BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-04-2008, 12:20 PM   #1
MadMoonkin
New Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: None
Posts: 1
Question Tethering a Blackberry to a laptop without a "tethering plan"? Possible?

Please Login to Remove!

Firstly, I already read the guide here: blackberryforums.com/blackberry-guides/2019-user-howto-use-blackberry-modem-laptop.html

I was planning to buy a Blackberry. The local service provider in my country provides an unlimited internet package for Blackberry phones, but it doesn't have a "tethering plan" like AT&T does in the US. I have spoken to my carrier about tethering the Blackberry to a laptop and they told me it's "not supported".

However, after reading guides like the one listed above, and looking at apps like Mobishark, is it still possible to tether a Blackberry to my laptop even though my service provider doesn't support it? I've heard it's really easy to tether an iPhone to a laptop using NetShare, I was wondering it the same is also true for Blackberrys.

My phone carrier is only providing 3 different models at the moment: the 8310 Curve, 8820, and 8100 Pearl. I was planning to get one, so I need to know if it's possible to tether it to a laptop even though my carrier doesn't officially support it.
Offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 01:08 PM   #2
Ben850
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Utah
Model: G1
OS: RC30
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 257
Default

Wirelessly posted (T-Mobile 8120)

I'll take a guess and say no.
Offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 01:14 PM   #3
holden
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
holden's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida Sunshine
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.296
PIN: TOFJAGER
Carrier: Cingular-AT&T-Verizon-Nextel
Posts: 1,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadMoonkin View Post
Firstly, I already read the guide here: blackberryforums.com/blackberry-guides/2019-user-howto-use-blackberry-modem-laptop.html

I was planning to buy a Blackberry. The local service provider in my country provides an unlimited internet package for Blackberry phones, but it doesn't have a "tethering plan" like AT&T does in the US. I have spoken to my carrier about tethering the Blackberry to a laptop and they told me it's "not supported".

However, after reading guides like the one listed above, and looking at apps like Mobishark, is it still possible to tether a Blackberry to my laptop even though my service provider doesn't support it? I've heard it's really easy to tether an iPhone to a laptop using NetShare, I was wondering it the same is also true for Blackberrys.

My phone carrier is only providing 3 different models at the moment: the 8310 Curve, 8820, and 8100 Pearl. I was planning to get one, so I need to know if it's possible to tether it to a laptop even though my carrier doesn't officially support it.
Check this out... It is an interesting piece of hardware...
EDIT: I do not endorse this app or appliance - just thought it might be a solution...
__________________
hmeister...
nettech

Last edited by holden; 10-04-2008 at 02:10 PM..
Offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 01:23 PM   #4
Ben850
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Utah
Model: G1
OS: RC30
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 257
Default

Wirelessly posted (T-Mobile 8120)

Spam?
Offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 02:25 PM   #5
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default

Possible, but not advisable as you could end up with some totally off the wall data charges.
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 02:45 PM   #6
holden
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
holden's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida Sunshine
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.296
PIN: TOFJAGER
Carrier: Cingular-AT&T-Verizon-Nextel
Posts: 1,046
Default

If your on an unlimited data plan, I am not sure if this is an issue regading charges. The device is $99.00 per year and runs through the BB Handheld. So, your charges are based upon the device or is this the same as tethering?

Another moderator here has ordered the device to test it. It will be interesting to see what this devices performance is. It is only as good as the pipeline it is connected to so I am wondering if it will be a decent user experience?

I think it is probably not a primary connection device but a secondary one... and looks promising. The only thing that is concerning is when you go to the web site, their forum is limited and the date stamps indicate a limited audience.
__________________
hmeister...
nettech
Offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 04:40 PM   #7
d_fisher
Retired BlackBerryForums.com Moderator
 
d_fisher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Columbus, OH
Model: 9700
OS: SID 6.7
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 4,455
Default

Its really going to depend on your carrier more than anything. For example, you can tether with T-Mobile and Sprint at no extra charge. AT&T and Verizon require an additional monthly plan.
__________________
Doug

Remember, please try searching first!

Need a screenshot? ... Like JavaLoader?
Try using BBscreen .....Use JL_Cmder!
or BBScreenShooter!

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 04:49 PM   #8
Jase88
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Waterloo: Home of RIM
Model: PlayB
Carrier: Bell Mobility
Posts: 1,008
Default

Mobishark is a solution that will work. You can try it out for free.
Offline  
Old 10-04-2008, 07:53 PM   #9
DacyJ
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
DacyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In the Off Topic Lounge.
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.282
PIN: g Bomb!
Carrier: The Newest AT&T
Posts: 2,321
Default

Wirelessly posted (by a fat naked guy!)

How does att know that you are using your blackberry as a modem if you have the unlimited data plan?
__________________
Dacy Jackson
Offline  
Old 10-05-2008, 09:59 AM   #10
sch911
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DacyJ View Post
Wirelessly posted (by a fat naked guy!)

How does att know that you are using your blackberry as a modem if you have the unlimited data plan?

They can look at the browser ID tags. IE, Firefox, Safari (none of which can be run on the BB device) will all be easily identifiable by the carrier....
Offline  
Old 10-05-2008, 10:09 AM   #11
holden
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
holden's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida Sunshine
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.296
PIN: TOFJAGER
Carrier: Cingular-AT&T-Verizon-Nextel
Posts: 1,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jase88 View Post
Mobishark is a solution that will work. You can try it out for free.
I have not seen this one (Mobishark) and will check it out.
Does it act like a tether?

EDIT: Thanks... This looks to be similar (Mobishark) to the other one I posted.
Has anyone used this and how is the experience? (slow?? or??)
H.
__________________
hmeister...
nettech

Last edited by holden; 10-05-2008 at 10:15 AM..
Offline  
Old 10-05-2008, 10:13 AM   #12
holden
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
holden's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida Sunshine
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.296
PIN: TOFJAGER
Carrier: Cingular-AT&T-Verizon-Nextel
Posts: 1,046
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sch911 View Post
They can look at the browser ID tags. IE, Firefox, Safari (none of which can be run on the BB device) will all be easily identifiable by the carrier....
Thanks... I always wondered how they could tell!
I wonder if this works with Opera??
__________________
hmeister...
nettech
Offline  
Old 10-05-2008, 11:32 PM   #13
UncleMike
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Model: 8330
OS: 4.5.0.77
PIN: ch me, I must be dreaming
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DacyJ View Post
Wirelessly posted (by a fat naked guy!)

How does att know that you are using your blackberry as a modem if you have the unlimited data plan?
If you're tethering "normally" (i.e. no Mobishark or anything like that), your device will typically use a different NAI (Network Access Identifier) than it does when it's not tethered. For example, for normal BB use, the NAI might be [email address], but for tethered use the NAI might be [email address].

There may be other ways, but this is the most common way I have seen discussed, particularly in threads discussing tethered use on Verizon (without paying for it).
Offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 04:37 AM   #14
DacyJ
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
DacyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In the Off Topic Lounge.
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.282
PIN: g Bomb!
Carrier: The Newest AT&T
Posts: 2,321
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UncleMike View Post
If you're tethering "normally" (i.e. no Mobishark or anything like that), your device will typically use a different NAI (Network Access Identifier) than it does when it's not tethered. For example, for normal BB use, the NAI might be [email address], but for tethered use the NAI might be [email address].

There may be other ways, but this is the most common way I have seen discussed, particularly in threads discussing tethered use on Verizon (without paying for it).
Thanks.
__________________
Dacy Jackson
Offline  
Old 10-06-2008, 04:46 AM   #15
Shaun
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Shaun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.296
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 2,384
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sch911 View Post
They can look at the browser ID tags. IE, Firefox, Safari (none of which can be run on the BB device) will all be easily identifiable by the carrier....
The BB Browser allows for manual setting of the Browser Identification, and from what I have seen, sites identify it accordingly. This would certainly cloud the filter I'd say.
__________________
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

1PC used METASYS AS-VAV110-1 controller
$345.66
1PC used METASYS AS-VAV110-1 controller pictureNEW, JOHNSON CONTROLS, METASYS, XT-9100-8304, DX-9100 EXPANSION MODULE
$75.0
NEW, JOHNSON CONTROLS, METASYS, XT-9100-8304, DX-9100 EXPANSION MODULE pictureUSED Johnson Controls FM-ORE101-0 METASYS Function Output Module 
$5.0
USED Johnson Controls FM-ORE101-0 METASYS Function Output Module  pictureOpen Box Johnson Controls METASYS VMA VAV Controller MS-VMA1626 -LH0420
$99.99
Open Box Johnson Controls METASYS VMA VAV Controller MS-VMA1626 -LH0420 pictureJohnson controls Metasys DX-9100-8454 Controller Energy Manager. 5E
$59.7
Johnson controls Metasys DX-9100-8454 Controller Energy Manager.      5E picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.