BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-08-2010, 10:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Model: 9810
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 261
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default I just don't understand Verizon

Please Login to Remove!

I was issued an 8530 from Verizon a week ago as a backup device and at first I thought all was great.

Then the users started calling and saying they just can't work with them like they did with the AT&Ts. I figured they were all idiots because the device seemed like a mildly scaled down 9700...then it hit me.

Aside from it being stripped of a fast CPU, remotely decent screen, nice control buttons, no rubberized back, autofocus, etc (the 8520 ain't better either)........I prayed the 9650 would be the solution then I tried to send an IM while on speakerphone only to be told I can't. So I switched to BBM and was gonna hit up another user, same problem. So I figure I will open the browser and find the info myself....NOPE.

I understood what my users were complaining about. Unless they were connected via WiFi, you can't use the telephone, speakerphone or even bluetooth ear piece while trying to work. A limitation of CDMA, that as I understand will still be issue with LTE.

So why does Verizon want to be a business tool when:

1. They always force consumers to compromise on hardware: The Storm 1 lacked WiFi (No excuse), the 9650 is a Bold with a slow(er) CPU, The Tour lacks WiFi as well, the 8530 is barely competitive and recently released, etc..

2. The network cannot allow simultaneous voice and data traffic. All the more reason all devices should always have had WiFi, but still not a real solution.

The ONLY reason we may keep Verizon as backup is their network upgrades include microwave backhaul, so in the event of a natural disaster we can probably depend on Verizon for being there for us.

I am proud my users have embraced simultaneous voice and data and didn't even know it until we tried Verizon as an alternative and we learned about how Verizon's business plan encourages a reduction in work efficiency.

I'm just ranting. I had high hopes.

Last edited by vhato : 05-08-2010 at 10:28 AM.
Offline  
Old 05-08-2010, 10:28 AM   #2 (permalink)
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App5
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,020
Post Thanks: 54
Thanked 778 Times in 740 Posts
Default

Sounds to me like you didn't do your homework up front before you switched?
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Old 05-08-2010, 10:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Baton Rouge, La
Model: 9810
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 261
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

We didn't switch, just backup devices with out of state numbers. We were considering a switch if all went well, but it won't happen. Verizon gets placed in our desk drawers until the day comes we need them.
Offline  
Old 05-08-2010, 01:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Everett WA
Model: 4
OS: iOS4
PIN: Whats a pin? lol
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 582
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vhato View Post
2. The network cannot allow simultaneous voice and data traffic. All the more reason all devices should always have had WiFi, but still not a real solution.
This is because it is an EDGE device and not 3g.
Offline  
Old 05-08-2010, 02:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
iPhone Mod!
 
zerog46's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: In a House
Model: 9650
Carrier: VZW Bold
Posts: 6,749
Post Thanks: 16
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

VZW is not edge, it's 3G, and it has nothing to do with that, its the CDMA Network. As soon as LTE comes out you will be able to make voice and data at the same time.
__________________
Life is not holding a good hand. Life is playing a poor hand well.
Offline  
Old 05-08-2010, 04:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Everett WA
Model: 4
OS: iOS4
PIN: Whats a pin? lol
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 582
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zerog46 View Post
VZW is not edge, it's 3G, and it has nothing to do with that, its the CDMA Network. As soon as LTE comes out you will be able to make voice and data at the same time.
Oh drr, missed its verizon.

Has verizon said they will be putting 2 radios in the LTE devices? If not, will be the same issue all over again
Offline  
Old 05-08-2010, 07:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: Droid
OS: Google!
PIN: PONG???
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 1,555
Post Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Wirelessly posted

No us cdma 3g can do data / voice

Lte on vz and on att will. I can't speak about wimax or sprint 4g since it has zero interest to me

I don't know how you could not see an att commercial over verizons 3g

p.s the bold on verizon will also be a slower process then the bold 9700 on att.

it has something to do with battery life, and cdma. over all i doubt you can tell the difference in 75 htz. or w/e it is. its small but slower then the 9700 cpu.

Last edited by wabbit : 05-08-2010 at 07:39 PM.
Offline  
Old 05-08-2010, 07:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: Droid
OS: Google!
PIN: PONG???
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 1,555
Post Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRinger View Post
Oh drr, missed its verizon.

Has verizon said they will be putting 2 radios in the LTE devices? If not, will be the same issue all over again
att has 1 radio. verizon will have 1 raido. etc. the data/voice has to do with cdma hard limits how cdma works. there is a very expensive cdma setup with data and voice, which verizon did not take the route. its how the phone works. and time slice of cdma technology.
Offline  
Old 05-08-2010, 07:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: Droid
OS: Google!
PIN: PONG???
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 1,555
Post Thanks: 3
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRinger View Post
This is because it is an EDGE device and not 3g.
verizon is 3g. not edge.
Offline  
Old 05-08-2010, 08:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
BlackBerry Genius
 
TBOLTRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Model: 4S
OS: 7.0.4
PIN: & Teller
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 5,200
Post Thanks: 62
Thanked 104 Times in 71 Posts
Default

And the Verizon network tends to work in places that at&t does not.

I do agree that Verizon tends to have phones with features (or lack of them) that causes me to wonder if the drugs dogs need to be turned loose in their corporate offices.
__________________
We will spend our old age surrounded by idiots following government rules.
Offline  
Old 05-09-2010, 06:32 AM   #11 (permalink)
BlackBerry God
 
LunkHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Here
Model: 850
OS: 0.0.00001
PIN: kie swear
Carrier: USPS Priority
Posts: 10,973
Post Thanks: 148
Thanked 142 Times in 54 Posts
Default

I dont understand why a hotdog is called a hotdog????

Any help for me???
Offline  
Old 05-09-2010, 08:42 AM   #12 (permalink)
BlackBerry Genius
 
TBOLTRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Model: 4S
OS: 7.0.4
PIN: & Teller
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 5,200
Post Thanks: 62
Thanked 104 Times in 71 Posts
Default

We took a poll and you are way past help.
__________________
We will spend our old age surrounded by idiots following government rules.
Offline  
Old 05-09-2010, 10:33 AM   #13 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Greensboro, NC, U.S.A.
Model: 8530
OS: 5.0.0.459
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon Wireless
Posts: 523
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

@vhato,

The 8530 is considered a "low-end" consumer device. Not sure what you expected from it. If you look at it in that light, it's a pretty slick device--depends on your view and needs. "Remotely decent" and "nice" are hard to quantify. Is a rubberized back that critical? I think you're purpose for posting was to do an AT&T commercial. :-/

What line of work are you in that people need to be on their mobile phones and use messenger and other data at the same time?
Offline  
Old 05-09-2010, 02:44 PM   #14 (permalink)
Latino Hasta La Muerte
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Denville, NJ.
Model: 7250
OS: 4.1
PIN: G!!!
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 9,025
Post Thanks: 51
Thanked 304 Times in 292 Posts
Default

I miss simultaneous voice & data that I had with AT&T, but I don't miss their network. 3G on my Bold was as slow as EDGE, sometimes worse, and dropped calls were a problem. Now with Sprint (which roams for free onto Verizon) I never drop a call. The downside is, of course, if I'm talking on the phone and waiting for a file via email, I'm out of luck. I have to hang up and call back when I receive it. Total trade-off.
Offline  
Old 06-14-2010, 02:42 PM   #15 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Model: 8530
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon Wireless
Posts: 33
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rambo47 View Post
I miss simultaneous voice & data that I had with AT&T, but I don't miss their network. 3G on my Bold was as slow as EDGE, sometimes worse, and dropped calls were a problem. Now with Sprint (which roams for free onto Verizon) I never drop a call. The downside is, of course, if I'm talking on the phone and waiting for a file via email, I'm out of luck. I have to hang up and call back when I receive it. Total trade-off.
Yeah, I noticed that the other day as well. I have verizon and I wondering that was the case or not. Thanks.
Offline  
Old 06-15-2010, 01:13 AM   #16 (permalink)
Spam Reporter
 
dc/dc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: IAD
Model: 6230
Carrier: Voicestream
Posts: 14,530
Post Thanks: 220
Thanked 345 Times in 311 Posts
Default

The only way you can get simultaneous voice and data with a CDMA provider is if the device has WiFi, you turned the WiFi radio on, and are successfully attached to a WiFi network.
__________________
I h8 txtspk.
Offline  
Old 06-17-2010, 12:22 AM   #17 (permalink)
BBF Spam Killer Moderator
 
daphne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: on a sunny beach
Model: Z
OS: 10.2.1.12
PIN: X1ZPY34K
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 9,165
Post Thanks: 122
Thanked 146 Times in 116 Posts
Default

Just curious... could the lack of Wi fi on vzw until just recently be due to all their government contracts? I.E government not wanting a bunch of people running around with wi-fi.
__________________
Report spam text messages to 7726
#BlackBerry by choice #BlacBerry 10 is here!

Last edited by daphne : 06-17-2010 at 12:24 AM.
Offline  
Old 06-17-2010, 08:31 AM   #18 (permalink)
New Member
 
jsconyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In a van down by the river.
Model: NOTE2
OS: 4.1
PIN: <- Where do I find this?
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 15,071
Post Thanks: 139
Thanked 140 Times in 121 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daphne View Post
Just curious... could the lack of Wi fi on vzw until just recently be due to all their government contracts? I.E government not wanting a bunch of people running around with wi-fi.
Could be, who knows. Maybe they were trying to find a way to nickel and dime their customers for using WiFi with a new app like VZWiFi. Kind of like how they blocked GPS except for VZNavigator a few years back
__________________
The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits.
When you take things for granted, the things you are granted, get taken.
Even a mosquito doesn't get a pat on the back until it starts to work.
Too many people miss the silver lining because they're expecting gold.
[BES 5.0.3 / GroupWise 2012 HP2]
Offline  
Old 06-17-2010, 02:33 PM   #19 (permalink)
BlackBerryForums.com Super Moderator
 
SteveO86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Model: 9650
OS: 6.0.0.280
PIN: I heard it drop!
Carrier: VZW BIS
Posts: 6,534
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
Default

You don't know how quickly I would jump from VZW if they did that.
__________________
8830 -> 8330 -> 9550 -> 9650
Just think about how far BlackBerries have come from then till now... And what else is coming.

Follow me on Twitter
Offline  
Old 06-24-2010, 10:21 PM   #20 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
SpectreBlofeld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 9630
OS: 4.5.x.x
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 211
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Verizon didn't design these phones. Verizon isn't even the only carrier that carry these models. There are CDMA carriers in Canada, you know, which is where these things come from. And there's Sprint, Metro, US Cellular, and the like in the US that all use CDMA and carry these handsets. As for complaints about the quality of the 8530, remember that it's the phone that VZW sells for a whopping $29 on contract. I wouldn't expect must more than a glorified feature phone at that price, personally.

Not to say that the complaints about the quality of CDMA Blackberries aren't valid, of course, but look around at CDMA blackberries around the world, in other US carriers, Canada itself, Mexico, India, South Korea, China, etc - no other carrier has any nicer ones than VZW. In short, while worthy of a rant, the rant should be pointed squarely at RIM, IMHO. Verizon doesn't dictate the manufacture and quality of Blackberry phones for the whole world.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.