Follow me on Twitter
Offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 07:00 PM   #15 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Model: None
PIN: N/A
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 1,638
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveO86 View Post
I now see why the this thread is the rants and raves.. LOL

What else does the iPhone do??
I don't own an iphone and I'm not planning on buying one. I do have an old ipod that I won in a contest so I occasionally fiddle with itunes. Plus some friends have the ipod Touch or whatever that's called.

My point is that the iphone is a significant competitor and RIM should start looking at basic things like the software that comes with the device. Most new BB users are consumers now (more accurately BIS) instead of enterprise. That's an entirely different market. Business users have tech support to fall back on and don't generally convert videos and mess with media as much as consumers do.

Even in just the last two years or so, I used to see maybe one or two iphones among business flyers, or those in Business Select on Southwest. The people flying with ties, or business casual, like me. One trip early this year I glanced around and iphone was the majority. That was a shock as that's theoretically the core BB market. I've been in and out of RIM stock instead of Apple and luckily have made a nice profit. Like I said in another thread, I think RIM will have a better holiday season than lots of analysts think. But that doesn't mean I think they're doing everything right.

I think iphone is closer to plateauing, but they're not the only competitor out there.

I won't be devastated if RIM don't do anything I wish they would. Going back to 1991, my history is I buy about 2 or 3 devices in a row from a manufacturer, then some other manufacturer seems to be a bit ahead 4 or 5 years down the line. I'm likely to have my 2nd Blackberry within a month. Barring the loss of the device, they don't have to charm me again until 2011/2012.
Offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 09:19 PM   #16 (permalink)
BlackBerryForums.com Super Moderator
 
SteveO86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Model: 9650
OS: 6.0.0.280
PIN: I heard it drop!
Carrier: VZW BIS
Posts: 6,534
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
Default

Well most of RIM's money still does come from the Enterprise side of the market, Between the BES, CAL, and Support licensing. The BlackBerry will rule the Enterprise market until someone comes up with a more secure/reliable solution (period).

The consumer market is growing for them and I won't deny that.. I still a vast use in both BlackBerry and iPhone's in both consumer and enterprise, and I won't deny that.

RIM will survive and if you look back in even 2 years ago, you will notice the difference in what RIM is doing. I was ecstatic with 8830 WE (for personal use), not I have a Storm2. 2 years I could not get an official AIM program on my 8830 now they have them, not to mention the App World (Yes App World is new and needs work, but it's there it's a stepping stone for RIM).

2 years from now we will look back and be surprised on how we did without what will have then compared to what we have now.

But yes RIM has things to work, and RIM will be working on things but I can't see them going any where anytime soon.
__________________
8830 -> 8330 -> 9550 -> 9650
Just think about how far BlackBerries have come from then till now... And what else is coming.

Follow me on Twitter
Offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 10:03 PM   #17 (permalink)
No longer Registered.
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NJ
Model: WP7
OS: The Best
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 1,930
Post Thanks: 6
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveO86 View Post
Well most of RIM's money still does come from the Enterprise side of the market, Between the BES, CAL, and Support licensing.
Which is why smaller companies are looking elsewhere. RIM charges an arm and leg for features other provide for free and without all the middleware and IT support you need with BES. The BES cash cow won't go on forever.
Offline  
Old 11-14-2009, 11:04 PM   #18 (permalink)
BlackBerryForums.com Super Moderator
 
SteveO86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Model: 9650
OS: 6.0.0.280
PIN: I heard it drop!
Carrier: VZW BIS
Posts: 6,534
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
Default

True, that matter has come up with my other business friends, the BES/BlackBerry implementation is rather costly and that is why many of my friends don't have any BlackBerry solution implemented at their business.

As far as IT Support I don't really find it hard to implement/Support BlackBerry/BES it's only a few Windows services, granted their are little configurations with it but I wouldn't call it overly complex.

And besides 90% of government employee's have BlackBerries (CIA/FBI/etc) so unless some hacks RIMs secret key that they can not even produce (so we are told) I doubt RIM will go anywhere in the next 2-3 years.

( Granted at first I thought RIM's whole idea was the greatest, a few NOC's and all those proprietary servers/software almost sounds a bit like Novell.. )
__________________
8830 -> 8330 -> 9550 -> 9650
Just think about how far BlackBerries have come from then till now... And what else is coming.

Follow me on Twitter

Last edited by SteveO86 : 11-14-2009 at 11:07 PM.
Offline  
Old 11-16-2009, 12:32 PM   #19 (permalink)
No longer Registered.
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NJ
Model: WP7
OS: The Best
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 1,930
Post Thanks: 6
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveO86 View Post
And besides 90% of government employee's have BlackBerries (CIA/FBI/etc) so unless some hacks RIMs secret key that they can not even produce (so we are told) I doubt RIM will go anywhere in the next 2-3 years.
There will always be a market for BBs at government and at fortune 500 companies. However, many smaller businesses will opt for a cheaper solution that does what BB does, minus all the security that many simply do not need. All RIM has do is license Active Sync and include at no extra cost for non BES users and that would end the argument dead.

Last edited by ArgonNJ : 11-16-2009 at 12:34 PM.
Offline  
Old 12-08-2009, 04:57 PM   #20 (permalink)
New Member
 
Bolter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSanders View Post
You don't even need the Roxio software, why are you stuck on loading it?

Because some of us are issued corporate BBerrys which have IT/Policy set so everything saved to the SD card is encrypted!!! ...and typically the IT/Policy to encrypt everything saved to SD is not something the corporate user can change on their BBerry.

You can use the Mass Media mode to tfer the pics, but they transfer over as IMG00089.jpg.rem files. There is no standalone decryption tool (that I'm aware of) and we're forced to use this crapware!

Essentially, when corporate IT departments implement SD encryption it renders the camera useless because of this stupid Roxio software. The good news is, if you make your IT department use Roxio to move all your files once, they'll change their encryption policy pretty quickly.

Last edited by Bolter : 12-08-2009 at 04:59 PM.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.