BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-23-2006, 07:51 PM   #81
reason_dow
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Model: 7100t
Posts: 2
Default

Please Login to Remove!

I have found source code for a linux version of a utility on sourceforge DOT net that does what we are seemingly looking to do... I'm thinking with a bit of retinkering, a mac version of this utility could be resolved. the project is called "xmblackerry". Anyone know how to port linux apps?
Offline  
Old 09-25-2006, 10:43 AM   #82
alexkingorg
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
alexkingorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Model: 8700g
Posts: 30
Default

We're coming down to the bounty deadline - you don't have to have a polished solution by the deadline, just proof that it works. Do what you need to do - get something working by the 30th!
Offline  
Old 10-10-2006, 12:02 PM   #83
roccitman
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
roccitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: oregon
Model: 7100t
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 162
Default

bump...Anyone have any news on this? Just getting into the Mac world.

p.s. I have the new version of PocketMac working with Daylite, see:
http://www.blackberryforums.com/mac-...king-work.html
Offline  
Old 10-10-2006, 12:37 PM   #84
aristobrat
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Model: 7130e
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 444
Default

The only thing I've heard is that the 8100 can be used as a modem via BT with OS X ... haven't heard anything about the other BB models.
Offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 04:32 PM   #85
lydz
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Model: 8100
Carrier: tmobile
Posts: 3
Lightbulb There may be an answer....

I am about to check out this link: www (dot) fibble (dot) org/archives/000508 (dot) html

idiots! This 10 messages is a waste of time!! Are they wanting to encourage cyber sex as well or what????? And NO- I am not into that sorta bull>
Offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 06:18 PM   #86
ggoodale
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Model: 8100
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 149
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lydz
I am about to check out this link: www (dot) fibble (dot) org/archives/000508 (dot) html

idiots! This 10 messages is a waste of time!! Are they wanting to encourage cyber sex as well or what????? And NO- I am not into that sorta bull>
If you don't have an 8100, I'll save you some time - the script at that link won't work with any other model of BlackBerry.
Offline  
Old 10-27-2006, 10:39 AM   #87
RPB3
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Carlsbad, CA
Model: 8100
Carrier: T-Moblie
Posts: 19
Default

Any new news on this? I would really like to be able to use my BB for a modem. Bluetooth would be great, but would take USB.
__________________
8100- iPhone theme/ pocketmac
Offline  
Old 10-28-2006, 03:22 AM   #88
slapshotw
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 8700g
Carrier: T-mobile
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RPB3
Any new news on this? I would really like to be able to use my BB for a modem. Bluetooth would be great, but would take USB.
Somebody developed a solution. It's open to preorder now and will be released in mid november.

Brain Murmurs, Inc., Products - Pulse Bluetooth Dialup Networking Service
Offline  
Old 10-28-2006, 11:57 AM   #89
aristobrat
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Model: 7130e
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 444
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slapshotw
Somebody developed a solution.
Quote:
How fast is the connection?
At this moment the connection is consistent with traditional telephone dial up service. We will post benchmarks as we continue to optimize the service.
Well, I guess it's a start.
Offline  
Old 10-29-2006, 12:12 AM   #90
slapshotw
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 8700g
Carrier: T-mobile
Posts: 34
Default

Definitely just a start, but that does mean there's hope for us yet.
Offline  
Old 10-30-2006, 11:13 AM   #91
roccitman
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
roccitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: oregon
Model: 7100t
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 162
Default

I think this solution only works on 8700s and not 7xxx series. Can someone confirm?
r
Offline  
Old 11-04-2006, 01:49 AM   #92
blindrat18
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Model: 7130e
Posts: 2
Default

Any support for 7130e with Sprint? As a tethered modem?
Offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 02:45 PM   #93
Optical Serenity
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Model: 8700G
Posts: 7
Default

Any updates on this?
Offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 02:54 PM   #94
alexkingorg
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
alexkingorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Model: 8700g
Posts: 30
Default

The product is available now:

Brain Murmurs, Inc., Products

There is an FAQ here:

Brain Murmurs, Inc., Frequently Asked Questions About Pulse
Offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 04:47 PM   #95
aequitas
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Model: 8700g
Posts: 13
Default boo

I am sure I am not the only one to disapprove of the "solution" posted (winner of Alex King's bounty).

If you can plug an 8700 into a USB port in windows and use it as a modem, there is no reason to need a proxy, which is REQUIRED in the "solution" posted above.

After I move cross country next month I will dig deeper into this issue and when I come up with a solution, it will be open source. I am sure a lot of people won't mind that they will have to tether their BB in order for a FREE solution.

-aequitas-
__________________
T-Mobile 8700g - 12" Powerbook G4, OS X 10.4.5
Offline  
Old 12-05-2006, 12:56 AM   #96
bflint
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Marble Falls, Texas
Model: 8300
Carrier: Cellular One
Posts: 23
Default

I use my 8100 all the time as a modem through bluetooth here is a link where I answered another person http://www.blackberryforums.com/gene...modem-mac.html
Offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 10:04 AM   #97
Yellowfin
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tuscaloosa, AL
Model: 7130e
PIN: 30105C09
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 64
Default

So as far as I gather this, this will use phone minutes, correct? Or will it use wireless data which we have unlimited? I don't want to run my bill up or red flag my account.
Offline  
Old 12-08-2006, 02:04 AM   #98
roccitman
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
roccitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: oregon
Model: 7100t
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 162
Default

I'm pretty sure it doesn't use minutes. It's not like a traditional dialup service.
-roccit
Offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 11:27 AM   #99
Goju
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: 8703e
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 2
Default I want it too for 8703e

I'm in.....
Offline  
Old 12-11-2006, 03:18 PM   #100
qhussain
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: 8700g
Posts: 2
Default Modem driver help

I have 8700g with T-mobile and I have unlimited data plan. I am trying to use this as a modem, but unable to laod driver. Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks

Ori
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Tektronix TM503A 3 Slot Mainframe - does not include modules - With Box
$149.99
Tektronix TM503A 3 Slot Mainframe - does not include modules - With Box pictureAGILENT 8166A Lightwave Multichannel System Mainframe ONLY
$2799.0
AGILENT 8166A Lightwave Multichannel System Mainframe ONLY pictureTektronix TM506A Six Bay Mainframe / Chassis
$149.97
Tektronix TM506A Six Bay Mainframe / Chassis pictureAgilent 16902B Logic Analyzer Mainframe, 6-Slot w/4x 16962A Modules and Cables
$1500.0
Agilent 16902B Logic Analyzer Mainframe, 6-Slot w/4x 16962A Modules and Cables pictureRohde & Schwarz MSCU Mainframe & 5 Modules T42 F127 F4 T40N F127 1513.8506.02
$1250.0
Rohde & Schwarz MSCU Mainframe & 5 Modules T42 F127 F4 T40N F127 1513.8506.02  picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.