BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-13-2006, 09:03 PM   #101
apple85
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: California
Model: Tour
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 730
Default

Please Login to Remove!

Any news on a free option or an update from mobishark that allows BIS users to use their product
__________________
"I am always amazed at how these men walk into fires, when the rest of us run from them" - Rudolph Giuliani on Firemen
Offline  
Old 12-17-2006, 01:47 AM   #102
sunchild
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: 7250
Carrier: spwint
Posts: 2
Default

i've been checking this thread once a day for the past 4 months to see if there's been any REAL update. what is the deal here?
Offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 05:38 PM   #103
sphereboy
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: 8100
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 23
Default

To Bluetooth or Not to Bluetooth?
What is the verdict.
Can we connect or what?
Offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 05:40 PM   #104
alexkingorg
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
alexkingorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Denver, CO
Model: 8700g
Posts: 30
Default

Please see my post above:

http://www.blackberryforums.com/mac-...tml#post383169
Offline  
Old 12-22-2006, 11:41 PM   #105
kstew
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
kstew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 8700c
Carrier: Cingular/AT&T
Posts: 42
Default

I was able to get my 8700c to connect to my PPC PB. The speed had so much variance...from 5kbs up to about 45kbs. Any idea how to get the speed to smooth out? What I really want is to be able to use my Slingbox, but I'll surely need more speed than that.

Thoughts?
Offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 12:47 PM   #106
makkystyle
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Model: 7100t
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kstew
I was able to get my 8700c to connect to my PPC PB. The speed had so much variance...from 5kbs up to about 45kbs. Any idea how to get the speed to smooth out? What I really want is to be able to use my Slingbox, but I'll surely need more speed than that.

Thoughts?

kstew... please share how you connected the 8700. We might be able to figure out a solution if we all knew how you were doing this. As far as I can tell you are the first to get the 8700 to transmit data to the PB... was it tethered or over BT?
Offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 09:37 PM   #107
sunchild
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: 7250
Carrier: spwint
Posts: 2
Default

it's not a real solution...
Offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 02:58 AM   #108
dreastans
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Model: 8703e
Posts: 6
Cool give me something to believe in... does it work?

I haven't seen anything remotely useable other than this "pulse" program? Before I surrender to this... Is there any hope for a real answer to the dilemma?
Offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 05:58 AM   #109
Hitek146
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Model: 7280
Posts: 10
Default Sometime in the next few weeks...

I'll be getting my first Blackberry this weekend, so I'll be playing with this over the next few weeks. I already have extensive experience using other cellular devices to connect to the internet using desktops/laptops over the last few years, and I don't think this would be that difficult. Rather I should say that I believe that all of the pieces of the solution already exist(for free), and just need to be located, assembled, and tested. I've got an OS X iBook I'll try it on here...

I'll let you guys know if I figure anything out in the next few weeks....
Offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 04:12 PM   #110
aristobrat
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Model: 7130e
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 444
Default

Just a FYI (this isn't a solution), but the RC2 of Parallel's beta finally supports my Verizon 7130e. VZAccess Manager has no problems connecting and maintaining a broadband connection from within a virtual machine.
Offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 09:19 PM   #111
dreastans
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Model: 8703e
Posts: 6
Thumbs down

Let me know if you figure anything out. I could use some help with this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hitek146
I'll be getting my first Blackberry this weekend, so I'll be playing with this over the next few weeks. I already have extensive experience using other cellular devices to connect to the internet using desktops/laptops over the last few years, and I don't think this would be that difficult. Rather I should say that I believe that all of the pieces of the solution already exist(for free), and just need to be located, assembled, and tested. I've got an OS X iBook I'll try it on here...

I'll let you guys know if I figure anything out in the next few weeks....
__________________
Working for the man every night and day...

Andrea Stansbury
Blackberry 8703e and loving it
Offline  
Old 02-14-2007, 03:34 PM   #112
surfnrg
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Model: 8703e
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 4
Default Any Updates on Tethering BB 8703e with Mac Powerbook G4?

Wondering if anyone has found a solution on tethering the BB 8703e with a Mac laptop?
Offline  
Old 02-15-2007, 04:30 AM   #113
dreastans
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Model: 8703e
Posts: 6
Default

Surfnrg: no solutions yet unless you want to pay $100 extra for a hack program on your 8703e and a proxy server. I still think it was a cheap and crappy thing to do, take the bounty and then charge for the solution, but to each their own. I just won't buy the product brain-whatever is selling because I see it as a temporary fix and there's no need to fork over $$$ to a greedy bastard for something temporary.
__________________
Working for the man every night and day...

Andrea Stansbury
Blackberry 8703e and loving it
Offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 10:27 AM   #114
Cocooningweb
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Model: 8330
OS: 4.5.0.56
Carrier: Cellular South
Posts: 59
Default

Hi all,

I just got my first mac yesterday and was wondering, can't someone adapt this script for the 8700? It seems to work for the Pearl.

http://www.fibble.org/BlackBerry%208100

A link to the script is on this page Fibble.org: Use your BlackBerry Pearl as a Bluetooth Modem under OS X
Offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 10:09 AM   #115
sseligson
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NY
Model: 8700
Carrier: tmobile
Posts: 78
Default

I looks like this thread is dormant. Any news on this?
Offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 10:24 AM   #116
cwosigns
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
cwosigns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Model: 9300
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 311
Default

I gave up and bought a Novatel USB720 from Verizon. Works like a charm. I'd like to be able to use my BB to get online with my Mac, but it's just not possible. Not at the speeds I need.
__________________
Chris Owens
NAD V, NIC Advanced
ASL-English Interpreter
Columbus, Ohio
Offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 12:37 PM   #117
Nostalgie
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Model: 7290
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 5
Default

Not sure if this is still active...??
But yes, there is a script and an app for OS X that allows this, Ive used my 7290 to do it...let me know if this is still active and Ill try to find the link and post it up
peace
bryan
Offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 06:02 PM   #118
test54
BlackBerry Master
 
test54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Model: AAPL
OS: iPhone
Carrier: is Better than BB :)
Posts: 3,633
Default

after getting this work i thought i should ask - Will i get charged for doing this? i wont see a tethering charge on my bill will I?
__________________
"A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila." - unknown
Offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 01:07 AM   #119
memullin@mac.com
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Model: 7290
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T Mobile
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nostalgie View Post
Not sure if this is still active...??
But yes, there is a script and an app for OS X that allows this, Ive used my 7290 to do it...let me know if this is still active and Ill try to find the link and post it up
peace
bryan
I would love to have it. Can you find it? Thanks!
Offline  
Old 04-22-2007, 04:15 AM   #120
ggoodale
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Model: 8100
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 149
Default

A bit of potential good news for 8700 users (at least the GSM version):

I've received a report that upgrading to OS 4.2 provides the 8700 with the standard Bluetooth DUN profile. This means that a standard modem script will work for tethering - in fact, the same script that works for the Pearl and 8800.

I don't have an 8700 to test with, so I can't confirm this - hopefully someone here can.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

COMMODORE AMIGA/MOS8520A-1  IC chip 
$20.0
COMMODORE AMIGA/MOS8520A-1  IC chip  pictureCommodore Amiga MOS 8520R2 Complex Interface Adapter 
$20.0
Commodore Amiga MOS 8520R2 Complex Interface Adapter  pictureSoftware guide book manual Amiga Programmer C Language A2000 A500 computer disk
$115.0
Software guide book manual Amiga Programmer C Language A2000 A500 computer disk pictureRADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-33 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC SCSI 16MB
$185.0
RADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-33 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC SCSI 16MB pictureRADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-31 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC Module card SCSI
$185.0
RADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-31 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC Module card SCSI picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.