BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-05-2012, 11:58 AM   #1
hyedipin
CrackBerry Addict
 
hyedipin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile 2001-2007, AT&T 8/26/07 ->
Posts: 640
Default 8900 Wifi Only problems

Please Login to Remove!

Hi, we recently cancelled (suspended) our BIS data service until we get back.
Now 8900 is running on wifi only, and it seems like we cannot use any of the browsers or Windows Live Messenger or anything else for that matter.

Is there any setting I need to adjust to allow it to work over Wifi?
It is running T-Mobile's rom, if needed I can install another vendor OS, etc..
__________________
Z30, AT&T
Offline  
Old 12-05-2012, 12:08 PM   #2
Motorcycle Mama
BlackBerry Master
 
Motorcycle Mama's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Model: 9930
OS: 7.1.0.163
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 4,351
Default Re: 8900 Wifi Only problems

You need an ACTIVE BlackBerry Data Plan to use those data features.
Offline  
Old 12-05-2012, 12:26 PM   #3
hyedipin
CrackBerry Addict
 
hyedipin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile 2001-2007, AT&T 8/26/07 ->
Posts: 640
Default Re: 8900 Wifi Only problems

T-Mobile has HotSpot browser, I thought you could at least use that to check some websites.
__________________
Z30, AT&T
Offline  
Old 12-05-2012, 01:29 PM   #4
dc/dc
Spam Reporter
 
dc/dc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: IAD
Model: 6230
Carrier: Voicestream
Posts: 14,524
Default Re: 8900 Wifi Only problems

Unfortunately not...
__________________
I h8 txtspk.
Offline  
Old 12-05-2012, 11:17 PM   #5
hyedipin
CrackBerry Addict
 
hyedipin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile 2001-2007, AT&T 8/26/07 ->
Posts: 640
Default Re: 8900 Wifi Only problems

I am not sure if my question was not clear or if you thought about something else.
I was able to set up the 8900 to run on wifi only and still access messaging applications, facebook app, get e-mails using logicmail, set up opera or hotspot browser to access websites, and add bbweather to check weather. This means until we get our new device and service, my wife will be able to use this on wifi only.

Of course native e-mail client or BBM will not work over wifi.

Not to mention being able to call over Wifi using T-Mobile's UMA service, which has been available and something we have been using for many years.
__________________
Z30, AT&T
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads for: 8900 Wifi Only problems
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8900 and wifi issues zeroasylum General 8900 Series Discussion - Javelin 2 12-08-2011 10:12 PM
8900 wifi problem please help Muddyshoes General 8900 Series Discussion - Javelin 3 10-12-2010 05:32 PM
8900 wifi problem with eastasia 5.0.0.681 so173rq General 8900 Series Discussion - Javelin 1 07-30-2010 09:03 AM
Is 8900 wifi browsing faster than 9000? aivazovsky WiFi HotZone 0 01-15-2010 07:39 PM
WiFi Issue On AT&T 9700 and Starbuck Hot Spots ItsaRaid General 9700 Series Discussion - Bold 2 12 01-09-2010 11:21 AM

PENTIUM III XEON MICROPROCESSOR W/ HEATSINK-NOS
$4.95
PENTIUM III XEON MICROPROCESSOR W/ HEATSINK-NOS pictureDell Poweredge T300 Xeon x3323 @ 2.GHz 12gb DDR2 ECC 667mhz#
$4.51
Dell Poweredge T300 Xeon x3323 @ 2.GHz 12gb DDR2 ECC 667mhz# pictureTrenton 92-006313-XXX Rev. G-04 Dual Xeon CPU SBC Single Board
$500.0
Trenton 92-006313-XXX Rev. G-04 Dual Xeon CPU SBC Single Board pictureSUPER B8DT6 W/ CPU 2PCS INTEL XEON E5540 2.53GHZ/8M/5.86 W/ 24G MEMORY
$390.0
SUPER B8DT6 W/ CPU 2PCS INTEL XEON E5540 2.53GHZ/8M/5.86 W/ 24G MEMORY pictureLot (8) Intel Xeon E5645
$80.0
Lot (8) Intel Xeon E5645 picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.