BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-14-2005, 04:41 PM   #41
Mark Rejhon
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Mark Rejhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Model: Bold
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 4,870
Default

Please Login to Remove!

That's right. It depends on the carrier, though.

For more information about 3rd party instant messaging, see "BlackBerry Instant Messaging FAQ" inside the FAQ link below in my signature:
__________________
Thanks,
Mark Rejhon
Author of XMPP extension XEP-0301:
www.xmpp.org/extensions/xep-0301.html - specification
www.realjabber.org - open source
Offline  
Old 03-25-2005, 04:11 PM   #42
woyteg
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
woyteg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Model: 8700g
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 82
Default

Ok. My turn!
I called T-Mobile 3 times about "wap.voicestream.com Internet Access Point Name" to be added to my account and every 3 times I was told that nothing like that existed!
Once I was told to set up wap.voicestream.net and leave the user and pass blank, the other time to set blackberry.net and leave the user/pass fields blank. NONE of the times anything worked. My Blackberry Browser is not working either. I'm getting "Unable to connect...". In this case they claim it is not their problem.
I'm running it on BB 7230 from T-Mobile, OS 4. I have no problems with T-Zones, wap pages, e-mail but none of the 3rd party application is working. Before I had Nokia 6200 and I was running IM (papla-this is Polish communicator) without any problems. The difference was I set up the APN IP Gateway or something. Please, can anyone advice what to do. I want to be able to run Blackberry Browser and 3rd party java IM.

PS of the main topic:
I can open jpg, gifs, etc.

Thanks,
w
__________________
www.wojtekgil.com | www.wojtekgil.net

Last edited by woyteg; 03-25-2005 at 04:13 PM..
Offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 04:55 PM   #43
woyteg
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
woyteg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Model: 8700g
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 82
Default

Please. Tell me what to tell those people from T-Mobile to set the "wap.(...) name" to my account?
__________________
www.wojtekgil.com | www.wojtekgil.net
Offline  
Old 03-27-2005, 07:38 PM   #44
woyteg
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
woyteg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Model: 8700g
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 82
Default

More and more tired HELP
This time I was told THERE IS NO WAY I CAN HAVE IT without BES!!!
HELP!
__________________
www.wojtekgil.com | www.wojtekgil.net
Offline  
Old 03-28-2005, 04:52 AM   #45
woyteg
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
woyteg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Model: 8700g
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 82
Default

Me again I know I should edit previous post but let me show you the progress

What happened was; I didn't get any answer again from TMO so decided to play with setting on BB. I set in TCP the APN for wap.voicestream.com and left username and pass blank. Then I went to browser settings and changed everything to T-Zones.
After that, nothing was going on, at least I didn't notice, I went to Certificates and went throw all of them changing some of them which were "Not allowed" to "Allow". I changed everything what had tmobile in address to allow. Guess what? BBToday Weather started working but my polish IM still cannot connect...I'll keep trying and let you know as soon as something happens again...
__________________
www.wojtekgil.com | www.wojtekgil.net
Offline  
Old 03-28-2005, 07:32 PM   #46
woyteg
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
woyteg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Model: 8700g
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 82
Default

Next step, I got e-mail from T-Mobile:
Quote:
Quote:
Dear Wojciech,
Thank you for taking the time to contact T-Mobile.
In order to further assist you with this matter, we will need you to provide us with your Blackberry device e-mail address and the PIN number.

To locate the PIN, please use the steps below:
1. Look on the back label of the handheld.
2. From the Home screen, scroll to Options > Status.

If you have any further comments, questions, or concerns feel free to contact us at anytime.

Thank you for choosing T-Mobile.

Sincerely,
**name**
Customer Care Specialist
T-Mobile USA
I sent the info and I think there is nothing left but to wait.

Keeping fingers crossed,
__________________
www.wojtekgil.com | www.wojtekgil.net
Offline  
Old 03-29-2005, 01:50 AM   #47
Vycor
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 73
Default

Yeah... i can open jpegs fine but i tried this WAP. crap and it doesnt allow you to open up attachments. Did ANYBODy even get this working or was this just something pulled outta someones arse???
Offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 02:12 PM   #48
anasir
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Model: 7100T
Posts: 4
Default

I called T Mobile customer support asking them to add wap.voicestream.net to my account. I was told that in order to get this done I must subscribe to an additional blackberry service for $19.99...Is this true?
Offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 10:39 PM   #49
spasmonaut
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 10
Default

I work for T-Mobile's tech support but will remain anonymous.

All customers should have the wap.voicestream.com APN on their account regardless of features added to their plan. It's what gives users the ability to download ringtones, etc. to their handsets regardless of make/model and is also used to pipe data for browsing on your BB (primarily used to give GPRS access to most devices). There's no charge for it and you shouldn't need to subscribe and in fact there's no way to remove it. I am assuming, however, that you have opted for the BB option on your account for $20/month for the BIS? This gives you Wap and blackberry APN's on your account.

Finally, many reps may not necessarily recognize the ability to access other TCP functions on your device beyond browsing on port 80 as nothing was officially recognized as "changed" or "unlocked" to my knowledge.
Offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 10:45 PM   #50
spasmonaut
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 10
Default

One thing I will confirm is this, which my clarify a lot of questions you folks have, and the mixed bag of results. If you have a BB and wish to do more than WAP browsing, and have only a rate plan with no added data features such as the BIS/BWC option or BES option, TCP/HTML browsing etc isn't going to work, period. You at least need to have the BB option on your account for $20 for unlimited GPRS as it grants you access to additional ports. In essence, some customers may have noticed some time ago that they could use all ports at no cost via wap.voicestream.com which wasn't really fair. Security tightened up and all is well now. You can continue using that APN and there's no need for a user/pass but again, follow the advice I've given and you should be off and running. I will confirm that I was able to setup a 7290 as a modem in XP and browse to my banking site and hit FTP without a hitch and I was using wap.voicestream.com to browse.
Offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 08:09 AM   #51
dkhanal
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
dkhanal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Model: 7100t
Posts: 36
Default

I Just got my blackberry 2 weeks ago....with 4.0 OS. Do I still have to do this update in order for me to be able to use the thirdparty software? I installed the BBToday and when I try to do the weather update, it says update failed...could not open tunnel
Would appreciate your advice...
D Khanal.
Offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 05:16 AM   #52
spasmonaut
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 10
Default

There is no update to anything. If your service is with T-Mobile, you should already have WAP on your account but in order to have service levels which will permit browsing, etc., you likely already have a BB feature on your account, otherwise you'd get lowercase GPRS and (data connection refused) and should be open to port 80. I'm unaware of any other ports being open aside from mail ports for POP and IMAP including over SSL, officially.
Offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 02:35 PM   #53
christophsky
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 6
Default

This is probably a stupid question, and I am pretty sure I know the answer, but I'll ask anyway (judge not lest ye be judged!):

Assuming I don't care about GPRS and surfing the net, is there a way to have only the "push" email function without the $20 BB option? All I want is mail to be forwarded to my BB. In fact, I have my mail server at home set up to forward all email to the tmo.blackberry.net address, so I don't even use the BWC.

Last edited by christophsky; 05-21-2005 at 02:37 PM..
Offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 03:52 PM   #54
spasmonaut
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 10
Default

Not really. You obviously created a BWC account but the problem is, without GPRS, RIM has no way to push messages to your device. Sorry!
Offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 03:55 PM   #55
christophsky
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks for the reply. I wasn't sure if RIM had their own proprietary protocol they use to forward mail.
Offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 04:22 PM   #56
spasmonaut
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: PA
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 10
Default

Well, they do, and when you sign up for the BB option it puts the BB APN on your account and using the BWC sends service books to your device that tells it to retrieve and send messages over that APN. That's what gives you uppercase GPRS is that APN.
Offline  
Old 05-21-2005, 04:57 PM   #57
christophsky
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Ah ok. Thanks for the clarification.
Offline  
Old 05-22-2005, 12:40 PM   #58
dkhanal
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
dkhanal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Model: 7100t
Posts: 36
Default

Hooray! I was able to get the BB Weather update!!!
I set my tcp to wap.voicestream.com with BWC login/password!
Works great!
I am also able to use the third party apps now...such as verichat!!
Dkhanal
Offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 04:01 AM   #59
zmcooper
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Model: Curve
Carrier: T-mobile
Posts: 19
Default

3rd party apps stopped working on my TMO 7100t around 5/27. Now I get "Bad DNS address", or "Unable to open connection" depending on if a domain or IP is used.

APN is wap.voicestream.com, user name and password are both blank. tried with my BWC user name/password, did not work (got Malformed address error)

Anyone else has the same problem?

Thanks.
Offline  
Old 05-30-2005, 04:58 AM   #60
zmcooper
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Model: Curve
Carrier: T-mobile
Posts: 19
Default

Update - I just removed the battery and put it back on. It's working again.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

LCD Auto Range Digital Multimeter cury DC Ammeter Resistance Cap Tester
$12.52
LCD Auto Range Digital Multimeter cury DC Ammeter Resistance Cap Tester pictureVolt Current LCD Digital AC Clamp Meter Voltmeter Ammeter Multimeter Ohmmeter
$9.13
Volt Current LCD Digital AC Clamp Meter Voltmeter Ammeter Multimeter Ohmmeter pictureVolt Current LCD Digital AC Clamp Meter Voltmeter Ammeter Multimeter Ohmmeter
$9.13
Volt Current LCD Digital AC Clamp Meter Voltmeter Ammeter Multimeter Ohmmeter pictureVolt Current LCD Digital AC Clamp Meter Voltmeter Ammeter Multimeter Ohmmeter
$9.13
Volt Current LCD Digital AC Clamp Meter Voltmeter Ammeter Multimeter Ohmmeter pictureVolt Current LCD Digital AC Clamp Meter Voltmeter Ammeter Multimeter Ohmmeter
$9.13
Volt Current LCD Digital AC Clamp Meter Voltmeter Ammeter Multimeter Ohmmeter picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.