BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-21-2006, 02:17 AM   #261
tateu
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.247
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 209
Default

Please Login to Remove!

I'm on a Verizon 7250. I upgraded to OS 4.1 and EVDO two weeks ago. My battery life is about half of what it used to be and I can only download at 200kbps. I did a speed test right before I upgraded and I was getting 100k, so EVDO is twice as fast, but still practically useless. Most applications still work, but a few such as BBCorrector and BBWeather no longer do. I get an error about a missing IPPP Service Book entry. I frequently get dropped back to 1X or 1x while browsing the internet through the phone. I live in Los Angeles so I figured that covergage would be pretty strong in most areas here.

My home computer can connect through USB to the phone, but my office computer no longer can. The new drivers and Blackberry desktop are shown as correctly installed (found new device, successfully installed, etc.) but Desktop Manager cannot connect.

The only good thing I have to say, so far, is that voice calls now come through when I am receiving data...It seems to interrupt the data signal during the call and resume it when the call is over.
Offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 04:29 PM   #262
tateu
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Los Angeles, CA USA
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.247
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 209
Default

This is not recommended for everyone to try because deleting your Service Book entries renders your blackberry useless and if, for some reason, they do not get installed when you re-register...well, you probably won't be happy. And with that warning out of the way...

For anyone having problems like me with finding IPPP Service Book entries after the upgrade...I registered on the network again and everything seems to be working. What I did differently this time was to first go to "Options / Service Book" and delete the current entries, then go to "Options / Host Routing Table" and register again. Previously, I had just re-registered without first deleting the old entries and maybe that left corrupt or incorrect data?

Also, I then had to log into my web client and resend the Service Book (Web Client [CMIME]) before I could send email again.
Offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 07:45 AM   #263
thornomad
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: 7510
Carrier: Verizon/Sprint
Posts: 13
Default

I might have missed this but: does EVDO cost extra (more than your blackberry data plan) on Verizon ?

Thanks.
Offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 08:45 AM   #264
Bunker
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Middle of Nowhere, USA
Model: 7290
Posts: 85
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thornomad
I might have missed this but: does EVDO cost extra (more than your blackberry data plan) on Verizon ?

Thanks.
Yes. You need a data plan to use it as a IP Modem.

Verizon has plans that make it cheaper than owning a BlackBerry and a PCMCIA Wirelss Card such as the Sierra Wireless ones we were using so that is great. I have a few users using it here and a few signed up in Australia as well (Telstra has a CDMA network that supports it as well).

Bunker
Offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 09:04 AM   #265
thornomad
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: 7510
Carrier: Verizon/Sprint
Posts: 13
Default

Interesting. It seems nice to be able to improve the data speed of the blackberry but, if I wasn't going to use it to get wireless internet on my laptop, seems like a fairly expensive rate hike just to download stuff faster on my little handheld. Must be for more powerful/business users.

D
Offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 10:06 AM   #266
aristobrat
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Model: 7130e
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 444
Default

If you buy the 7130e, it works at EVDO speeds with no additional cost (unless you plan to use it as a modem). Wonder why the 7250 would be any different?
Offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 10:14 AM   #267
tomryan
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Model: 8300
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aristobrat
If you buy the 7130e, it works at EVDO speeds with no additional cost (unless you plan to use it as a modem). Wonder why the 7250 would be any different?
Its not.. its the same cost.. Its only additional money to tether and I know several people (not myself) that have tethered with evdo speeds without paying additional $$..
Offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 07:34 PM   #268
axxxezzor
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: 7250
Posts: 1
Default EVDO 7250 vs 7130e / Roaming Indicator

I was able to do the 7250 evdo conversion without a problem... I had to go through 3 tech support levels and finally got the right person. Basically you can install the new hand held software and desktop and your EVDO without a or call, but as the tech put it "That would be unsupported!"

The funny thing is, I enter my business BB number in the smithmicro site to download and it is rejected, even for the normal update... So VZW has to give me a dummy phone# to access.

For business users it is a free upgrade. You have to just keep proving to each tech that yes the evdo upgrade web page is for real then each of them finally take a look and move you along to the next level... The 7130e comes out of the box with the evdo but to tether it is $15 more even fore the business user last time I checked, go figure...

The one thing that is strange after the conversion to EVDO; the roaming indicator is always on solid not blinking...
Offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 03:33 PM   #269
pjdrsd
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: TX
Model: 8703e
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 69
Default

I have not seen anyone else mention doing so here, but I downloaded the Sprint upgrade to 4.0.2xx, from 4.0.0.2, on my 7250. I first had to load the 4.1 desktop, then installed the upgrade. The reception signal went from an "LX" to a "1X" but I also lost all connection to the BES and spent a day and half basically tearing it down to get it back to where it was. Needless to say, I was not ever really able to test any speed or see if there was a difference, but now I am back to 4.0.0.2 and will wait for an "official" update from Sprint. Just thought I'd share that with any Sprint folks out there who get curious. If any other Sprint folks have had any luck, I'd be interested to know how it worked.
Offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 04:01 PM   #270
markhutchison
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Model: 8330
Carrier: Bell Mobility
Posts: 1,050
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by pjdrsd
... I am back to 4.0.0.2 and will wait for an "official" update from Sprint. ...
OS 4.0.2.41 is available from the Sprint download site. I briefly had it loaded onto my Bell Mobility 7250 and had no ill effects; although, I am not on a BES and outside of EvDO coverage areas and so cannot comment on those aspects.
Offline  
Old 01-29-2006, 10:59 AM   #271
roofus
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: West of Ottawa, Canada
Model: PassP
OS: 10
Carrier: Bell
Posts: 1,069
Default

So even if someone has a CDMA BB and work in RIM'S head office - they don't have EV-DO?

Last edited by roofus; 01-29-2006 at 11:11 AM..
Offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 03:13 PM   #272
BVI Beach Bum
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Model: 8300
Carrier: AT&T & Verizon (soon cxl)
Posts: 50
Default 7250 or 7130

I am about to get one of these phones. I prefer the 7250, but do not want to buy one if it is going to be a hastle to get it working right or the EVDO is going to be slower on it than the 7130. Does anyone know if one is faster or more reliable than the other? Does anyone know if the new 7250s are coming with the newer software? Which one should I get???
Offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 08:58 AM   #273
sfischer
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Model: 8700R
Posts: 6
Default

There is evdo coverage in Waterloo.
Offline  
Old 02-15-2006, 07:47 PM   #274
mjb1206
Registered User
 
mjb1206's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Pinecrest, Florida
Model: 7250
Posts: 37
Default

BVI Beach Bum,

Hey There, and let me start by saying I recently became a Blackberry user and I am really enjoying this device.

I currently have a 7250 with Verizon. The first thing I did was download the newest software into it, so I would be able to have the High Speed Service (EVDO). I will tell you one thing, Iím no computer guru, but I was able to install and set up my Blackberry, with help from reading several of the posts here on this forum. My Blackberry has been work perfect (Knocking On Wood As I Type) and Iím extremely happy with it.

I was at the Verizon store last Saturday and a good friend of mine purchased a new 7250. It did not have the upgraded software in it, we had to download it, install it, and set everything up. And it also, is working perfectly.

Hope my words of encouragement will push you too jumping on board.

Matt
Offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 09:31 AM   #275
thornomad
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: 7510
Carrier: Verizon/Sprint
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjb1206
I currently have a 7250 with Verizon. The first thing I did was download the newest software into it, so I would be able to have the High Speed Service (EVDO).
There is no extra charge for this, right ? And, do you notice a definite increase in speed ?

I am thinking of switching to Verizon as soon as I hear a little more about what will become of the legal stuff -- and, I would really like to see a 8700 model before I buy a new phone.
Offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 09:59 AM   #276
tomryan
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Model: 8300
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thornomad
There is no extra charge for this, right ? And, do you notice a definite increase in speed ?

I am thinking of switching to Verizon as soon as I hear a little more about what will become of the legal stuff -- and, I would really like to see a 8700 model before I buy a new phone.
I am hearing this summer for a CDMA 8700 from Verizon
Offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 01:42 PM   #277
jastclark
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
jastclark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Model: 9850
OS: 7.1
PIN: options>status
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 64
Default Blackberry 7250 with EVDO

I can tell everyone for fact that the Verizon 7250 will have EVDO and will function as a tethered device because I have one and am using it. I didn't read all the posts but I do have a link for anyone to use to download the new client the link is http://vzw.smithmicro.com/blackberry/vzw402 and the only thing you have to do after installing this client is call tech support and make sure they enable your device for evdo service and bam! you have a much faster blackberry.
Offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 04:26 PM   #278
craigw9292
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: 9530
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 89
Default

don't forget to have VZW add the tethering support to your account if you want to use it like that otherwise you are going to get billed

I agree with jastclark - works great!
Offline  
Old 02-19-2006, 06:20 PM   #279
BVI Beach Bum
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Model: 8300
Carrier: AT&T & Verizon (soon cxl)
Posts: 50
Default

Questions for all of you guys with the EVDO 7250- I went to my local Verizon store today to make my final decision between the 7250 & the 7130 and was told by a salesperson that even though it can be done, getting EVDO on the 7250 that is, I would not be gaining any speed on the 7250 with EVDO over the 1X because it only has 32 Megs of ram and EVDO is a memory hog and the 32 megs just isn't enough. He said that you really will get EVDO proper speeds only with the 7130. I would really like to get the 7250, but I really want to have EVDO speeds. What are you guys seeing on your 7250's, is the speed any better than 1X? Will the speed be comparable to the 7130? Please help I want to make my decision quickly!
Offline  
Old 02-20-2006, 12:43 PM   #280
Hoppyjr
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Hoppyjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Model: 9700
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 20
Default

Beach Bum,

I have a 7250 that I did the Ev-Do upgrade on, in addition to having a 7130. While I have not "measured" the speeds, I can tell you that I find little or no difference between the two. The VZW salesperson doesn't seem to know his own products, as this seems like saying that your PC will run faster if it has a 200mb hard-drive, as opposed to having a 80mb drive - that is just storage and has no bearing on speed.

That all said, I have used both and, while I didn't mind the "sure-type" technology, I do a LOT of e-mailing and I prefer the full keyboard of my 7250. The 7130 definately has a nicer screen and the speakerphone is real nice too, but I use a v3c Razr as my phone and I only use the BB as my data device.

Either way, both of these devices are very good -

Hoppy
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

1pcs new SMC solenoid valve VQ1110-5LB
$93.0
1pcs new SMC solenoid valve VQ1110-5LB picture1pcs new SMC solenoid valve VQZ232-5L1-C4-F
$102.0
1pcs new SMC solenoid valve VQZ232-5L1-C4-F picture1PC NEW SMC V114-5LZB-M5 Miniature solenoid valve
$81.88
1PC NEW SMC V114-5LZB-M5 Miniature solenoid valve picture1PC NEW TOKIMEC Solenoid valve DG4V-5-7BL-M-P712
$479.88
1PC NEW TOKIMEC Solenoid valve DG4V-5-7BL-M-P712 picture1pcs new SMC solenoid valve SY7240-5LOZ
$102.0
1pcs new SMC solenoid valve SY7240-5LOZ picture






Copyright © 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM © and BlackBerry © are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.