BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-15-2007, 10:29 AM   #1
vincentnyc
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Model: 8310
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 681
Default t-mobile 8300 will have wifi!!!

Please Login to Remove!

said my account rep. he said tmobile 8300 will be different from cingular 8300 cuz they have wifi on their 8300. and it will be out this summer.

sweet!!!
Offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 10:39 AM   #2
takeshi
BlackBerry Mensa
 
takeshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Houston
Model: 8310
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 7,741
Default

If it's an 8300 it won't have WiFi. Devices with the same model number are the same. If it has WiFi it's not an 8300 (might be the 8320).
Offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 10:44 AM   #3
paulbblc
Retired BBF Moderator
 
paulbblc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Model: ip 3g
PIN: 8675309
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 3,555
Default

no WIFI on any BB's till probably the end of the year. Your rep is a liar - or has no clue what he's talking about.
Offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 11:02 AM   #4
ultimind
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: 8300
PIN: 2404d3b4
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 12
Default

Who cares if it has WiFi? That's what a laptop is for... My Blackberry is for getting online, e-mail, txt, etc when i'm NOT near WiFi.

Just release it already!!!! Can the O2 8300 be unlocked to work on T-Mob USA?
Offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 11:02 AM   #5
greggebhardt
No longer Registered.
 
greggebhardt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FLorida
Model: 9000!
PIN: NOT!
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 3,762
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vincentnyc View Post
said my account rep. he said tmobile 8300 will be different from cingular 8300 cuz they have wifi on their 8300. and it will be out this summer.

sweet!!!
So you believe what you account rep says?
Offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 11:10 AM   #6
snowskier79
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
snowskier79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Model: Curve
PIN: No thanks, yo tienen una pluma.
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 1,759
Default

Sounds like one persons opinion rather than factual actual data. We shall see if your rep is correct however I strongly agree w/the other members that this rep is not the most informed individual.
Offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 11:16 AM   #7
mymitsu3kgt
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
mymitsu3kgt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: West Warwick, RI
Model: 9780
PIN: 236676A8
Carrier: TMobile
Posts: 1,213
Default

I haven't listened to a rep's information even about current devices in years. Their information is all over the board.
__________________
T-Mobile Bold 9780
PIN: 236676A8
Offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 01:54 PM   #8
Nerd
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: New York City
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.862
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ultimind View Post
Who cares if it has WiFi? That's what a laptop is for... My Blackberry is for getting online, e-mail, txt, etc when i'm NOT near WiFi.
Then why not use a 7290? Are you considering the 8300 simply for its aesthetics?
Offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 02:33 PM   #9
NutritionN
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CO
Model: 8220
Carrier: TMobile
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nerd View Post
Then why not use a 7290? Are you considering the 8300 simply for its aesthetics?
Sorry, this simply doesn't make sense. Are you implying that the only reason to use an 8300 would be for...WiFi? The feature set of the 8300 over the 7290 is obvious beyond connection speeds and aesthetics.

Frankly, I'm having trouble figuring out why WiFi is wanted so badly by users, as well. A BB is already fairly fast for web browsing and email retrieval on EDGE speeds. Unless there is a need for IT personnel that would substantiate WiFi usage, I can't see most business users (myself, included) using the WiFi that much. Personally, I want GPS in the 8300 form factor and media features.

And, I'm sure the data charges on TMobile for WiFi usage on a BB would be upped to $29.95/month instead of the $19.95 rate for regular BB Internet.
Offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 02:55 PM   #10
baccess
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Model: Many
Carrier: Various
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NutritionN View Post
Frankly, I'm having trouble figuring out why WiFi is wanted so badly by users, as well. A BB is already fairly fast for web browsing and email retrieval on EDGE speeds. Unless there is a need for IT personnel that would substantiate WiFi usage, I can't see most business users (myself, included) using the WiFi that much.
Many remote locations (both home and business) don't have GPRS or EDGE signals, but do/can have WiFi through a DSL, T-1 or Sat. (Even Cingular's signal doesn't reach nearly the everywhere that they imply). But you are right in the fact that MOST users probably wouldn't benefit much from WiFI. You certainly can drag your laptop to these locations to get connected.

I have trouble myself understanding that many users have never been outside of a coverage area. They argue that T-mobile, Verizon, Sprint, Cingular, or Alltel, etc. is the "best", when it is coverage in the areas that you need service, that really matters the most.
Offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 10:26 PM   #11
vincentnyc
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Model: 8310
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 681
Default

with wifi...when u travel internationally..u can use skype w/ wifi on ur bb and cut the cost down significantly on phone calls.

i bet some of u didnt think of that...did u?
Offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 10:52 PM   #12
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ultimind View Post
Who cares if it has WiFi? That's what a laptop is for... My Blackberry is for getting online, e-mail, txt, etc when i'm NOT near WiFi.

Just release it already!!!! Can the O2 8300 be unlocked to work on T-Mob USA?
If it is GSM, then you should be able to unlock and use with any GSM carrier.
Offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 10:54 PM   #13
Dubdub
Appleinator
 
Dubdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: New Hampshire
Model: App6+
OS: AJBR549
PIN: Ask
Carrier: ATT & Verizon
Posts: 20,038
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vincentnyc View Post
with wifi...when u travel internationally..u can use skype w/ wifi on ur bb and cut the cost down significantly on phone calls.

i bet some of u didnt think of that...did u?
Don't count on SKPYE on the BB, even with WiFi. You will need a really good connection to have decent voice quality. How many European hot spots are free?
Offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 11:06 PM   #14
vincentnyc
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Model: 8310
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 681
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dubdub View Post
Don't count on SKPYE on the BB, even with WiFi. You will need a really good connection to have decent voice quality. How many European hot spots are free?
u be surprise how many wifi spot are unsecured in nyc and in europe.
Offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 05:52 AM   #15
secrecyguy
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
secrecyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Southern California, USA
Model: 8100
Carrier: T-mobile
Posts: 1,238
Default

Any WiFi Internet connection is unsecured. Even if it says secured. People with special software install on their laptop can still un-encrypt the data and can "see" what you sending or receiving.

So if you going to use WiFi Internet connection to make payments, do NOT do it.

If I have to do it, I will either tether to my Blackberry 8100 or connect my laptop directly into the DSL cable.
__________________
What OS are you using on the smartphone? Please vote! http://www.howardforums.com/showthread.php?t=1437055
Offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 07:28 AM   #16
Sith_Apprentice
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Sith_Apprentice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.xxx
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 10,149
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by secrecyguy View Post
Any WiFi Internet connection is unsecured. Even if it says secured. People with special software install on their laptop can still un-encrypt the data and can "see" what you sending or receiving.

So if you going to use WiFi Internet connection to make payments, do NOT do it.

If I have to do it, I will either tether to my Blackberry 8100 or connect my laptop directly into the DSL cable.
I agree with you on this one. Having wi-fi enabled and connected really limits the security of the device. Not only can they see what you are sending and recieving, but it is possible to find the MAC ID of your blackberry that way, as well as do other nasty things. Be careful when sending ANY sensative information over a wireless network.
Offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 10:51 AM   #17
takeshi
BlackBerry Mensa
 
takeshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Houston
Model: 8310
Carrier: at&t
Posts: 7,741
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ultimind View Post
Can the O2 8300 be unlocked to work on T-Mob USA?
You don't unlock "to" a carrier. You unlock to alloow the use of any other carrier's SIM. In short, yes -- read Archer6's review (he's not an O2 customer).

Last edited by takeshi; 05-16-2007 at 10:52 AM..
Offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 11:17 AM   #18
hookem12387
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Austin, Tx
Model: 9000
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 159
Default

Isnt there already a skype client through IM+? And plenty of hotspots in euro are free. Just like in the US, random bistros and coffee shops have free wifi
Offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 01:40 PM   #19
cgutta
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Model: 8700g
Carrier: tmo
Posts: 2
Default some people are so uptight...

Quote:
no WIFI on any BB's till probably the end of the year. Your rep is a liar - or has no clue what he's talking about.
uhh so harsh...what about the newly announced 8120 going to tmo, wifi Pearl

Quote:
If it's an 8300 it won't have WiFi. Devices with the same model number are the same. If it has WiFi it's not an 8300 (might be the 8320).
"might be the 8320" - so smug...a tmo 8300 to me is just a shorter way to say 8320
Offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 02:03 PM   #20
paulbblc
Retired BBF Moderator
 
paulbblc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Model: ip 3g
PIN: 8675309
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 3,555
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cgutta View Post
uhh so harsh...what about the newly announced 8120 going to tmo, wifi Pearl
What about the 8120? When is it supposed to come out? Oh yeah, towards the end of the year... Isn't that what I said?
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Vintage IBM OEM Parts Lot (1)
$9.99
Vintage IBM OEM Parts Lot (1)  pictureVintage IBM OEM Parts Lot (5) for typewriters +
$9.99
Vintage IBM OEM Parts Lot (5) for typewriters + picture** Vintage IBM OEM Parts Lot - Belts, switches, ground straps, springs, bearings
$9.99
** Vintage IBM OEM Parts Lot - Belts, switches, ground straps, springs, bearings pictureVintage IBM OEM Parts Lot (4)
$9.9
Vintage IBM OEM Parts Lot (4) pictureVintage IBM OEM Parts Lot (2)
$4.99
Vintage IBM OEM Parts Lot (2)  picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.