BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-23-2010, 12:37 AM   #1
johnlatessa
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
johnlatessa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Springfield, Illinois
Model: iPh 5
OS: iOS 6.1
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 270
Default Constant Core Updates

Please Login to Remove!

Back to the BlackBerry World, after quite a stint with Apple's iPhone.

Every time I sync with my Desktop it always says that there is a required core update available.

Is this normal? I'm using the same AT&T-approved OS version that it came with.
__________________
8703e --> 8830 --> 8300 --> 9530 --> iP3G --> 9550 --> iP3Gs --> 9800 --> iP4 --> 9930 --> iP5
Offline  
Old 12-23-2010, 05:16 AM   #2
DreamHacker
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Model: 9800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 19
Default Re: Constant Core Updates

I have the same issue. Doesn't seem to make a difference whether I update or not except for the wait when I do choose to install this perpetual update.
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile
Offline  
Old 12-23-2010, 02:50 PM   #3
DreamHacker
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Model: 9800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 19
Default Re: Constant Core Updates

An addition, I updated from .246 to .337 and the issue wasn't resolved. I suspect it has something to do with Desktop Manager and having used older devices and older OSs on the computer. It sure is a pain to do the 80+mb update. Takes too long. Ties up my phone. Help respolving this one will surely be appreciated.

Side note. Spelling correction doesn't wprk on this forum. Is it just me or is this how it works here? I'm talking about the check as you type feature I nprmallu get in text, email amd forums.
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile
Offline  
Old 12-23-2010, 08:24 PM   #4
kjaslow
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Sydney
Model: 9800
Carrier: Telstra
Posts: 410
Default Re: Constant Core Updates

Any chance you're using a computer that you had used with older Blackberries? I've experienced issues where remnants of my older configuration interfered with the newer one. The solution was to do a full uninstall of all things Blackberry from the computer, including ensuring that the registry was cleared of any and all references to Blackberry software and drivers. Then, a clean re-install and all was good. Worth a try?
Offline  
Old 12-23-2010, 10:29 PM   #5
DreamHacker
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Model: 9800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 19
Default Re: Constant Core Updates

Quote:
Originally Posted by kjaslow View Post
Any chance you're using a computer that you had used with older Blackberries? I've experienced issues where remnants of my older configuration interfered with the newer one. The solution was to do a full uninstall of all things Blackberry from the computer, including ensuring that the registry was cleared of any and all references to Blackberry software and drivers. Then, a clean re-install and all was good. Worth a try?
This is what I suspect. I had older hardware/software on my computer in the past. I'll give what you're saying a try and report back the results.
Offline  
Old 12-24-2010, 04:29 AM   #6
DreamHacker
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Model: 9800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 19
Default Re: Constant Core Updates

That worked. I removed the Blackberry OS Software (in my case it was .337) off my computer as well all references to Blackberry. Doing this does not give me access anymore to installed/removed items such as Facebook and other apps that came with the original OS. All I have when I go to Applications in the Blackberry Desktop now is my third party apps which is fine with me. I decided what I wanted installed/removed from the OS previously.

I used CCleaner to remove all traces of Blackberry software prior to re-installing the latest Blackberry Desktop app. including all registry references.

Warning: Using CCleaner can be hazardous to your computer if you don't know what you're doing. I happen to know and cleaned up my computer during this exercise. Now my computer and Blackberry are working famously. Hope this helps.

Last edited by DreamHacker; 12-24-2010 at 04:31 AM..
Offline  
Old 12-26-2010, 06:11 PM   #7
johnlatessa
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
johnlatessa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Springfield, Illinois
Model: iPh 5
OS: iOS 6.1
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 270
Default Re: Constant Core Updates

The computer was wiped clean because I had to install a new hard drive. So as far as BlackBerry goes, it was running from a fresh installation - of everything. It could just be that there are indeed updates.
__________________
8703e --> 8830 --> 8300 --> 9530 --> iP3G --> 9550 --> iP3Gs --> 9800 --> iP4 --> 9930 --> iP5
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads for: Constant Core Updates
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Desktop Manager 6 says I have core updates but none are showing??? QPhone RIM Software 0 08-21-2010 12:24 PM

Ooma Office Base Station VoIP Phone Adapter with Ooma Linux 3 Pack; SP 460344
$29.95
Ooma Office Base Station VoIP Phone Adapter with Ooma Linux 3 Pack; SP 460344 picture* NEW Polycom RealPresence Trio 8500 VoIP IP Conference Phone
$399.9
* NEW Polycom RealPresence Trio 8500 VoIP IP Conference Phone pictureLot Of 8 Cisco SPA504G VOIP Phones 4 Line IP Phone With Display PoE & PC Port
$85.0
Lot Of 8 Cisco SPA504G VOIP Phones 4 Line IP Phone With Display PoE & PC Port pictureLOT OF4-Cisco CP8945-K9 VoIP Business Phone Base Handset Video Cam - No Charger
$35.99
LOT OF4-Cisco  CP8945-K9 VoIP Business Phone Base Handset Video Cam - No Charger picturePolycom RealPresence Trio 8500 Conference VoIP Phone 2200-66700-019
$479.0
Polycom RealPresence Trio 8500 Conference VoIP Phone  2200-66700-019 picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.