BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-01-2010, 04:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: orange
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default orange plan with another phone, switching to blackberry... HELP!

Please Login to Remove!

Hello,
i was wondering if anyone could help me?

Im currently on a contract with another phone LG GW520 with this i get 200 minutes, unlimited texts and i pay 5 extra for unlimited internet.

I want to buy a blackberry 8520 on pay as you go and just put this sim into the blackberry, I know the minutes and texts would work but would the unlimited internet work for the internet and BB pin?

if not what can i do?

please help as i am very confused!
Offline  
Old 03-01-2010, 04:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry God
 
aiharkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida Panhandle
Model: Z10
OS: 10.2.1
Carrier: T-Mobile USA
Posts: 13,720
Post Thanks: 15
Thanked 500 Times in 487 Posts
Default

Wirelessly posted

Do a search and scan the posts by Midnightdraven. She has been answering questions on UK services for a while, probably several times a day.



Here is the long story short: The blackberry is the hardware interface to the RIM network and services. To use the blackberry branded apps and features that utlize the blackberry network, you need to get a blackberry specific data plan.



You may be able to get some data capabilities with your existing data plan with a third-party browser. But not push email, blackberry messenger, RIM versions of IM apps, etc without the blackberry data plan.
__________________
- Ira

Last edited by aiharkness : 03-01-2010 at 04:37 PM.
Offline  
Old 03-01-2010, 04:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: orange
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

so would i just ask fora blackberry data plan from orange which will cover those aswell as the internet so i could cancel my 5 unlimited internet or would i have to get the blackberry data plan and the 5 unlimited internet im paying for?
Offline  
Old 03-01-2010, 04:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
BlackBerry God
 
aiharkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida Panhandle
Model: Z10
OS: 10.2.1
Carrier: T-Mobile USA
Posts: 13,720
Post Thanks: 15
Thanked 500 Times in 487 Posts
Default

Wirelessly posted

Ask if Orange offers blackberry plan on paygo. I read only one UK carrier does but can't remember for sure if that carrier is Orange.



The blackberry plan should replace your current plan, I would think. But it is only data. Any texting plan with your carrier will be in addition.
__________________
- Ira

Last edited by aiharkness : 03-01-2010 at 04:45 PM.
Offline  
Old 03-01-2010, 05:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: orange
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

im paying 15 a month for my unlimited tects and 200 minutes, so asking for a blackberry data plan wont interfer with this will it?
Offline  
Old 03-01-2010, 05:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Grumpy Moderator
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey
Model: i5s
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 27,798
Post Thanks: 33
Thanked 441 Times in 381 Posts
Default

That's a question for Orange.
Offline  
Old 03-01-2010, 05:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
BlackBerry Master
 
djm2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: 9780
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 4,637
Post Thanks: 29
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Default

I wonder how many times service reps get comments from callers along the lines of: "But somebody from Blackberry Forums told me you could do it this way?"
Offline  
Old 03-01-2010, 05:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Noodle22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: British Columbia
Model: 8520
OS: 5.0.0.509
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 2,021
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've seen this answered many times enough to know, they require you to pay 5 ontop of internet for the BlackBerry Booster service. It's an odd system.

Best bet is to call them though, they are your provider
Offline  
Old 03-04-2010, 06:20 AM   #9 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Airport lounges and starbuxxx
Model: 9900
OS: 7.0.0.296
Carrier: Vodafone Business
Posts: 573
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Hi craigwalker93,

Orange does indeed offer BIS on pay as you go. You NEED that for blackberry mail and Blackberry Messenger you're interested in. It only covers network access that goes over BIS. If you browse with a third party browser, use applications that drop transport outside BIS (direct tcp/wap etc) they charge you by the kb. You can get the internet bolt-on (or whatever it's called this week) by paying extra and you can have that use inclusive.

Browsing on the blackberry with the internet plan sim from the other phone would work if you setup your APN settings. Blackberry Email and pin messaging will not. You need the BIS Data Plan for those.
Offline  
Old 06-29-2010, 02:34 AM   #10 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Model: 8120
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Orange
Posts: 1
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I bought a Blackberry Pearl 8120 Smarkphone (in UK, where I live) at an auction. Looked new, was still in the box with manual, etc. However, it has never worked. It shows all the time a battery icon with a red transversal line on it. I changed the battery, same thing occurs. I try to link to my pc, it cannot link. Only once or twice I saw the battery icon indicating charging, but then it invariably switches to the icon with the red transversal line. It's a pity. We already have two Blackberries in the household, but this one looks so stupid... Can anyone suggest a solution. The service provider is Orange. The red line with the battery icon even appears when you remove the battery and keep the phone linked by USB to the computer.
Offline  
Old 06-29-2010, 05:49 AM   #11 (permalink)
BlackBerry God
 
aiharkness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Florida Panhandle
Model: Z10
OS: 10.2.1
Carrier: T-Mobile USA
Posts: 13,720
Post Thanks: 15
Thanked 500 Times in 487 Posts
Default

Wirelessly posted

Try this first. With the battery installed, plug the blackberry into a wall charger. Leave it to charge for an hour. Then, while still plugged into the wall charger, remove the battery and then replace it. Does the blackberry boot up?

If the blackberry boots, leave it to finish charging.

If it does not boot, try another battery that you know to be good.
__________________
- Ira
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.