BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-12-2007, 11:42 AM   #1
kcain
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 8703e
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 7
Exclamation Software upgrade failed, now BB won't work

Please Login to Remove!

I was upgrading the software on a 8703e from 4.1.0.344 to 4.1.0.377 using the Blackberry Desktop Software. Partway through the upgrade, a message came up on the PC saying "Upgrade can not complete" and the upgrade window went away. The blackberry now displays nothing on the screen. The LED flashes red twice every few seconds. If I remove the battery and put it back in, the LED continues to flash red and the display never comes on. I do not get any activity by pushing any keys on the BB. Any one know whats going on and what I can do to remedy this, if possible.
Offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 12:03 PM   #2
crazydude
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Model: 8700c
Carrier: att & vzw
Posts: 771
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kcain View Post
I was upgrading the software on a 8703e from 4.1.0.344 to 4.1.0.377 using the Blackberry Desktop Software. Partway through the upgrade, a message came up on the PC saying "Upgrade can not complete" and the upgrade window went away. The blackberry now displays nothing on the screen. The LED flashes red twice every few seconds. If I remove the battery and put it back in, the LED continues to flash red and the display never comes on. I do not get any activity by pushing any keys on the BB. Any one know whats going on and what I can do to remedy this, if possible.
try this How do I wipe the BlackBerry using Jl Cmder?

or this What to do next if Jl Cmder will not connect and wipe

would try second option less messy. but both work like a charm.


hope this helps

Last edited by crazydude; 07-12-2007 at 12:05 PM..
Offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 12:12 PM   #3
VRaptor
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
VRaptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Hensley, Arkansas
Model: Bold
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 107
Default

try reinstallimg the upgrade again before the wipe option. you might get lucky. I did when I upgraded mine. The second time it installed ok and my pearl started working again
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump







Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.