BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-27-2010, 06:02 AM   #1
erictcf
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Model: 8820
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Smartone
Posts: 2
Default Speed Dial is not working in 8820

Please Login to Remove!

Hi Everyone,

I got my 8820 from ebay unlocked. It runs very good, all the applications and phone call are working fine. But there is only one problem, the speed dial function is not working. I have set the speed dial list in Phone->option->speed dial list, e.g. I assign G to a phone number and it did appear on the speed dial list.

However, when I press and hold letter G in the home screen, it is not responsing. Nothing happen. When I release letter G, it goes to serach screen. Then I switched off the "Calling from home screen" function in phone option, but again speed dial is not responsing.

I am using 4.5.187 OS, any thing I can do to fix this problem? Thank you in advance for all your help!
Offline  
Old 06-27-2010, 11:32 AM   #2
tsac
BlackBerry Mensa
 
tsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Others run out when we run in
Model: Z10
OS: Cheerios
PIN: No Pin just a Tack
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 9,967
Default

Speed dial is a basic part of the OS dial system. Try a battery pull powered and see if it clears. The other option is to upgrade to the latest OS for your phone. Install DM first if you dont already have it on your PC. Download the handheld OS and follow instructions.
__________________
Z10 on BES
Z10 on BIS
Offline  
Old 07-01-2010, 01:04 AM   #3
erictcf
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Model: 8820
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Smartone
Posts: 2
Default

I solved the problem just by switching the language back to English (I am Chinese so I used to have chinese as the interface). So I guess this is one of the language problem in BB Os.

Speed dial in my friend 9700 even using chinese has no problem,so I think the problem is in OS 4.5.

Thanks for your help anyway!
Offline  
Old 12-13-2010, 11:17 AM   #4
baothanhthien2010
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Model: 8820
PIN: N/A
Carrier: 8820+8700
Posts: 29
Default Re: Speed Dial is not working in 8820

Phone option/general option/dial from homescreen choose "yes".
You should try this way. May be the default is "no".
Goodluck!
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile
Offline  
Old 12-13-2010, 11:26 AM   #5
NJBlackBerry
Grumpy Moderator
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey
Model: SGS7
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 27,948
Default Re: Speed Dial is not working in 8820

Did you read the previous post?
Offline  
Old 12-23-2010, 11:54 AM   #6
botchag
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Model: 8820
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Edge
Posts: 13
Default Re: Speed Dial is not working in 8820

thanks for the info
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Blackberry Trackball breakout board four spindles 2.5V~5.25V
$6.8
Blackberry Trackball breakout board four spindles 2.5V~5.25V pictureBlackberry Authentic Ready to Use Shaved Ice Syrup LOOK
$8.99
Blackberry Authentic Ready to Use Shaved Ice Syrup LOOK pictureHSABAT TLP034E1 BAT-63108-003 4650mAh Battery for BlackBerry keyone alcatel DK70
$16.57
HSABAT TLP034E1 BAT-63108-003 4650mAh Battery for BlackBerry keyone alcatel DK70 pictureRoyal Vendors Chameleon CUSTOM "Bubly Blackberry" 12 oz CAN Vend Label
$4.99
Royal Vendors Chameleon CUSTOM Intuit GoPayment Mobile Card Reader for iPhone, Android, Blackberry and iPad
$9.09
Intuit GoPayment Mobile Card Reader for iPhone, Android, Blackberry and iPad picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.