BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-24-2010, 03:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NewJersey
Model: 9900
OS: 7.1.0.284
PIN: 294E926C
Carrier: T-MOBILE
Posts: 640
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Sprint overdrive 3G/4G

Please Login to Remove!

Hey guys just picked up the sprint overdrive it's pretty much a wifi router with a cell data connection . I have used it on my desktop, laptop and my iPad . The speed of the 3 is pretty good little better the AT&T 3G . The 4G connection I have yet to test it because the there is no 4g connection in my area yet but it should be coming in the next few month .

A lot of people would say why would you lay 60 dollars for a data connection but to be honest it's a data connection I can have wherever u want when I want it and use it on what I want . No lock down no limits to be honest . The battery life is pretty good on the overdrive you should get 5-7 hrs of connection depending how many people you have on it and how much data is being transferred .

I have yet to see any cons with the deivice . I did have the iPad 3G on order but I don't think I will be getting it being that I have my own connection when I want it . I am aware of the hack that can be done on the iPhone and bake to share your connection with the iPad and it's great I did test it out but the battery life of the iPhone is already bad. This hack will take the iPhone battery to a whole new crap level . Lol 100% charged that hack killed my battery Jin an hour and this is from an iPhone 3GS that's only two weeks old.

Will update the post if I see something that needs to be talked about . But this device is a def a good buy if you need connection where ever whenever you want it and able to share it with 5 devices .
__________________
MY Collection:--8300,8700,8800,9000,9300,9500,9520,9700,9800,9860, 9900
Offline  
Old 04-24-2010, 04:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App5
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,036
Post Thanks: 54
Thanked 782 Times in 742 Posts
Default

Just be sure that your data plan is truly unlimited. In Cell phone speak, unlimited doesn't really mean that you can use as much data as you wish. If you consistently use of some set limit, typically 5 GB, per month, then the carriers will cal you on it and try to get you to tone down your use, or put a cap. I know both Verizon and ATT do this. If and how it is enforced, I can't say.

BTW, I carry a Verizon MiFi with me for data access when I travel. Four or five nights a month in a hotel that charges for Internet pays for the device.
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Old 04-25-2010, 12:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Spam Reporter
 
dc/dc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: IAD
Model: 6230
Carrier: Voicestream
Posts: 14,530
Post Thanks: 220
Thanked 345 Times in 311 Posts
Default

Your speeling hurts my head.
__________________
I h8 txtspk.
Offline  
Old 04-25-2010, 05:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NewJersey
Model: 9900
OS: 7.1.0.284
PIN: 294E926C
Carrier: T-MOBILE
Posts: 640
Post Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Hmm

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubdub View Post
Just be sure that your data plan is truly unlimited. In Cell phone speak, unlimited doesn't really mean that you can use as much data as you wish. If you consistently use of some set limit, typically 5 GB, per month, then the carriers will cal you on it and try to get you to tone down your use, or put a cap. I know both Verizon and ATT do this. If and how it is enforced, I can't say.

BTW, I carry a Verizon MiFi with me for data access when I travel. Four or five nights a month in a hotel that charges for Internet pays for the device.
Your right the sprint has a 5 gig cap on it but once the 4G is up and running and if you are on it you don't have a cap I spoke with the rep he said the 4g connection has no cap so that's nice
__________________
MY Collection:--8300,8700,8800,9000,9300,9500,9520,9700,9800,9860, 9900

Last edited by MERK350Z : 04-25-2010 at 05:36 PM.
Offline  
Old 04-25-2010, 10:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
iPhone Convert
 
juwaack68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tulip City - MI
Model: iP5
OS: 6.0.2
PIN: to beans
Carrier: I'm not
Posts: 13,875
Post Thanks: 3
Thanked 72 Times in 55 Posts
Default

Very true - if you're using the 4G there is no cap.
__________________
No longer a BES Admin, but it was fun while it lasted!
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.