BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-22-2005, 09:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
New Member
 
kaz_874's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Louisiana
Model: 7290
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question BES getting the blame

Please Login to Remove!

I've used BB for 6 yrs now....but with another employer. I've never experienced the problems that we are currently having.

Problems: remote exchange users are having difficulty logging into our server (these are not BB users)...getting "Internal Server Error"...

Current IT guy isn't familar with BES and is now saying that the server issues that we are experiencing is being caused by the BES.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 09:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Philadelphia
Model: 7290
Posts: 67
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The BES has no effect on that unless you configured the MDS ports for whatever the webmail uses, but i doubt you'd do that.

I highly doubt the BES has anything to do with it.
__________________
Matt
Blackberry 8700c
Bes 4.1 / Exchange 2003 SP2
Offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 10:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
BlackBerry God
 
jibi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Jibi's Secret Place
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.174
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 11,310
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

is this error for OWA? i agree with exiled, though... this has NOTHING to do with the BES or its service account.
__________________
In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and is widely regarded as a bad move.
Offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 11:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
JRV
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX USA
Model: 7130e
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 144
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If you stop the BES services does the problem go away?
Offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 02:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
New Member
 
kaz_874's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Louisiana
Model: 7290
Posts: 3
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

The problem does not go away....even when the BES is not running....I am thinking it may be an ISP problem...
Offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 05:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
elgauchogrub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Model: 8800
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 58
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I went through the same thing here; every single solitary problem with exchange or outlook was blamed on BES and or BlackBerry. In reality most of the issues were windows or exchange related
Offline  
Old 04-22-2005, 06:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
JRV
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX USA
Model: 7130e
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 144
Post Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elgauchogrub
In reality most of the issues were windows or exchange related
Most?

Which ones were BES-related?

I'm in the earliest stages of setting up BES here...open-minded, but as mission-critical as Exchange is, and as well as it's currently running, I want to know what I'm up against!

I do know that 3rd-party products always complicate mfr. tech support. RIM makes a big deal in their documentation that they don't advise on or support specific firewalls. In a recent Exchange incident, MS kept asking me about 3rd-party Exchange products--even to the point of wanting me to disable Symantec mail server antivirus! (I didn't cave on that!) I hate that vendors expect you to use their products in a vacuum. That kind of finger-pointing is my biggest concern about introducing BES.
Offline  




Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.