BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-18-2006, 09:31 AM   #1
stealthx32
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Model: 8220
OS: 4.6.0.180
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 330
Default Google Local Mobile is now available for 7100's!

Please Login to Remove!

http://google.com/glm

Its like Google Local/Maps, for your phone. The interface is great, and loads the map on the fly when you scroll around. Access the URL through your phone to download OTA. Just make sure you have no browser emulation selected, or else it won't properly identify your phone.

Problem is...I can't get it to work w/ T-Mo. It works fine w/ my buddy who has a 8700c, and w/ EDGE its awesome.
Offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 09:34 AM   #2
NJBlackBerry
Grumpy Moderator
 
NJBlackBerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey
Model: SGS7
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 27,948
Default

Works fine on my 8700c on T-Mobile, but I am going through a BES.
Offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 09:37 AM   #3
drake3
New Member
 
drake3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ohio - USA
Model: 9630
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 14
Default

It works on my 7100g, although a little slow. I still love the application. I am with Cincinnati Bell (was part of the AT&T network, have no idea if it is part of Cingular now.)
Offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 10:06 AM   #4
jetster
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Model: 7250
Posts: 14
Default

What would be really cool is if someone figured out a way to use GPS location based services and this new map feature to pinpoint your location on google map when you loaded it from your phone.
Offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 10:17 AM   #5
clarocco
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Model: 8130
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 4
Default

It appears to work well with my 7130e - Verizon. I'm not sure what the advantage of this is really thouugh over just using the browser and mapquest/yahoo/google directions on the web.

Still, the satellite images are really cool to look at...
Offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 11:45 AM   #6
stealthx32
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Model: 8220
OS: 4.6.0.180
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clarocco
I'm not sure what the advantage of this is really thouugh over just using the browser and mapquest/yahoo/google directions on the web.
Its a lot handier to navigate since it loads the map in realtime, and lets you scroll back to where you started without having to reload the page. I guess if you have EDGE/EV-DO, its not too bad, but on GPRS, page loads are pretty slow.
Offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 11:54 AM   #7
camartin
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Model: 7130e
Posts: 17
Default

I can't get my 7130e to connect with this app. Anyone else have this problem?
Offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 12:01 PM   #8
WolfKeeper
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Mount Prospect IL
Posts: 112
Default

Works fine on my 7230 on T-Mobile, although it's pretty slow. I loaded it on a 7290 (also T-Mobile) and it's much faster.
Offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 12:32 PM   #9
rookie4life
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Model: 8310
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 11
Default 7100t

Works fine on my 7100T
Offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 12:55 PM   #10
stealthx32
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Model: 8220
OS: 4.6.0.180
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 330
Default

Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry7100/4.0.2 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1)

Did you guys need to reboot the device or something? The TCP settings in Options seems to be fine (wap.voicestream.com with no user/password) for my TCP programs like VeriChat or Ramble IM. Any ideas?
Offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 01:29 PM   #11
waine06
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
waine06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Atlanta
Model: G1
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 72
Thumbs up

Works great on my 7105t. Not quite like GPS, but I really like this app. I think it's better than Mapquest. Just my $.02.
__________________
WAINE06
Offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 01:47 AM   #12
stealthx32
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Model: 8220
OS: 4.6.0.180
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 330
Default

I fixed my problem searching through their FAQ:

Quote:
When I start using Local for mobile on my BlackBerry, I receive a "network configuration error." Is there some way to fix this?
There sure is. Just follow the steps outlined below:

* Access Options > Service Book or Tools > Settings > Service Book on your device
* Delete the entry "IPPP for 5 Click (IPPP)" or "E-mail set up [IPPP]"
* Access Options > Host Routing Table or Tools > Settings > Host Routing Table
* Click "Register Now"
Offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 09:01 AM   #13
socal7100t
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
socal7100t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southern California
Model: 9530
PIN: 30487E6C
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 87
Default

Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry7100/4.0.2 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1)

It works just fine on my 7100t. Albeit slow at times, it functions great.
__________________
socalaloha
Offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 09:11 AM   #14
Gators86
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Gators86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Conyers, GA
Model: 8700c
Carrier: At&t
Posts: 29
Default

I am getting the following error message on my 7100g using BES. HTTP Error 406: Not Acceptable. The page you are trying to load is not supported by the browser. Please try loading a different page.

The phone has 4.0.2 software. Unlimited Data Plan with Cingular. My IT group wasn't much help. Any ideas?

Thanks
__________________
PIN: 20388405
Offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 09:17 AM   #15
bossfan
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Model: 8100
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 37
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gators86
I am getting the following error message on my 7100g using BES. HTTP Error 406: Not Acceptable. The page you are trying to load is not supported by the browser. Please try loading a different page.

The phone has 4.0.2 software. Unlimited Data Plan with Cingular. My IT group wasn't much help. Any ideas?

Thanks
I have a similar problem on my 7100g with the same CIngular data plan. When I go to download the app for the 7100, I get a communication failure error.
Offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 09:58 AM   #16
jfinn
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Model: 8100
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stealthx32
I fixed my problem searching through their FAQ:
I cannot get Google Local to work for my 7105t. I'm getting a "Network Unavailable" error, even though all of my other data services are working properly.

I checked the FAQ and it indicates:
Quote:
Which phones does Google Local for mobile support?
Local for mobile works with most Java-enabled (J2ME) mobile phones offered by Cingular and Sprint, and all color BlackBerry devices regardless of carrier. At this time, Local for mobile doesn't work with Nextel, T-Mobile or BREW-enabled phones (e.g. Verizon, Alltel, U.S. Cellular), or Palm devices. To see whether the application will work on your phone, simply visit http://www.google.com/glm/getstarted.html and answer a few questions about your mobile phone.
(I added the underline).

stealthx32's post indicates that he was able to delete the Service Book and re-register the phone, but I don't have a service book of theat exact name. I have an IPPP for BIBS, or something like that. I don't understand how these work, and didn't want to chance deleting it and breaking something else.

Know anything about this?
Offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 10:10 AM   #17
juwaack68
iPhone Convert
 
juwaack68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tulip City - MI
Model: iP5
OS: 6.0.2
PIN: to beans
Carrier: I'm not
Posts: 13,877
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfinn
I cannot get Google Local to work for my 7105t. I'm getting a "Network Unavailable" error, even though all of my other data services are working properly.

I checked the FAQ and it indicates: (I added the underline).

stealthx32's post indicates that he was able to delete the Service Book and re-register the phone, but I don't have a service book of theat exact name. I have an IPPP for BIBS, or something like that. I don't understand how these work, and didn't want to chance deleting it and breaking something else.

Know anything about this?
Google Local Mobile works fine on my 7100i from Nextel......
Offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 12:31 PM   #18
GrahamBlack
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Model: 7100v
Posts: 12
Default

He there,

I have down loaded google local and everything went fine, bu5t as soon as I try to use the program a network unavalible message comes up

I hve a 7100v
with a 4.0.2.x operating system
and a vodafone data plan.

any ideas

cheers

GrahamBlack
Offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 03:54 PM   #19
ZBB
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 8100
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfinn
I cannot get Google Local to work for my 7105t. I'm getting a "Network Unavailable" error, even though all of my other data services are working properly.
I am also getting this error on my 7100g (Cingular). Cingular is a supported provider. I tried hard re-booting, and no luck.

Anyone else know what's going on?
Offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 01:23 AM   #20
roccitman
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
roccitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: oregon
Model: 7100t
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 162
Default

I deleted the email setup [something] service book and followed the other instructions that someone found in the FAQs, now it works.
7100t
tmobile
oregon

-roccit

Last edited by roccitman; 01-20-2006 at 01:30 AM..
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Hewlett Packard/Agilent 66102A 0-20V 7.5A DC Power Module for 66000A Mainframe
$99.99
Hewlett Packard/Agilent 66102A 0-20V 7.5A DC Power Module for 66000A Mainframe pictureAgilent Infiniium DCA 86100A mainframe. Working, clean, very good condition
$1279.0
Agilent Infiniium DCA 86100A mainframe. Working, clean, very good condition pictureNational Instruments NI PXI-1045 Chassis / 18-Slot 3U PXI Mainframe
$129.99
National Instruments NI PXI-1045 Chassis / 18-Slot 3U PXI Mainframe pictureHP 54120B digitizing oscilloscope mainframe service manual 4311 K
$39.98
HP 54120B digitizing oscilloscope mainframe service manual 4311 K pictureJDSU MTS8000E V2 Mainframe
$5700.0
JDSU MTS8000E V2 Mainframe picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.