BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-06-2008, 02:36 PM   #1
j_hamblin
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
j_hamblin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: So. Utah
Model: 8330
OS: 4.5.0.77
PIN: ask! ;)
Carrier: Alltel
Posts: 113
Default File Transfer via BT

Please Login to Remove!

Is there any way to transfer picture/music files via Bluetooth to and from my laptop? The only thing my BB DTM will let me do is sync and back up...
__________________
Jeremy

Curve 8330
Offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 02:41 PM   #2
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

You can sync via BT, but not move media files.
Offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 02:42 PM   #3
mckinneycm
Cisco Engineer
 
mckinneycm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ventura, California
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.421
PIN: 100001011001011000001100111011
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 3,388
Default

Yes, you can use the Windows Explorer to do that. After your BB is connected via BT, go into Explorer, find the file you want to copy over, right-click, Send To > BT device. Then on the BB, go to Media > Menu > Receive via BT.
__________________
Corey McKinney

www.coreymckinney.com
Offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 02:44 PM   #4
mckinneycm
Cisco Engineer
 
mckinneycm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ventura, California
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.421
PIN: 100001011001011000001100111011
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 3,388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSanders View Post
You can sync via BT, but not move media files.
Yes you can, using PIM.
__________________
Corey McKinney

www.coreymckinney.com
Offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 02:49 PM   #5
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

Correct, but not FROM the BB, right?

I should have expounded on my answer, in that the OP asked to move to and from the laptop.

Teach me, if I am incorrect!
Offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 02:50 PM   #6
j_hamblin
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
j_hamblin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: So. Utah
Model: 8330
OS: 4.5.0.77
PIN: ask! ;)
Carrier: Alltel
Posts: 113
Default

Okay so you can trasnfer too but not from? Thats better than nothing
__________________
Jeremy

Curve 8330
Offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 02:55 PM   #7
mckinneycm
Cisco Engineer
 
mckinneycm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ventura, California
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.421
PIN: 100001011001011000001100111011
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 3,388
Default

No, you can do both. I just did it. Go to Media > Menu > Explore > Find the file you want to move > Menu > Send Using Bluetooth > Select the device you want to send it to. Then on the PC, it should pop up saying 'a device wants to use PIM to transfer a file'. Open up the request and select 'allow'.
__________________
Corey McKinney

www.coreymckinney.com
Offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 02:56 PM   #8
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

Thanks, I am going to have to try this now...
Offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 02:57 PM   #9
j_hamblin
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
j_hamblin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: So. Utah
Model: 8330
OS: 4.5.0.77
PIN: ask! ;)
Carrier: Alltel
Posts: 113
Default

oh sweet thats cool except its EXTREMELY SLOW....
__________________
Jeremy

Curve 8330
Offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 02:58 PM   #10
mckinneycm
Cisco Engineer
 
mckinneycm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ventura, California
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.421
PIN: 100001011001011000001100111011
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 3,388
Default

Yeah, it took me 2 minutes to send a 47KB file.
__________________
Corey McKinney

www.coreymckinney.com
Offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 03:00 PM   #11
j_hamblin
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
j_hamblin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: So. Utah
Model: 8330
OS: 4.5.0.77
PIN: ask! ;)
Carrier: Alltel
Posts: 113
Default

Its still wireless and I love that fact its progress even if it is slow lol
__________________
Jeremy

Curve 8330
Offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 03:05 PM   #12
j_hamblin
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
j_hamblin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: So. Utah
Model: 8330
OS: 4.5.0.77
PIN: ask! ;)
Carrier: Alltel
Posts: 113
Default

My BB keeps saying failed to find service even though I just barely sent one to it form my pc...?
__________________
Jeremy

Curve 8330
Offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 03:09 PM   #13
hellsop
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Model: 8330
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mckinneycm View Post
Yeah, it took me 2 minutes to send a 47KB file.
That's VERY slow. I typically get about 1MB per minute moved at an across-the-room sort of distance. That's horrible compared to the theoretical max, but way better than what you're getting.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Motorola MVME162-532A Board MVME162532A "Tested"
$850.0
Motorola MVME162-532A Board MVME162532A Lineman’s Lot TS21 Test Set, 200EP Inductive Amplifier, 77HP Tracer, 77M Tracer
$39.99
Lineman’s Lot TS21 Test Set, 200EP Inductive Amplifier, 77HP Tracer, 77M Tracer pictureTPL Communications PA6-1AC RF Power Amplifier 445MHz
$195.0
TPL Communications PA6-1AC RF Power Amplifier 445MHz  pictureIndramat AC servo Maho 90A-0-RD-2-C/110-A-0 1KW
$295.16
Indramat AC servo Maho 90A-0-RD-2-C/110-A-0 1KW picture1/5PCS AD817AN 8PINS High Speed,Low Power Wide Supply Range Amplifier AD IC L2KE
$2.83
1/5PCS AD817AN 8PINS High Speed,Low Power Wide Supply Range Amplifier AD IC L2KE picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.