BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-13-2005, 07:07 AM   #1
Masud
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 29
Default Handheld Configuration Tool stops functioning

Please Login to Remove!

Dear all,

We were running BES 4.0 for Exchange on a Windows 2003 server with Exchange 2003, without any trouble. The BES uses the default MSDE 2000 as the SQL database environment.

Now after upgrading to BES 4.0.1, the Handheld Configuration Tool will not start anymore. Every time we try to start it the application gives an error:

"System Problem - please review log for additional information. Database connection pool failed to initialize"

In the event log the following entry appears:

Event Type: Error
Event Source: HHCG
Event Category: None
Event ID: 10000
Date: 13-4-2005
Time: 13:56:37
User: N/A
Computer: SERVERNAME
Description:
COM Error 0x80004005 in ConnectionItem::ConnectToDB() - [DBNETLIB][ConnectionOpen (Connect()).]SQL Server does not exist or access denied. - Unspecified error

Can anyone please help me with this? We ran the upgrade according to specifications and all other BES functions are functioning without trouble. Thanks in advance!

Cheers,

Masud
Offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 07:15 AM   #2
bfrye
BBF Veteran User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hotwiring another Cessna
Model: OU812
Carrier: Nintendo
Posts: 3,492
Default

Looks to me like it's either looking to the wrong place for your SQL database or the credentials are wrong.
Offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 07:20 AM   #3
Masud
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 29
Default

Thanks for the quick reply.

Any idea on how to change the credentials for the Handheld Configuration Tool? The BlackBerry Manager runs flawlessly, but the Handheld Configuration Tool keeps giving this error.

Cheers,

Masud
Offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 07:21 AM   #4
bfrye
BBF Veteran User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hotwiring another Cessna
Model: OU812
Carrier: Nintendo
Posts: 3,492
Default

Not sure, would have to look in settings/tools/etc.. something like that. I don't think groupwise has a handheld app manager.
Offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 07:24 AM   #5
Masud
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 29
Default

Anyone else have any suggestions on how to correct this problem? Please help.

Cheers,

Masud
Offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 10:31 AM   #6
Masud
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 29
Default

Hi all,

The issue has been solved, thanks to forum member Snakeblood...for general public knowledge purposes, I am posting the solution here:

This seems to be a known issue when using a local MSDE and is caused by the absence of two protocols. To enable these two protocols, go to the MS SQL Server folder in "Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\80\Tools\Binn\" and run the application: "SVRNETCN.exe". Here enable 'Named Pipes' and 'TCP/IP' protocols.

Then restart MSSQLSERVER service and restart the BES

Many thanks to Snakeblood for filling me in!

Cheers,

Masud
Offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 09:11 PM   #7
Artah
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Long Beach, California
Model: 8300
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 2
Default Different Configuration Same Symptom

I am getting the exact same symptom but I am using an instanced SQL 2000 server. Both TCP and Named Pipes are enabled. BES version is 4.0sp1. If anyone fixed this problem let me know, thanks.
Offline  
Old 10-12-2005, 07:23 PM   #8
Natrone
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Natrone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Boise, ID
Model: 8320
OS: v4.5
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 101
Default

You need to put in the correct port number that your SQL server is using for the BES database. So when you install and it asks for the database name, you would type in (databasename\instance, portnumber)

I had the same problem and everything is good to go now. BTW, if you go to SP2 you won't have this problem.
Offline  
Old 11-01-2005, 03:54 PM   #9
fmsadmin
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Denton, TX
Model: 9000
Carrier: AT&T Wireless
Posts: 8
Thumbs up Same problem - Masud/Snakeblood solution worked

I had the same problem with the Handheld Configuration Tool after I upgraded my BES 4.0 to SP3.
It would not clear until I enabled the protocols that Masud found posted by Snakeblood.
Thanks guys!
Offline  
Old 11-29-2005, 01:16 AM   #10
crowdienz
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Model: 7100v
Posts: 17
Default

We had exactly the same problem after installing Service Pack 1. We fixed it by installing Service Pack 1 Hotfix 3 and restarting the BES server.
Offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 06:19 PM   #11
elkabong
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
elkabong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Model: 8310
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 31
Default RIM KB on HHCF Issue.

Check out the BB KB Article HERE. It'll probably require a BES Reboot. Good Luck.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Blackberry Z10 16gb Blanco Wifi Con Pantalla Táctil Gsm Desb
$675.78
Blackberry Z10 16gb Blanco Wifi Con Pantalla Táctil Gsm Desb pictureBlackBerry RIM R957M-2-5 8MB Wireless Handheld 957
$14.99
BlackBerry RIM R957M-2-5 8MB Wireless Handheld 957  pictureFake Food Pies Blackberry Pie Fake Food Blackberry Pie Display
$50.0
Fake Food Pies Blackberry Pie Fake Food Blackberry Pie Display pictureSt Louis Eau De Parfum (EDP) Perfume 100ml
$35.0
St Louis Eau De Parfum (EDP) Perfume 100ml pictureOtterBox Commuter Series Custodia Hot Pink/White for BlackBerry Curve 8500/9300
$6.84
OtterBox Commuter Series Custodia Hot Pink/White for BlackBerry Curve 8500/9300 picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.