BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2010, 11:04 AM   #1
richarddoyle
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Orange
Posts: 3
Default Using BIS with a corporate server

Please Login to Remove!

Is it possible to use BIS with a corporate server?

We have a BES server but Orange want to charge 28 per month for a BES service, the corresponding BIS service is 5.

We do not need full syncronisation of calendar, tasks etc, only email.

BIS is very proficient and dealing with emails and would meet our requirements.
Offline  
Old 01-24-2010, 11:23 AM   #2
rambo47
Latino Hasta La Muerte
 
rambo47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Denville, NJ.
Model: 9370
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 9,063
Default

Depending on how your server is set up, you might be able to access corporate email through BIS. You won't get wireless contact or calendar sync though. Those are features of BES only.
Offline  
Old 01-24-2010, 11:48 AM   #3
hrbuckley
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: LEZ10
OS: 10.0.10
Carrier: Rogers CA
Posts: 1,704
Default

You also don't get encryption between RIM and the Blackberry with BIS.
__________________
My other Blackberry is a PlayBook.
Offline  
Old 01-24-2010, 12:20 PM   #4
tsac
BlackBerry Mensa
 
tsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Others run out when we run in
Model: Z10
OS: Cheerios
PIN: No Pin just a Tack
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 9,972
Default

Sounds like another company discovered the higher cost for BES vs. BIS service.
__________________
Z10 on BES
Z10 on BIS
Offline  
Old 01-24-2010, 12:26 PM   #5
richarddoyle
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Orange
Posts: 3
Default

Many thanks, appreciate we do not get calendar and contact sync and encryption is not as good but these are not important.

We only need email

The difference in costs is 300 per handset per year and just cannot be justified
Offline  
Old 01-24-2010, 12:53 PM   #6
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default

Email only syncs using BES.

Sounds to me like your company doesn't need BBs then.
__________________
-->>BB FAQ

-->>Stinsonddog's Tip Site!

-->>Twitter


If someone helps, tell them by clicking the Thanks button.!!
Offline  
Old 01-25-2010, 09:34 AM   #7
takeshi
BlackBerry Mensa
 
takeshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Houston
Model: 8310
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 7,741
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rambo47 View Post
Depending on how your server is set up, you might be able to access corporate email through BIS.
BIS supports OWA, IMAP and POP.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Custom case iPhone,samsung,lg,google,etc / Frida Kahlo beautiful 04 case
$21.0
Custom case iPhone,samsung,lg,google,etc / Frida Kahlo beautiful 04 case pictureCustom case iPhone,samsung,lg,google,etc / Frida Kahlo beautiful 04 case
$21.0
Custom case iPhone,samsung,lg,google,etc / Frida Kahlo beautiful 04 case pictureCustom case iPhone,samsung,lg,google,etc / Frida Kahlo beautiful 04 case
$21.0
Custom case iPhone,samsung,lg,google,etc / Frida Kahlo beautiful 04 case pictureCustom case iPhone,samsung,lg,google,etc / Frida Kahlo beautiful 04 case
$21.0
Custom case iPhone,samsung,lg,google,etc / Frida Kahlo beautiful 04 case pictureCustom case iPhone,samsung,lg,google,etc / Frida Kahlo beautiful 04 case
$21.0
Custom case iPhone,samsung,lg,google,etc / Frida Kahlo beautiful 04 case picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.