BlackBerry Forums Support Community

Closed Thread

Old 05-11-2008, 03:37 PM   #1
guamishkind
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: 8320
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Default Buying a New, Unlocked BB, will it get blacklisted?

Please Login to Remove!

I am with AT&T and I have a used iphone that this guy wants to trade me for a new, unlocked BB 8320 Curve from T-Mobile. He said he is an employee of T-Mobile and can buy a brand new 8320 Curve at his employee discount and then unlock it and trade it for the iphone. It is cheaper for him to buy a new Curve with the discount than it is to buy an iphone online (through ebay, etc).

I was wondering if I should worry about T-Mobile shutting down my phone by blacklisting the IMEI number. I don't know if what he is doing is legal, and I don't want to give up my iphone and then realize that a few days later my Curve doesn't work or something..

I am new to Blackberries and unlocking and all that jazz. Please let me know if there is anything I should be concerned about.

NOTE: I told him that I was worried about getting scammed online, and he said he will take the full risk by sending me the Curve first, and then when I am satisfied that it works with my SIM, I can then mail him the iphone.

Thanks
Old 05-11-2008, 03:41 PM   #2
Dubdub
Appleinator

Model: App6+
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon

Not sure how he is going tot use the iPhone on T-Mo. I thought they were locked and could not be unlocked?

I don't think you will have any trouble with the BB. Just understand that to get the full use and full potential, you will need a BB data plan. An ordinary data plan leaves much lacking.

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter

If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Old 05-11-2008, 03:44 PM   #3
guamishkind
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: 8320
Carrier: AT&T