BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-19-2012, 07:59 AM   #1 (permalink)
Spam Reporter
 
dc/dc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: IAD
Model: 6230
Carrier: Voicestream
Posts: 14,530
Post Thanks: 220
Thanked 345 Times in 311 Posts
Default Tethering

Please Login to Remove!

Why does my Internet quit working even though my phone shows full HSPA+ signal? I pay $20 extra a month to be able to have a hotspot from my phone, and it's more unreliable here in the US than it was in Afghanistan. Does this happen to anyone else?
__________________
I h8 txtspk.
Offline  
Old 01-20-2012, 03:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Genius
 
TBOLTRAM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Model: 4S
OS: 7.0.4
PIN: & Teller
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 5,200
Post Thanks: 62
Thanked 104 Times in 71 Posts
Default Re: Tethering

Not wanting to create a firestorm but you show at&t as your carrier. There is a possibility that may be a clue.
__________________
We will spend our old age surrounded by idiots following government rules.
Offline  
Old 01-20-2012, 05:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App5
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,020
Post Thanks: 54
Thanked 778 Times in 740 Posts
Default Re: Tethering

That would be a BIG, SLOW clue.
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Old 01-21-2012, 07:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Spam Reporter
 
dc/dc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: IAD
Model: 6230
Carrier: Voicestream
Posts: 14,530
Post Thanks: 220
Thanked 345 Times in 311 Posts
Default Re: Tethering

Yes, AT&T is my carrier. The big reason for that is their international services. They have a much better offering than T-Mobile, Verizon, or Sprint when it comes to international service. Oddly, I stayed tethered for nearly an hour with no problem yesterday in the same spot as where I had these issues the other day. :/

The only thing I can thing of at this point is that I need to get my SIM card changed out if I'm not going to go back to my iPhone. From what I'm reading, AT&T provisions SIMs to allow access to the higher speed networks based on the device in which it is being used, so a micro SIM from an iPhone will never be able to fully utilize 42 Mbps HSPA+.

I hate being a technophile. :/
__________________
I h8 txtspk.
Offline  
Old 01-21-2012, 08:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
stevetaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: S III
PIN: N/A
Carrier: sprint
Posts: 828
Post Thanks: 29
Thanked 64 Times in 61 Posts
Default Re: Tethering

Quote:
Originally Posted by dc/dc View Post
I hate being a technophile. :/
Better than being a technophobe, no?
__________________
"Criticism is something you can avoid easily by saying nothing, doing nothing, and being nothing"
-Aristotle
Offline  
Old 01-21-2012, 08:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App5
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,020
Post Thanks: 54
Thanked 778 Times in 740 Posts
Default Re: Tethering

AT&T also throttles you back as you approach your data limit. Could that also be part of the problem?
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Old 01-22-2012, 08:25 AM   #7 (permalink)
Spam Reporter
 
dc/dc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: IAD
Model: 6230
Carrier: Voicestream
Posts: 14,530
Post Thanks: 220
Thanked 345 Times in 311 Posts
Default Re: Tethering

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevetaz View Post
Better than being a technophobe, no?
LOL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubdub View Post
AT&T also throttles you back as you approach your data limit. Could that also be part of the problem?
No, I rarely use more than 1GB and I have the 4GB plan with tethering enabled.
__________________
I h8 txtspk.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads for: Tethering
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tethering BlackBerry with a Mac Shaun Mac Users Corner 7 07-19-2011 04:02 AM
USB Modem or Tethering?? Baldie General BlackBerry Discussion 14 04-24-2009 09:34 AM
Bluetooth tethering and XP w/SP3 StuartV Bluetooth Connection 4 12-03-2008 04:51 PM
CBeyond branded 8830 - tethering questions CarlGalgano General Legacy Device Discussion 1 06-11-2008 06:03 PM
Tethering but with no tethering plan question Lightingbird General 8300 Series Discussion - Curve 24 06-03-2008 05:23 PM





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.