BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-15-2005, 10:28 PM   #121
p_dizzo
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
p_dizzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: West Coast
Model: 8830
Carrier: BM
Posts: 161
Default

Please Login to Remove!

well, it's been announced that ev-do is here in western canada from bell as of today, haven't tested out the ev-do lineup models as quoted by bell yet, but the telus software isn't doing anything for me. i'll keep y'all posted on how the sanyo 8300 turns out with ev-do, and i'm guessing we're more then likely going to need 4.1 before the 7250 becomes useful on ev-do.
Offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 07:18 AM   #122
evandt
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
evandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Model: 9900
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 103
Default

I'm starting to seriously doubt that the 7250 will ever get it. I think it would already be confirmed for release or at least documented, but every time we real anything from an official source, be it verizon or rim, there is no mention whatsoever of ev-do for our phone. oh well, better luck next time
Offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 09:42 AM   #123
bperkins
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
bperkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NC
Model: 9000
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 444
Default

The 7250 will receive EVDO (http://bradperkins.typepad.com/7250_EVDO.jpg) probably shortly after they release the 7130e which will also have it....http://tinypic.com/faa9l4.jpg
__________________
Brad
PERK
Offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 09:48 AM   #124
KonTiki
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
KonTiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NJ, USA
Model: 9650
OS: 6.0.0.524
PIN: 007
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 2,762
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bperkins
The 7250 will receive EVDO (http://bradperkins.typepad.com/7250_EVDO.jpg) probably shortly after they release the 7130e which will also have it....http://tinypic.com/faa9l4.jpg
The fact that a device is compatible does not mean that the carrier will activate it. Specially when they have a few other newer devices that are coming off the assembly line with it. It is all a matter of econimics and profits. Why would I activate your feature on the old phone that I cannot make any more money on when I can sell you a new one that will have it. Regardless of the fact that when they activate it they will still charge you more for the service.

In simple terms:

Old device + New EVDO service charge = XXX.XX
New Device + New EVDO Service Charge = 2(XXX.XX)

So my friends wait for the 7130e or the 8700 before you see EVDO.
__________________
BB Tour 9650


Running OS 6.0.0.524
Offline  
Old 11-16-2005, 08:12 PM   #125
DaveMode
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Model: 7520
Carrier: Nextel
Posts: 24
Default

<deleted my post>

Last edited by DaveMode; 11-16-2005 at 08:18 PM..
Offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 10:55 PM   #126
Ominx
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Ominx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NJ
Model: 8130
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 241
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jlopatin
I am using the Telus 4.02 software.

This version gives a data connection refused message as soon as it tries to connect to the EVDO network.

Some people did not get this issue. I live in downtown Chicago. Perhaps it ison for testing here or something. According to the Verizon wireless data techs that I spoke to, blackberry EVDO is still in internal testing only.

The secret is how I got past that. And you're right I don't want to hang. so, enough questions. (although I just gave you a TON of hints...)
-j
I'm guessing you don't want to share how you get past this "data connection refused message"?

I'm really loving the 4.02 software, but would love it a little more if I can get evdo. Want to give any more hints?
Offline  
Old 11-19-2005, 09:23 AM   #127
wags
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Model: 7250
Posts: 1
Default

7130 will be released on monday!
Offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 07:24 AM   #128
tomryan
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Model: 8300
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 152
Default 7130e software is on verizon's site / no update to 7250

the 7130e's 4.1 software is now on verizon's site.. lets hope we soon get an update for the 7250.
Offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 11:21 AM   #129
Sivicfied
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Philadelphia
Model: None
Carrier: AT&T/VERIZON
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wags
7130 will be released on monday!

Yes it is and I am getting mine by Wed. With the discounts they are offering with the bundled min/data plan we are getting it for less then $75 (which includes corporate discounts) and tethering is another $15. How ever I will try without the option and see what happens.
Offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 04:34 PM   #130
ddemarco1
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Model: 8830
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 7
Default 4.1

So the question is can you load the 7130e V. 4.1, on the 7250?
Offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 05:24 PM   #131
jlopatin
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Model: 9530
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ddemarco1
So the question is can you load the 7130e V. 4.1, on the 7250?
not a chance.
Offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 09:10 PM   #132
k0an
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Model: 7250
Posts: 6
Default first post...

Hi Everyone, first post on this forum.

I got my 7250 from Sprint in September and I'm a huge fan. The sales guy who sold it to me messed up and put SMS and Voice Command on there even though I never agreed. So I called him today and he got the charges reversed. Then he told me he was forced to upgrade my $10/month data plan to $15/month because he said my phone is EVDO.

That is what brought me to the forums to research this.

Anyways, I just downloaded OS 4.02 from Sprint's site.

Can someone tell me how to get on EVDO? One thing is that I live on the outskirts of the Bay Area (California) so I might not be in the EVDO area. I do go to San Francisco for work at least once a week so I figure I will be going through the EVDO network at least at some point.
Offline  
Old 11-21-2005, 11:33 PM   #133
KonTiki
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
KonTiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NJ, USA
Model: 9650
OS: 6.0.0.524
PIN: 007
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 2,762
Default

Verizon Just released the EVDO upgrade software and I installed it. How sweet it is IXEV. You have to prior to installing it call Verizon and have them activate the broadband access connect on your plan otherwise the upgrade will not work. Verizon tech I spoke to did not know anything about what I was talking about but I managed to have her kick me up the ladder until someone helped me but I had to insist a greadt deal. Bottom line it is here it is sweet and it flies.
__________________
BB Tour 9650


Running OS 6.0.0.524
Offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 12:03 AM   #134
tobenning
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Model: 8330
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KonTiki
Verizon Just released the EVDO upgrade software and I installed it. How sweet it is IXEV. You have to prior to installing it call Verizon and have them activate the broadband access connect on your plan otherwise the upgrade will not work. Verizon tech I spoke to did not know anything about what I was talking about but I managed to have her kick me up the ladder until someone helped me but I had to insist a greadt deal. Bottom line it is here it is sweet and it flies.
Any chance there is a link to the software?

Thanks
Offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 12:13 AM   #135
KonTiki
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
KonTiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NJ, USA
Model: 9650
OS: 6.0.0.524
PIN: 007
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 2,762
Default

Here is the link notice you have to add the broadband access connect through verizon first before you can add the upgrade.

http://vzw.smithmicro.com/blackberry/vzw402
__________________
BB Tour 9650


Running OS 6.0.0.524
Offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 07:55 AM   #136
jlopatin
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Model: 9530
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KonTiki
Verizon Just released the EVDO upgrade software and I installed it. How sweet it is IXEV. You have to prior to installing it call Verizon and have them activate the broadband access connect on your plan otherwise the upgrade will not work. Verizon tech I spoke to did not know anything about what I was talking about but I managed to have her kick me up the ladder until someone helped me but I had to insist a greadt deal. Bottom line it is here it is sweet and it flies.

you figured out what i did!!!

i just convinced them to do it a few weeks early!
Offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 08:19 AM   #137
animlmed
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 7130e
Carrier: none
Posts: 141
Default

Uh, has anyone tried to do this without adding the upgraded Broadband access to their account? Will it leave the BB in a non working state?
Offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 08:58 AM   #138
KonTiki
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
KonTiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NJ, USA
Model: 9650
OS: 6.0.0.524
PIN: 007
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 2,762
Default

Tech support has to intervene to fix it right now you should be getting an error that says unable to connect.
__________________
BB Tour 9650


Running OS 6.0.0.524
Offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 09:09 AM   #139
stonent
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
stonent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Model: 8220
PIN: FFFFFFFF
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,734
Default

What did they charge you for adding broadband access to the account?
__________________
Stonent

Prior: BES: 7510, 7520, 7290, 7230, 7130, 8220 (No Data Plan), Droid Eris
Post your question on the forum, don't PM me.
Offline  
Old 11-22-2005, 09:14 AM   #140
supermanfan
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Model: 8703e
Carrier: Sprint PCS
Posts: 97
Default

Help me understand this. Is "Broadband Access Connect" intended for tethering? Do I have to add this feature to get EVDO on the 7250? Do I have to pay more monthly for this feature?

I am starting to get the idea that Verizon assumes that you would only use EVDO on a 7250 for tethering, therefore they are forcing you into adding this feature to you plan.

Please clarify....

(EDIT)

Never mind, saw this posting on another thread..

I am on the phone with VZW as I type and he has confirmed the EVDO firmware upgrade. You are not able to tether with this feature but it does enhance the browsing capabilities of the handheld along with the other features identified in the link above. There is no cost to add the BroadbandAccess Connect to your plan and it is NOT only for B2B customers. I'm getting set up now and will update in a moment with the outcome.

I'm excited like a kid on christmas...
__________________
BlackBerry 7250
Verizon Wireless

PIN: 30061279

Last edited by supermanfan; 11-22-2005 at 09:19 AM..
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

20Pcs TL082CP TI DIP8 IC Jfet-input Operational Amplifiers IJ
$1.53
20Pcs TL082CP TI DIP8 IC Jfet-input Operational Amplifiers IJ pictureLM6181AIN [LM6181] Feedback Amplifier IC
$4.8
LM6181AIN [LM6181] Feedback Amplifier IC  pictureZoweetek 10W Voice Amplifier Rechargeable 1800mAh, Portable Waistband Wired H...
$67.93
Zoweetek 10W Voice Amplifier Rechargeable 1800mAh, Portable Waistband Wired H... pictureBOSCH PL6 818 310 017-8V3 / 818 310 017-9V3 AMPLIFIER BOARD
$399.99
BOSCH PL6 818 310 017-8V3 / 818 310 017-9V3 AMPLIFIER BOARD picture433MHz Low Noise, High Gain Amplifier LNA Built-in Limiter, SAW Filter
$59.0
433MHz Low Noise, High Gain Amplifier LNA Built-in Limiter, SAW Filter picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.