BlackBerry Forums Support Community

Closed Thread

Old 11-21-2006, 07:22 PM   #1
jminio

Model: none
Carrier: Verizon
Default 8703e GPS hack?

Please Login to Remove!

I am new to the world of Blackberrys so please forgive me if these are dumb questions. I want to get the 8703e but really want the GPS functional. I am committed to Verizon for a number of reasons and obviously the GPS is currently disabled on their version. Is there a hack to get it working on Verizon's version of the device? Is there a difference in the hardware between Verizon's device and Sprints that would preclude any kind of programming from activating the functionality? Is is possible to install Sprint's version of the os and get the full gps functionality while using the device on Verizons network? Will Verizon allow me to activate a device I bought from Sprint on their network? I know I could get a bluetooth gps reciever and get it working but I would rather not do that. Any information available is greatly appreciated as I am working to learn more about these devices.
Old 11-22-2006, 08:54 PM   #2
tomdkat
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia

Model: 9550

you can run the sprint OS on there but it doesn't enable the GPS
Old 11-23-2006, 07:11 PM   #3
jminio

Does anyone know how the gps is disabled? Is there actually hardware missing or is it programming? Can the programming be changed? Is it in flash memory or is it burned into the chip?
Old 11-23-2006, 10:28 PM   #4
Stinsonddog
BBF Moderator

Model: 9700
PIN: Agaboobie
Carrier: AT&T

I really think it's a carrier data block as others have paired the 8703 with a BT puck and got it to work.
Old 11-24-2006, 06:41 PM   #5
virtualman
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: 8703e
Carrier: vzw

I complained about the broken GPS and the store gave me a card redeemable for a Magmic game or $5 off a $30 purchase from handango.

The service tech thought GPS was a signal FROM the phone. He seemed stunned that the phone is receiver.