BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-11-2006, 08:38 PM   #1
richever
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Model: 7290
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 53
Default Building without JDE...

Please Login to Remove!

Has anyone been able to build a project with a custom screen icon, auto-run library etc. from outside JDE? And, if so, can you provide pointers?

Thanks!

Richard
Offline  
Old 01-11-2006, 11:06 PM   #2
sacramentojoe
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Model: 7230
Posts: 30
Default

I personally haven't done it but if you google for a build script I know they are out there. I've found them before but decided it would be easier & faster just to use the JDE.
Good luck.

The ones I saw were using Ant and had a build.xml file.
Offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 08:46 AM   #3
eradis
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Model: 8700r
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 221
Default

I did it quite some time ago. Using eclipse and ant I managed to mimic the RIM JDE building environment.

I suggest creating a simple RIM JDE project (that does everything you want to mimic) and then go 'Build'->'Generate Makefile and Resources'. The other thing if I remember correctly is to look at the JAD file - it defines the auto-run part.
Offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 12:56 PM   #4
richever
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Model: 7290
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 53
Default

Do you recall what property in a JAD file marks a project as auto-run? Thanks!

Richard
Offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 07:00 AM   #5
Taras1
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: -
Posts: 13
Default

Check this ant task: http://www.etaras.com/blackberry/rapc/ . This may be what you are searching for.
Offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 03:40 PM   #6
richever
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Model: 7290
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 53
Default

Thanks for the reply, taras1. I appreciate the help but I can't take any more time on trying to duplicate RIM's build process. So, I'm just going to drink the cool-ade and go with JDE and their .mak files, which require nmake. Ick! Hopefully, I'll be able to wrap the calls to these files in an ant build script so we can integrate this project - at least somewhat - into our build process.

Rich
Offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 04:41 PM   #7
lorennorman
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: 7520
Posts: 22
Default

Ant is pretty awesome for this, if you already know how to use ant and are making midlets, one step further to make cods is not bad. Soon as i get signing worked i'll be integrating code signing into the build process (so many steps!), but its very nice to have everything parameterized and ready to roll all the time, as it sounds like you already know. If anyone wants my build script, i'd post it happily, might give you a boost!
Offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 04:49 PM   #8
richever
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Model: 7290
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 53
Default

lorennorman, I'd be interested in seeing your build script. I was using Antenna, which contains a rapc task, previously and I seemed unable to do the following:

- Get app's home screen icon display. Kept getting the default icon no matter what I did.
- Set an alternate entry point. (Can this done without the .jdp file?)
- Mark an application as auto run. (Can this done without the .jdp file?)

I tried figuring out what need to be done to the .rapc and .jad files but no matter what I did I could not get the home screen icon to display. I didn't even attempt the alternate entry point and auto run features.

If I have time later I'd still like to get automate building etc. with ant so if you know what I may be missing then please let me know.

Rich
Offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 03:10 AM   #9
Taras1
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: -
Posts: 13
Default

Rich, you don't need to use Antenna for performing tasks which are specific to BlackBerry projects.
All of what you have mentioned is possible with the help of RAPC ant task.

As a first step define a task in your build.xml:
Code:
	<taskdef name="rapc" classname="com.etaras.anttask.rapc.RAPC" 
		classpath="anttask-rapc-1.1.jar"/>
Quote:
Originally Posted by richever
- Get app's home screen icon display. Kept getting the default icon no matter what I did.
Use icons element to define an icon to be used:
Code:
<rapc ...> <!-- RAPC task definition -->
	<workspace...> <!-- Workspace definition -->
		<cldc src="Project.jdp" ...> <!-- Project definition -->
			...
				<icons dir=".">
					<include name="resource/**/*.png" />
				</icons>
			...
		</cldc>
	</workspace>
</rapc>
Quote:
Originally Posted by richever
- Set an alternate entry point. (Can this done without the .jdp file?)
1. With .jdp file:
Code:
<rapc ...> <!-- RAPC task definition -->
	<workspace...> <!-- Workspace definition -->
		<cldc src="Project.jdp" ...> <!-- Project definition -->
			...
		</cldc>
		<cldcentrypoint src="Project_EntryPoint.jdp"/>
	</workspace>
</rapc>
2. Without of .jdp file (Project_EntryPoint_.jdp doesn't exist):
Code:
<rapc ...> <!-- RAPC task definition -->
	<workspace...> <!-- Workspace definition -->
		<cldc src="Project.jdp" ...> <!-- Project definition -->
			...
		</cldc>
		<cldcentrypoint src="Project_EntryPoint_.jdp"
			title="Alternative entry point for Project"
			project="Project"
			arguments="autostart"
			systemmodule="true"
			runonstartup="true"
			startuptier="7"
			options="-quiet"
			update="true"
			build="true" 
		/>
	</workspace>
</rapc>

Quote:
Originally Posted by richever
- Mark an application as auto run. (Can this done without the .jdp file?)
Sure. Use parameter: runonstartup. See example above. Can be done both with and without of .jdp file.

I think with your requirements you should look closer at http://www.etaras.com/blackberry/rapc/.

Taras.
Offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 12:55 PM   #10
richever
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Model: 7290
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 53
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taras1
I think with your requirements you should look closer at http://www.etaras.com/blackberry/rapc/.
Taras.
Yes, and I will! This is just what I've been looking for. When I have a chance I'll give this a closer look!

Thanks!

Rich
Offline  
Closed Thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


NETWORK INSTRUMENT GIGASTOR- 2U (2X) XEON E5-2630- 64 GB PC3 RAM picture

NETWORK INSTRUMENT GIGASTOR- 2U (2X) XEON E5-2630- 64 GB PC3 RAM

$356.99



Fanuc S-RAM Memory Module A20B-3900-0061/02B picture

Fanuc S-RAM Memory Module A20B-3900-0061/02B

$99.95



Fanuc S-RAM Memory Module A20B-3900-0284/01A *New No Box* picture

Fanuc S-RAM Memory Module A20B-3900-0284/01A *New No Box*

$154.95



Single-acting Hollow Ram Cylinder (20tons - 4

Single-acting Hollow Ram Cylinder (20tons - 4") (YG-20100K)

$169.00



Make Offer Oem Caterpillar 2613222 Mount Ram picture

Make Offer Oem Caterpillar 2613222 Mount Ram

$75.00







Copyright © 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM © and BlackBerry © are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.