BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-03-2010, 02:40 PM   #81
The Sand
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
The Sand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Model: 9810
OS: 7.0.1355
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 357
Default

Please Login to Remove!

I think we will see the new DM soon as that "Torch" is coming August 12th. The new DM will probaby work wih the new Torch as well as Office 2010.

Sandy
Offline  
Old 08-03-2010, 02:47 PM   #82
The Sand
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
The Sand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Model: 9810
OS: 7.0.1355
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 357
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanuckBB View Post
Other than Extremely huge spreadsheets, there is no advantage to 64-bit office.
But if everything is going to be "64 bit" I don't know... if that will be the norm - why downgrade the program???

I would have to think about it and what it would mean in the future... Of course I would have to think about my software and if it could do it - and if it can't, when it could. Obviously the DM can't until further notice.

I am trying to hold off buying something, and this is part of the reason why...

Sandy
Offline  
Old 08-03-2010, 07:46 PM   #83
greyhat000
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Model: 9800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 12
Default

the work around for this is to uninstall outlook 2010 install 2007 ... create a profile, then update back to 2010, it works mint i did it myself, and until desktop manager 6.0 comes out.. or atleast im hoping RIM will integrate that into the mix, im sure they are aware of the issue, everyone is getting WIN7 with OUTLOOK 2010 preloaded so im sure they are somewhat aware
__________________
Cheers'
Offline  
Old 08-03-2010, 10:02 PM   #84
Petesindia
New Member
 
Petesindia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: India
Model: 9780
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Airtel
Posts: 14
Default

Thx for the info guys. I am going ahead and getting the 32 bit office loaded onto my new Windows 7 laptop.

Will wait for the new DM though to get the bbery to backup.
__________________
www.petes.in

" RULE EVERY ROAD YOU TAKE "
Offline  
Old 08-03-2010, 11:09 PM   #85
The Sand
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
The Sand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Model: 9810
OS: 7.0.1355
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 357
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanuckBB View Post
And to those complaining abut RIM's slowness, Nokia just recently updated OVI to support Office 2010.
This was shocking as it means Nokia got it done faster than RIM. Nokia delivers some of the best phones around – but the company sucks. RIM makes them look amateur in regard to customer service. RIM backs their phones… Nokia could give a damn if it’s even usable – they just want the sale. The biggest problem with a Nokia phone is “Nokia.” I pray somebody buys that company and delivers a corporate structure that is worthy of the device that unfortunately bears their name.

Bottom line: That Nokia delivered compatible syncing software faster than RIM is a staggering embarrassment to RIM.

Sandy
Offline  
Old 08-04-2010, 08:06 AM   #86
lifesaver1
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Model: 9550
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 24
Default Upgrading to Office 64

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Sand View Post
So do you mean if you install 64 bit Office on your 64 bit machine and Microsoft upgrades Office (to like 2012 or whatever in the future) you have to "uninstall"all of Office before an upgrade?
If you upgrade from, for example, Windows Vista 32 to Windows 7 32, it is an upgrade in place. You do not have to delete your existing version of Vista and then install Windows 7. Rather, it is the typical upgrade we have been used to, which preserves some or most of your Windows settings. (It may also preserve some things you don't like/want, but it is an easier process.) If you move from, for example, Windows Vista 32 to Windows 7 64, you must start over and reinstall everything (including all programs, etc.) Windows 7 does offer a process that allows you to save the existing files and settings for some programs, but this is not universal and you must reinstall the programs themselves in the 64 bit environment. That is the Windows 7 64 install, not the Office 64 install.

If you install Office 64 during that process, it is basically like reinstalling the other programs. If you do not install Office 64 at that time, but install Office 32 and wait until later to install Office 64, you will most likely have to completely uninstall Office 32 and reinstall Office 64. There is presently no MS upgrade program, of which I am aware, that allows you to upgrade Office 64 in place (with all settings, etc. from Office 32). If someone is aware of some other information from MS on this, I would be interested to know.

This is one reason why people may be inclined to do this all at once. Since the future is 64 and the next iteration of Office and Windows will likely be 64 only, doing it now has attractions in saving from hassles later. The problem is the hassles it presents, which is lack of compatibility with the add-in programs of companies like RIM, which have elected not to upgrade those programs at this time, to the surprise and dismay of customers like myself, while companies like CompanionLink have rushed in to provide this service, for a fee, that RIM has not, as of yet.

I personally see RIM, in this regard, as behaving like something of an arrogant company with a widely used and entrenched product, which feels it is not compelled to serve the needs and desires of smaller segments of its customers to maintain general market dominance. (RIM has a huge share of the smartphone market.) This is risky for RIM, because their market share is eroding and may continue to erode as small segments of its customer based drop off.
Offline  
Old 08-04-2010, 02:17 PM   #87
The Sand
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
The Sand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Model: 9810
OS: 7.0.1355
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 357
Default

Thanks for your explanation... and by the way - I agree with everything you said

I know RIM's base is primarily corporate - and the iphone and the like are for individuals who wants and needs are focused on "fun" - leaves people in the middle struggling...

As of rigth now, even with this problem, I still say RIM is better than the rest.

Sandy

Last edited by The Sand; 08-04-2010 at 02:19 PM..
Offline  
Old 08-05-2010, 02:03 PM   #88
pafenaro
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 1
Default i solve it!!!!

i solve it! I syncronize my bold 9700 and outlook 2010 with desktop manager 6 (a leaked version ....)

install it and the contact are on the blackberry

regards
pafenaro
Offline  
Old 08-05-2010, 02:11 PM   #89
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pafenaro View Post
i solve it! I syncronize my bold 9700 and outlook 2010 with desktop manager 6 (a leaked version ....)

install it and the contact are on the blackberry
Now that's using your thinking cap!
Offline  
Old 08-05-2010, 08:50 PM   #90
The Sand
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
The Sand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Model: 9810
OS: 7.0.1355
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 357
Default

I am glad to know it's going well... that 6.0 was capable of syncing 2010. But to me "leaked" is right up there with "beta." I will wait for the official release from RIM.

Sandy
Offline  
Old 08-07-2010, 01:02 PM   #91
mnorman
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Model: Bold
OS: 4.6
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 81
Default

What is Heaven's name are they waiting for? iPhone5?
Offline  
Old 08-08-2010, 08:27 AM   #92
lifesaver1
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Model: 9550
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 24
Default Solution to Which Problem?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pafenaro View Post
i solve it! I syncronize my bold 9700 and outlook 2010 with desktop manager 6 (a leaked version ....)
Which version of Outlook are you using, 32 bit or 64 bit?
Offline  
Old 08-10-2010, 09:51 AM   #93
rossmc88
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: 02
Posts: 3
Default

is desktop manager 6 out yet? I thought it was coming out today?

I'm really needing to get outlook 2010 working with desktop manager. I never even knew this was an issue until my Boss's blackberry died and had to be replaced yesterday.

It had been happily syncing with office 2010 since the day office it was ofiicially launched, and now when I've connected his replacement blackberry, I now get the "can't open message store" error
Offline  
Old 08-10-2010, 11:06 AM   #94
whsbuss
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
whsbuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: SE PA.
Model: 9800
OS: 4.6.0.304
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 2,791
Default

I'm waiting for DM 6 as well. Just checked RIM's site and its still 5.0
Offline  
Old 08-10-2010, 11:09 AM   #95
rossmc88
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Model: 8520
PIN: N/A
Carrier: 02
Posts: 3
Default

that's me finishing work the now (UK time), I'm hoping the download will be available when I get back into work in 15 hours time, fingers crossed
Offline  
Old 08-10-2010, 11:49 AM   #96
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

It is now available....

https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...93E4F3BB068C22
Offline  
Old 08-10-2010, 01:42 PM   #97
dagger_99
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Bell
Posts: 3
Default

Blackberry Desktop V6 is just out and DOES NOT support Office 2010 64 bit. They wonder why they're losing market share? Develop an update that supports Windows 7 64 bit environment and then neglects to apply it to Office 2010 64 bit? Time for the new Samsung Galaxy S, enough of RIM's nonsense.
Offline  
Old 08-10-2010, 01:46 PM   #98
NJBlackBerry
Grumpy Moderator
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey
Model: SGS7
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 27,948
Default

Enjoy. Read my reply to other thread.

Adobe Acrobat latest version, doesn't support Office 2010 64 bit. Office Communicator -A MICROSOFT PRODUCT - doesn't support Office 2010 64 bit.

No 32 bit apps support Office 2010 64 bit. Even Microsoft recommends using the 32 bit version.

Suit yourself.
Offline  
Old 08-10-2010, 04:22 PM   #99
The Sand
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
The Sand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Model: 9810
OS: 7.0.1355
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 357
Default

Recommending 32 bit will change as the newer computers are rolling out with 64 bit.

If you are looking for another device you might want to consider the HTC running Windows 7 mobile which is due out soon... if anybody can sync Outlook well (any and all bits) it would be Microsoft. They put a lot of work into that new OS and it's ability to work with Office.

RIM, and everybody else for that matter, will have to address 64 bit soon or suffer the consequences. Those that are buying new computers NOW will want to install 64 bit if they expect to run that computer for years - as years from now downgrading to 32 bit will over. And Office goes deep into the system - I would not want to uninstall and reinstall Office.

At the end of the day the consumer needs to "execute" just like the business crowd running BES, and they will use whatever device delivers. RIM needs to make sure we can get it done, using whatever "bit" of Office we choose - period.

Sandy

Last edited by The Sand; 08-10-2010 at 04:23 PM..
Offline  
Old 08-10-2010, 08:42 PM   #100
BretFelix
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Model: 9700
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers (ugh...)
Posts: 1
Default

I just downloaded DM 6.0 and it still does not work with outlook 2010...

When I go Organizer>>Configure Settings... Intellisync pops up with "unknown error reported". The progress bar is at "determining the root configuration name for main system" when this occurs.

Please advise?
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Load Cell Amplifier HX711 Computer Component
$17.91
Load Cell Amplifier HX711  Computer Component pictureTriple Axis Accelerometer Breakout ADXL335 Computer Component
$23.81
Triple Axis Accelerometer Breakout ADXL335  Computer Component picture15 AD7821KN 9236 chip IRELAND 20 PIN ANALOG DEVICE computer 41v4
$49.99
15 AD7821KN 9236 chip IRELAND 20 PIN  ANALOG DEVICE computer 41v4 pictureComputer Boards Inc CIO-DAS48-PGA Analog Input Board Excellent Used Working
$249.99
Computer Boards Inc CIO-DAS48-PGA Analog Input Board Excellent Used Working  pictureANALOG WAY COMPUTER & HDTV & VIDEO & COMPONENT MULTI-SWITCHER SWITCH SMV415 HWY
$39.99
ANALOG WAY COMPUTER & HDTV & VIDEO & COMPONENT MULTI-SWITCHER SWITCH SMV415 HWY picture






Copyright © 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM © and BlackBerry © are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.