BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-20-2010, 05:29 PM   #1
pda
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: 8120
PIN: N/A
Carrier: o2
Posts: 20
Default 9700 Tether

Please Login to Remove!

Does anyone actually use tether on their 9700 successfully?

What application do you use? Is it possible without installing a client on the laptop first and without Bluetooth?

Cheers
Offline  
Old 07-20-2010, 06:01 PM   #2
Howard S.
CrackBerry Addict
 
Howard S.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Blue Bell, PA
Model: 9900
OS: 7.1.0.714
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 551
Default

I use a 3rd party app called "Tether" and it works flawlessly. I use it without Bluetooth (USB), but the app needs to be installed on both the 9700 and computer.

I know of others here who use the built in tether found on Desktop Mgr.
__________________
Howard
Offline  
Old 07-20-2010, 06:15 PM   #3
Iluvmy7290
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Iluvmy7290's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Western Canada
Model: 9800
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 19
Default

If by "tether" you're referring to using it as a modem for internet connectivity, yes, I use it all the time without any additional app.

I have Win7 and simply right-click on Network, then click "Connect to a Network". Depending on your provider, there certain username/password creds you need to use. Search BB forums for them.
Offline  
Old 07-20-2010, 07:30 PM   #4
AZsteelman
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
AZsteelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: PHX, AZ
Model: 9800
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 169
Default

I use it all the time, using the ATT Communication Manager...works like a charm!
Offline  
Old 07-21-2010, 05:10 AM   #5
pda
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: 8120
PIN: N/A
Carrier: o2
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iluvmy7290 View Post
I have Win7 and simply right-click on Network, then click "Connect to a Network". Depending on your provider, there certain username/password creds you need to use. Search BB forums for them.
Do you have any more information on this? I am currently on T-Mobile UK and I can't see the tether option on my Desktop Manager so must be disabled by our BES admin

Cheers
Offline  
Old 07-22-2010, 01:51 PM   #6
Iluvmy7290
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Iluvmy7290's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Western Canada
Model: 9800
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pda View Post
Do you have any more information on this? I am currently on T-Mobile UK and I can't see the tether option on my Desktop Manager so must be disabled by our BES admin

Cheers
PM sent
Offline  
Old 08-24-2010, 10:32 PM   #7
kjaslow
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Sydney
Model: 9800
Carrier: Telstra
Posts: 410
Default

I'm trying to tether my 9700. I've been following the common set of instructions that seems to be all over the place...got Desktop Manager running with the 9700 connected. Open Phone and Modem from Control Panel (I'm on Windows 7). But when I test the 'Standard Modem' in the diagnostics page, I get an error when I hit the "Query Modem" button saying that the modem failed to respond.

What's interesting is that I just checked and I am able to connect if I turn on Bluetooth on the 9700 and do a Bluetooth connection from my laptop and use the 9700 as a modem that way. But I don't seem to be able to get the modem functionality to work over USB. Anyone have any suggestions? (I'm presuming that since the Bluetooth connection does allow me to connect the laptop to the Internet, that I'm not bumping into any sort of security policy.)

Thanks for any tips...

One more tidbit...If I go to my computer's Device Manager, I see that the 9700 has RIM Virtual Serial Port for COM4, COM7, and COM8. My standard modem is supposed to be calling on COM4... That seems right to me, but just thought it might be one more important bit of info...

Thanks again for any help!!
Offline  
Old 08-26-2010, 05:29 AM   #8
kjaslow
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Sydney
Model: 9800
Carrier: Telstra
Posts: 410
Default

Ok, well it looks like my modem was automatically created on COM4. I get desperate and tried to removing and re-creating the modem connection using each of the different blackberry ports. Oddly, COM8 (the highest port number) was the winner... Hope that helps someone else...

Cheers.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

DGH D5132 4-Ch Analog Input to Computer Interface Module 5V In, RS485 Output
$199.99
DGH D5132 4-Ch Analog Input to Computer Interface Module 5V In, RS485 Output picture15 AD7821KN 9236 chip IRELAND 20 PIN ANALOG DEVICE computer 41v4
$49.99
15 AD7821KN 9236 chip IRELAND 20 PIN  ANALOG DEVICE computer 41v4 pictureMeasurement Computing USB-3101 MCC 4 Channel 16 Bit Analog Voltage Output
$199.99
Measurement Computing USB-3101 MCC 4 Channel 16 Bit Analog Voltage Output pictureJeppesen Student CSG JS514101 Flight Computer & Slide Graphic Manual - A11
$19.95
Jeppesen Student CSG JS514101 Flight Computer & Slide Graphic Manual - A11 pictureMeasurement Computing PCI-DAS6025 Analog DIO Card Digital PCI Board NICE UNIT
$59.97
Measurement Computing PCI-DAS6025 Analog DIO Card Digital PCI Board NICE UNIT picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.