BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-09-2007, 03:38 PM   #1
chriswight
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
chriswight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver
Model: N/A
PIN: N/A
Carrier: N/A
Posts: 22
Default Per-connection data limit?

Please Login to Remove!

Hi, anyone seen this error? One of our helpdesk guys recently got a case for a user who is accessing Clarify through Citrix on the Blackberry. He's getting this error:

"This error can occur because there is a setting on the BlackBerry Enterprise Server that limits the amount of data that is allowed to be transmitted to and from your BlackBerry smartphone during a single connection.

To prevent this from happening, contact the administrator of your BlackBerry Enterprise Server and request that your per-connection data limit be raised to the maximum allowed."

Any advice would be appreciated. I'm on hold for RIM support (going on 40 minutes now), but not sure they'll come up with anything.

Thanks,

Chris Wight
BES Admin, 2,805 BB users
Offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 04:11 PM   #2
merlin
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Yorkshire, England
Model: 8800
PIN: 2059E07F
Carrier: O2 UK
Posts: 114
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriswight View Post
Hi, anyone seen this error? One of our helpdesk guys recently got a case for a user who is accessing Clarify through Citrix on the Blackberry. He's getting this error:
Hi.
Yes, its a setting in BES. I will have a look for it now and post it in a moment...Presuming that your user is using Idokorro Citrix app, there is a reference somewhere on their support site to this problem/how to fix it

M
Offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 04:16 PM   #3
merlin
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Yorkshire, England
Model: 8800
PIN: 2059E07F
Carrier: O2 UK
Posts: 114
Default

From Idokorro:
Quote:
Error message: "You have reached the maximum amount of data which can be transferred by this BlackBerry device over a single connection. If you are using a BES please contact your BES administrator to increase this limit."

This error can occur because there is a setting on the BlackBerry Enterprise Server that limits the amount of data that is allowed to be transmitted to and from your BlackBerry smartphone during a single connection.

To prevent this from happening, contact the administrator of your BlackBerry Enterprise Server and request that your per-connection data limit be raised to the maximum allowed.
How to fix:
Quote:
This limit is set in the properties of your MDS Connection Service. If you select your MDS Connection Service in Explorer View and then click on Edit Properties you will find a setting named "Maximum KB/Connection" in the General section under the heading called Flow Control. This is the setting that causes that data limit. The maximum value that the BES will allow you to set this is 1024.
FYI, I have mine set to 1024 on all our BES servers and have now get no issues with Remote Desktop or Citrix!

Merlin
Offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 04:31 PM   #4
mackmcc
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Default

Wirelessly posted (blackberry 7250: BlackBerry7250/4.0.2 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1)

I'm getting an out of memory error. Please tell me how to dump unwanted memory.no computer knowlege. Computer stupid.
Offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 04:37 PM   #5
chriswight
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
chriswight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver
Model: N/A
PIN: N/A
Carrier: N/A
Posts: 22
Default

Thanks, Idokorro. In case anybody is interested, here is the official RIM KB:

KB10264
__________________
Chris Wight
BES Admin: 3,300 bb users and counting
Offline  
Old 07-10-2007, 10:42 AM   #6
pauldumais
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ottawa
Model: 9000
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 145
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mackmcc View Post
Wirelessly posted (blackberry 7250: BlackBerry7250/4.0.2 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1)

I'm getting an out of memory error. Please tell me how to dump unwanted memory.no computer knowlege. Computer stupid.
Since in your post it says you are using a 7250, unfortunately that device only has 32MB of memory and thus provides very little memory to 3rd party applications, we recommend using our products on a device with 64 MB of memory.
Offline  
Old 09-23-2007, 05:14 PM   #7
jameswatson
New Member
 
jameswatson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Houston
Model: 8700c
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 7
Default

I have a bb and I am the BES admin. I have tried the change s you suggest on the BES. I restarted the BES server and I still get that error "You have reached the maximum amount of data which can be transferred by this BlackBerry smartphone over a single connection. If you are using a BES please contact your BES administrator to increase this limit." on my BlackBerry when using Rove Mobile Desktop. Anything else I need to do?
Offline  
Old 09-24-2007, 07:27 AM   #8
pauldumais
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Ottawa
Model: 9000
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 145
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jameswatson View Post
I have a bb and I am the BES admin. I have tried the change s you suggest on the BES. I restarted the BES server and I still get that error "You have reached the maximum amount of data which can be transferred by this BlackBerry smartphone over a single connection. If you are using a BES please contact your BES administrator to increase this limit." on my BlackBerry when using Rove Mobile Desktop. Anything else I need to do?
The maximum you can set the value to on the BES as of today is 1024, which is 1 MB. Hopefully RIM will increase this limit or completely remove it in future versions. In order to minimize the amount of data that is transmitted you can try reducing the desktop size. Another option is to use the VNC protocol as it will automatically reconnect when you hit that limit.
Offline  
Old 02-21-2008, 11:36 AM   #9
CO_BBTechie
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
CO_BBTechie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Denver
Model: 8310
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 2,044
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriswight View Post
Thanks, Idokorro. In case anybody is interested, here is the official RIM KB:

KB10264
I was very interested. One of my IT guys experienced this problem recently and and this pointed me right to the solution. SEARCH WORKS!!

Thanks!
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

VINTAGE APPLE LITE VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD CARD 820-0522-A
$75.0
VINTAGE APPLE LITE VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD CARD 820-0522-A   pictureVINTAGE APPLE LITE VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD CARD 820-0522-A
$40.8
VINTAGE APPLE LITE VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD CARD 820-0522-A pictureAPPLE 630-0895-B VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD CARD VINTAGE
$109.99
APPLE 630-0895-B  VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD CARD VINTAGE pictureAPPLE 820-0522-A 630-0895-B LITE VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD >
$299.99
APPLE 820-0522-A 630-0895-B LITE VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD > picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.