BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-29-2007, 02:03 PM   #1
Hazarrd
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Model: None
PIN: N/A
Carrier: None
Posts: 42
Default 8830 Without Internet - Verizon

Please Login to Remove!

I've got the 8830 with unlimited data. A family member wants the 8830 but doesn't want any data plan. I just got a call from him saying that he went into a Verizon store to get the 8830 but the rep. told him that he "must" get at least the minimum data plan because the phone uses 5mb a month even if you are only making phone calls.

That sounds like a load of BS to me. Does anyone know if there is any validity to this?

Thanks.
Offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 02:09 PM   #2
greggebhardt
No longer Registered.
 
greggebhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FLorida
Model: 9000!
PIN: NOT!
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 3,762
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hazarrd View Post
I've got the 8830 with unlimited data. A family member wants the 8830 but doesn't want any data plan. I just got a call from him saying that he went into a Verizon store to get the 8830 but the rep. told him that he "must" get at least the minimum data plan because the phone uses 5mb a month even if you are only making phone calls.

That sounds like a load of BS to me. Does anyone know if there is any validity to this?

Thanks.
Yep he is shoveling it your way! If you do not order a data plan it will not use any BB data. You should still be able to use the PDA funtions, phone and maybe SMS. No internet, email or other BB services.

The guy just wants to sell a data plan!
Offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 02:15 PM   #3
aristobrat
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Model: 7130e
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 444
Default

He wants to sell a data plan, or he's not allowed to sell it without a data plan?
Offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 06:07 PM   #4
mccoyboy2
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 2
Default data plan on verizon

Ok, I just had the exact same issue.
I bought a Blackberry 8830 from Verizon. The signed me up for a data plan so I could get $100 off the phone.

I called a few days later to cancel the data plan since I dont use the Internet or Email services on my phone.

I called a couple different times, and all of the customer service reps told me that you are required to have a data plan if you own a blackberry. I didn't think this was really true though.

I called again today and the rep removed my plan with no problem. She just switched it to a "Pay As You Go" plan, which is .015 cents per kilobyte.

So then I went into my Blackberry settings, and turned the data plan feature "OFF".

I don't think I'll have a problem now.
Offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 06:59 PM   #5
zerog46
iPhone Mod!
 
zerog46's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: In a House
Model: 9650
Carrier: VZW Bold
Posts: 6,776
Default

Can you use text messaging without the data plan.
Offline  
Old 06-03-2007, 07:17 PM   #6
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zerog46 View Post
Can you use text messaging without the data plan.
AFAIK, text messages are SMS and count under your text messaging plan or cost 15 cents each. Doesn't use data.
Offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 02:03 AM   #7
dbdynsty25
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Model: Bold
Carrier: At&t
Posts: 76
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubdub View Post
AFAIK, text messages are SMS and count under your text messaging plan or cost 15 cents each. Doesn't use data.
Correct. Completely separate from the data plan. Which is a point of contention for me anyway...why the hell don't they count as part of the data plan when you have a PDA and unlimited data? Dumb.
Offline  
Old 06-04-2007, 01:26 PM   #8
SpectreBlofeld
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
SpectreBlofeld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 9630
OS: 4.5.x.x
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 211
Default

Allow me to provide some clarification...

Yes, it is technically possible to activate a Blackberry without a data plan.

However, Verizon and the other carriers have a contractual agreement with Blackberry wherein the data plan must be attached to a Blackberry sale (as RIM gets a cut of the data package). So don't be too hard on the sales rep that insists you subscribe to a data plan. They're really legally obligated to do so due to their agreement with Blackberry.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Yokogawa F3SP28-3S CPU module
$204.03
Yokogawa F3SP28-3S CPU module pictureFedEx DHL USED Mitsubishi A series CPU module A3HCPU
$1495.51
FedEx DHL USED Mitsubishi A series CPU module A3HCPU  pictureSiemens S7 1200 CPU 1214C AC/DC/RLY6ES7 214-BG40-0XB0
$266.51
Siemens S7 1200 CPU 1214C  AC/DC/RLY6ES7 214-BG40-0XB0 pictureFedEx DHL used GE IC693CPU364-BD
$841.43
FedEx DHL used GE IC693CPU364-BD picture1PC Siemens PLC CPU222CN 212-1AB23-OXB8 #A3
$91.18
1PC Siemens PLC CPU222CN 212-1AB23-OXB8 #A3 picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.