BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-30-2006, 06:12 PM   #61
efbatey
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Oxnard, CA
Model: 8700g
Posts: 8
Default

Please Login to Remove!

Got it from a BB - TMO employee that Mac to 8700 has worked ...
__________________
- Ev Batey - [email address]
MAC OS X / BB 8700g TMO / PIN: 20400765
RIM F/w Vers 4.1.0.284
Offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 12:50 AM   #62
alexkingorg
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
alexkingorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Model: 8700g
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by efbatey
Got it from a BB - TMO employee that Mac to 8700 has worked ...
Can you give a little more info? From your post I'm not sure what exactly "has worked". Thanks.
Offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 07:14 AM   #63
efbatey
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Oxnard, CA
Model: 8700g
Posts: 8
Default Maybe MAC has driver for USB 8700g

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkingorg
Can you give a little more info? From your post I'm not sure what exactly "has worked". Thanks.
The person I spoke to today told me there was experience using USB connected 8700g with an OSX Mac to allow the Mac internet access. I'm waiting to see. All I got for now.
__________________
- Ev Batey - [email address]
MAC OS X / BB 8700g TMO / PIN: 20400765
RIM F/w Vers 4.1.0.284
Offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 09:23 PM   #64
aequitas
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Model: 8700g
Posts: 13
Default Open Source!

I would rather see this go open source and not fall into the hands of MobiShark ... I for one would not like to pay another $50 for software that I will use somewhat, but only when needed...

I am doing research on making an open source program that syncs better than "PocketMac" and that will be the start of the modem part also for my development.

No wars about how good/bad PocketMac is. My problem is that it doesn't sync all the available fields with AddressBook as it could.

aequitas
__________________
T-Mobile 8700g - 12" Powerbook G4, OS X 10.4.5
Offline  
Old 08-01-2006, 07:24 AM   #65
RJGill84
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Model: 8100
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 7
Default Agree

I agree...I feel that this product should be kept in the open source communitiy. Open source certainly fosters development and refinement, and is typically free. I'm not terribly concerned about having to pay for it, but I am concerned about proper and CONTINUING product development and refinement.

I certainly appreciate what MobiShark is trying to do for us, and support their effort, but would rather see an open source effort, OSX supports X11, which could make this program useful to many other non-mac, non-pc users.. Just my two cents!
Offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 04:57 AM   #66
Stewie
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Stewie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Quahog
Model: 8700g
Posts: 97
Default

Those who have or will be getting an Intel based Mac will be able to do this by installing Windows using Boot Camp or a virtual machine software app. Some are having success using the betas of Parallels.
Offline  
Old 08-13-2006, 06:02 AM   #67
alexkingorg
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
alexkingorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Model: 8700g
Posts: 30
Default

I was wrong above, it actually will work in Parallels:

alexking.org: Blog > You *Can* Tether a BlackBerry as a Modem in Parallels
Offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 10:51 PM   #68
travisbell
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Calgary, Canada
Model: 7130g
Posts: 3
Default

I will be giving this a try later tonight, thanks for the link.
Offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 07:13 PM   #69
MajorHavoc
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Suwanee, Ga
Model: 9780
OS: Windows 7
PIN: 25dce7fc
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 113
Default

post deleted, wrong thread...

Last edited by MajorHavoc; 08-16-2006 at 09:01 PM..
Offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 11:13 PM   #70
gabeosx
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Model: 8820
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 50
Default

If you want to have an open source solution for using your BlackBerry as a modem then write it. If MobiShark makes a better app or comes out with one first, I would be glad to pay.
Offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 01:21 AM   #71
aristobrat
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Model: 7130e
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 444
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkingorg
I was wrong above, it actually will work in Parallels:

alexking.org: Blog > You *Can* Tether a BlackBerry as a Modem in Parallels
Hmmm. No love on a MacBook that never had PocketMac installed (trying to tether with a 7130e in Parallels).

None of the BlackBerry apps (Device Manager or Desktop Manager) see the 7130e, although it shows up as a "BlackBerry Device" under Device Manager and is happily charging itself.
Offline  
Old 08-17-2006, 01:24 AM   #72
alexkingorg
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
alexkingorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Model: 8700g
Posts: 30
Default

It would probably be helpful for a Windows guru (and Parallels user) to note all the settings that need to be adjusted and to what values.

I got it working, but to get it working on another VM would take a lot of trial and error again.
Offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 04:08 PM   #73
secrecyguy
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
secrecyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Southern California, USA
Model: 8100
Carrier: T-mobile
Posts: 1,238
Default

* bump *

To the person I talk to at Coffee Bean...

After you left, I decided to make it easier for you to find this subject so I bump it up so you can find it.

Anyway, I hope you get your Blackberry working on your Mac.

Also I want to add, for people who go to Coffee Bean, always make your order to go because if you say you want it here, they charge you tax.
Offline  
Old 08-24-2006, 04:14 PM   #74
aristobrat
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Model: 7130e
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 444
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexkingorg
It would probably be helpful for a Windows guru (and Parallels user) to note all the settings that need to be adjusted and to what values.

I got it working, but to get it working on another VM would take a lot of trial and error again.
Hey Alex, which model BB are you using?
Offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 07:36 PM   #75
ccassidy007@gmail.com
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Model: 8700c
Posts: 1
Default Hi Alex, would love the help! BB 7250 on Verizon - need working for tethering on Mac

Using BB 7250 on Verizon Network and my new Macbook Intel Duo processor.


I cant make anything install or work.... guess im an idiot, but did you get a HOW TO? I would gladly pay whatever...

I have Parallels VM installed with windows XP Pro SP2, and the latest Blackberry desktop manager, but I can't get USB port recognized.

would love your support and thoughts... I do not understand this statement for

IN TERMINAL: sudo x....... Is that a command that I run somewhere on the mac?
Offline  
Old 08-26-2006, 09:28 PM   #76
aristobrat
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Model: 7130e
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 444
Default

You open up the TERMINAL program on your Mac and type that command into it.
Offline  
Old 09-10-2006, 09:32 PM   #77
alexkingorg
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
alexkingorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Model: 8700g
Posts: 30
Default

I have an 8700g.
Offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 02:54 PM   #78
dapitts08
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: 8700g
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 13
Default

anyone find a solution yet? just trying to keep the discussion alive.
Offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 03:07 PM   #79
aristobrat
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Model: 7130e
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 444
Default

No luck here using a VZW 7130e.

In Parallels, Windows sees the BlackBerry in Device Manager (and the BlackBerry will charge), but that's about it. I can't get Desktop Manager (even the new 4.2 version) to see the BlackBerry.
Offline  
Old 09-19-2006, 09:28 PM   #80
alexkingorg
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
alexkingorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Model: 8700g
Posts: 30
Default

I'm wondering if the 8703e will have a Bluetooth DUN profile like the 8100 does.

As it is, it looks like I'll be refunding the bounty money.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Filtered Power Supply Model ABS138F 120VAC 60Hz 72W 13.8DC 4A Apple Blossom Vtg
$22.36
Filtered Power Supply Model ABS138F 120VAC 60Hz 72W 13.8DC 4A Apple Blossom Vtg pictureVintage - Pat. Appl'd For - BEEDE METER - Pocket Size Volt Ametter - Not Tested
$9.99
Vintage - Pat. Appl'd For - BEEDE METER - Pocket Size Volt Ametter - Not Tested  pictureVintage Apple 2 Mega Bundle fully optioned
$1665.0
Vintage Apple 2 Mega Bundle fully optioned  pictureRare Vintage Bel Air Super De Luxe Industrial Sewing Machine, Apple Green, 1950s
$191.25
Rare Vintage Bel Air Super De Luxe Industrial Sewing Machine, Apple Green, 1950s pictureVINTAGE APPLE LITE VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD CARD 820-0522-A
$119.0
VINTAGE APPLE LITE VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD CARD 820-0522-A   picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.