BlackBerry Forums Support Community               

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-27-2006, 09:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Model: 8703e
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default sprint 8703e issues

Please Login to Remove!

Hello, I'm new and I was told this was the best place to be for a Blackberry user so here I am.
I just purchased my 8703e from Sprint today and I have no icon for internet/web browsing. Am I suppose to do something to make it appear?(sorry if this sounds like a stupid question but this is my first non-flip phone)

Also, when I went to make a phone call it wanted me to turn on the "radio". What is the radio and why do I need it to be turned on to make a call?
Offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 09:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Model: 8330
Carrier: Bell Mobility
Posts: 1,050
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Wirelessly posted (7250/4.1.0.268, Bell Mobility: BlackBerry8703e/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/109)

Any cellular device uses radio transmissions to communicate with the network. If the device radio is off (airplane mode) then you cannot send or receive voice or data.

You must register a Web Client (BlackBerry Internet Service or BIS) account or activate on a BlackBerry Enterprise Server (BES) before the browser icons will appear.
Offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 09:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Model: 8703e
Posts: 2
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

thank you!
Offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 09:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
tbdiscovery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Marcus Hook / Philadelphia , PA
Model: 8703e
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 323
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I had the same issue with Sprint. I was told that everything was turned on, but I ended up having to call to get a data plan set up. Ask for one of the Blackberry techs and they will assist you in provisioning it and getting set up.
__________________
"War protects the people from the corruption which an everlasting peace would bring upon it."
-GWF Hegel
Offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 10:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: TX
Model: 8703e
Posts: 6
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by markhutchison
Wirelessly posted (7250/4.1.0.268, Bell Mobility: BlackBerry8703e/4.1.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/109)


You must register a Web Client (BlackBerry Internet Service or BIS) account or activate on a BlackBerry Enterprise Server (BES) before the browser icons will appear.

Does this cost a monthly fee? I was going to order mine tomorrow from Sprint.
Offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 10:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Model: 6830
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well, I just bought a 8703e from Sprint today, and I too am having the same problem. They told me to just wait it out, and eventually the icon will show up. They said that it might even take until tomorrow. Hmmm. This kind of sucks.
Offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 10:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Model: 9700
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 587
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scotthawf
Well, I just bought a 8703e from Sprint today, and I too am having the same problem. They told me to just wait it out, and eventually the icon will show up. They said that it might even take until tomorrow. Hmmm. This kind of sucks.
you can go into options, advanced options, host routing table, then click the track wheel and click register now to speed up the process..
Offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 10:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Model: 6830
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 4
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Awesome, thanks a lot!
Offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 05:05 AM   #9 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Model: 8330
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 72
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Angry

I had a tough time getting my Sprint 8703e activated, too. The people at the Sprint store were absolutely clueless, it was still non-functioning (phone or data) after three trips to the store. It took me several calls to the dedicated Sprint/BlackBerry support people (877-546-9111, option 2) before everything was working. Then, when I received my first bill there were 3 identical charges for the first partial-month BlackBerry data service, so be sure to check your bill!

Don't give up, though. It is worth the effort!
Offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 07:28 AM   #10 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
tbdiscovery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Marcus Hook / Philadelphia , PA
Model: 8703e
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 323
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sprint's communication and customer service strategies are horrible. Boo. Be sure to follow up on any changes that you had done, especially invoice issues.
__________________
"War protects the people from the corruption which an everlasting peace would bring upon it."
-GWF Hegel
Offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 07:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: TX
Model: 8703e
Posts: 6
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tbdiscovery
Sprint's communication and customer service strategies are horrible. Boo. Be sure to follow up on any changes that you had done, especially invoice issues.
I totally AGREE 100%. I went to order my BB today and I could not understand the CS lady on the other end. I can only understand english.... So now I will just go to the Sprint store to speak in person about the phone. I still would like to have my $100 Rebate. Anyone know were I can get a good deal on the 8703 for Sprint?

Last edited by dx2995 : 11-28-2006 at 07:35 PM.
Offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 09:56 PM   #12 (permalink)
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
jbairdjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lincoln, Ne
Model: 9550
OS: 5.0
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 1,232
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I know that the Sprint folks here are clueless also. I find it amazing that they are allowing Blackberry devices out the door without a plan.
That's why I've stuck with Alltel, and they just got the 8703. I have had pretty good luck with their customer service.
__________________
Blackberry Storm2 (Verizon)
7280-7780-7290-7100g-7250-8703-8830-8330-9530-9550
Offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 05:22 PM   #13 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
tbdiscovery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Marcus Hook / Philadelphia , PA
Model: 8703e
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 323
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Just to clarify, the number for the techs is 877.654.9111 option 2
__________________
"War protects the people from the corruption which an everlasting peace would bring upon it."
-GWF Hegel
Offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 05:55 PM   #14 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kaneohe, HI
Model: 8703e
PIN: 30159745
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 78
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

When I got my Sprint 8703e the week it came out, I was instructed to do the following over the phone and it worked shortly afterwards.

1. Options > Network > Click Thumbwheel > Start Provisioning
2. Options > Advanced Options > Host Routing Table > Click Thumbwheel > Register Now

Hope that helps!
__________________

Sprint BlackBerry 8703e
OS: v4.2.1.110 (Sprint...FINALLY!)
Offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 10:07 PM   #15 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
MrSanc8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Miami, FL.
Model: 8330
PIN: Head
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 81
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scotthawf
Well, I just bought a 8703e from Sprint today, and I too am having the same problem. They told me to just wait it out, and eventually the icon will show up. They said that it might even take until tomorrow. Hmmm. This kind of sucks.
I recently got my 8703e from Sprint also. And what they did to me was give me the Sprint Power Visions instead of the BB Data Plan. Without the data plan you will not get no email or internet.

So you may want to call and check that out. As for it taking that long, that's not true. While switching from Nextel to Sprint I realize that many of Sprint's CSRs are misinformed, or don't know the BB that well.

When I called, I was transferred to the BB support line, and within 7 to 10 mins, I had an internet icon on my home screen.

As a matter a fact someone posted the number to Sprint's BB support, and I wrote it down. Here it is: 877-654-9111.

Overall my experience with Sprint was very positive. I just wish their CSRs would be more knowledgeable about the products which they are selling or helping current and new customers with.
Offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 11:30 PM   #16 (permalink)
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: 8703e
Posts: 8
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dilligaf05
I recently got my 8703e from Sprint also. And what they did to me was give me the Sprint Power Visions instead of the BB Data Plan. Without the data plan you will not get no email or internet.

So you may want to call and check that out. As for it taking that long, that's not true. While switching from Nextel to Sprint I realize that many of Sprint's CSRs are misinformed, or don't know the BB that well.

When I called, I was transferred to the BB support line, and within 7 to 10 mins, I had an internet icon on my home screen.

As a matter a fact someone posted the number to Sprint's BB support, and I wrote it down. Here it is: 877-654-9111.

Overall my experience with Sprint was very positive. I just wish their CSRs would be more knowledgeable about the products which they are selling or helping current and new customers with.
I just got mine today. I noticed there was no browser either. The CS gal told me the power vision plan....she didn't mention the BB data plan.
She told me the BB data plan is if I want to use the BB for a modem.

Of course I am sure I need the BB data plan if I want internet correct?
Offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 12:02 AM   #17 (permalink)
New Member
 
russellfamily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: 8703e
Posts: 8
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Sprint....should be Crawl

O.K. so I am a long term Sprint user. Probably just to scared to change. Anyway the same thing happened to me. The store clerk told me the data plan was mandatory (1st month free trial) when I purchased the phone. I told her I didn't want it but she insisted that she could not take it off. I would have to call later. After about 2 days of trying to register an e-mail account at the sprint.blackberry.com site I called the Sprint BB support number 1-877-654-9111. They said the internet system for registering new e-mail's is frequently down in the evenings (how convenient) and that I should try the next day. So, the next day I tried every 2 hours. No joy. Finally I called 1-877-654-9111 again on the 3rd day. The tech rep told me I didn't have a data plan on my account (remember the girl at the store). So with a few click and types he said it is turned on and that I should start receiving e-mails in about 4 hours. Before I was off the phone my connection changed from 1X to 1XEV. I went home and shizzamm the sprint.blackberry.com e-mail registration site worked for me. Next thing you know ol' Jed's a millionaire.
Here is a quote from another post I made about Sprint's incredible BB service.
Quote:
Originally Posted by russellfamily
I've been with Sprint for over 7 years. I recently had the worst experience I've ever had with them. Without going into too much detail, the lesson I learned is this: Sprint doesn't seem to know much about Black Berry. They support it but don't train their employees on it. 4 store clerks didn't know the BB could sync with a computer. 3 customer service reps didn't know how to make my data (e-mail) work. 1 customer service rep admitted to me that they all learn as they go. I'm still with Sprint because my friends are and I like unlimited sprint-to-sprint calls. Actually my wife likes it. Being in the Navy, we have friends from one side of this country to the other and we like to keep up with them. In the long run Sprint did get my data up. It just took a while.
Enjoy.
Offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 09:00 AM   #18 (permalink)
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: denver
Model: 9630
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 27
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

this is all terribly funny, i must have spoken to one of a handful of knowledgible reps out there...i went from a PDA clamshell to the 8703e...walked in to the store and said "i want a blackberry, make it as cheap as possible" (i was not qualified for more than $75 in discounts at the time)....i knew i wanted the 8703.

my old phone was mangled, but the only way for me to get the BB was to activate a 2nd line...which under the family plan is free...so 2 yr family plan, BB out the door for $300ish, with another $100 in mail-in rebates, activation waived, and my old mangled phone replaced for free and activated on the new #, my old # put on the BB. before i walked out the data plan was setup, phone syncd on the system, and email accounts setup. it actually was the first great experience i have had with sprint in the 7 yrs ive been a customer.
Offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 10:35 AM   #19 (permalink)
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
tbdiscovery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Marcus Hook / Philadelphia , PA
Model: 8703e
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 323
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I also was told that the data plan was activated in-store/telephone. I had to call Sprint's techs a day later and have it turned on. Even the techs seem to chuckle at the CSRs that Sprint has on the front lines.
__________________
"War protects the people from the corruption which an everlasting peace would bring upon it."
-GWF Hegel
Offline  
Old 12-08-2006, 02:36 AM   #20 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: sgv
Model: 9650
Carrier: sprint
Posts: 91
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

im suppose to get my 8703 tomorrow. hopefully i will have a good experiece and everything will get set up without a problem. (oh text messages dont fail me now!!)
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





Copyright 2004-2014 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.