BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-05-2008, 02:19 AM   #1
Tom
Admin & Founder
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kitchener-Waterloo, On, Canada
Model: 9800
OS: 3.1415926
PIN: UnDisclosed
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 5,268
Default "Activation Required" how to remove?

Please Login to Remove!

Has anyone figured out a way to remove the "Activation Required" header as opposed to network name?

I am tired of looking at it.
Offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 03:28 PM   #2
MJabri
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Model: 9530
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom View Post
Has anyone figured out a way to remove the "Activation Required" header as opposed to network name?

I am tired of looking at it.
I'm having the same issue :(
Offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 03:30 PM   #3
koki
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
koki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: HOLLYWOOD
Model: 9530
OS: .103
Carrier: BIG RED
Posts: 71
Default

did you try *228 then push 1 when prompt.. might do the trick
Offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 03:46 PM   #4
chrisb3
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
chrisb3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Model: 9530
OS: 4.7.0.151
PIN: 3048984C
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 247
Default

Activating the phone usually fixes that. ;)
Offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 03:53 PM   #5
crisambo
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: LAX, NYC, CHI, STL, BOS, PHL
Model: 9780
PIN: Another name for the flagstick, term more commonly used by amateurs
Carrier: TMO, ATT, Nextel, Sprint
Posts: 863
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisb3 View Post
Activating the phone usually fixes that. ;)
either that or turn off Mobile Data-> Data Services . . .

Last edited by crisambo; 12-15-2008 at 03:57 PM..
Offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 07:05 PM   #6
peterjmc
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Model: Many
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile and AT&T
Posts: 45
Default

Anyone with an answer?

I can't activate the line because I'm using the 9530 on T-Mobile. Activation would require me to have Verizon service.
Offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 07:48 PM   #7
pastor_rob
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
pastor_rob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Asheville, NC
Model: 9550
OS: 5.0.0.320
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 63
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterjmc View Post
Anyone with an answer?

I can't activate the line because I'm using the 9530 on T-Mobile. Activation would require me to have Verizon service.

Let me get this right ... you are wondering why a "VERIZON" ONLY phone which the 9530 is ... which is being used by you on a T-Mobile server ... is saying you have to activate on Verizon for complete use????

You have two choices ... you will need to activate on Verizon ... or you can enjoy the "Need to Activate" requirement ... while you use it on T-Mobile.


By the way:

I have the same problem ... I want to have all the channels that DirectTV offers ... but I want to use it on my DISH network satellite ... and I want to pay the $19.95 special price that DISH is offering to DISH subscribers ... while getting all the benefits of DirectTV including the NFL Sunday Ticket from DirectTV. Can anyone help me???

Thanks in advance!!!


Offline  
Old 12-25-2008, 09:30 PM   #8
cybermikey3
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
cybermikey3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: ny
Model: 9530
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 223
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pastor_rob View Post
Let me get this right ... you are wondering why a "VERIZON" ONLY phone which the 9530 is ... which is being used by you on a T-Mobile server ... is saying you have to activate on Verizon for complete use????

You have two choices ... you will need to activate on Verizon ... or you can enjoy the "Need to Activate" requirement ... while you use it on T-Mobile.


By the way:

I have the same problem ... I want to have all the channels that DirectTV offers ... but I want to use it on my DISH network satellite ... and I want to pay the $19.95 special price that DISH is offering to DISH subscribers ... while getting all the benefits of DirectTV including the NFL Sunday Ticket from DirectTV. Can anyone help me???

Thanks in advance!!!


The phone is cdma,gsm....which means it is not VERIZON only if it is unlocked. I use this device on tmobile and do not have this issue, does your browser and all that work? Mine works 100% if yours doesnt I know a link to help you out, if everything is working fine go on mytmobile.com and go to blackberry email set up and put in your pin and imei, should work. Oh and it could be referring to bes, go to advanced options then enterprise activation and make sure all the fields are blank, could be trying to connect to bes, just a thought.

Why are you being so hard on the guy for asking a question? you verizon people are all the same, just cause you got "the network" you guys think your all that....drives me insane. Oh and btw, I used the phone on verizon then cancelled. Their so called 3g is embarrassing because even when my tmobile is on GPRS and not EDGE, the browser works just as fast. hahaha
__________________
My Nismo
Blackberry Storm 9530 ON TMOBILE.

Last edited by cybermikey3; 12-25-2008 at 09:42 PM..
Offline  
Old 12-25-2008, 09:42 PM   #9
TroyDBrown
No longer Registered.
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 9530
OS: 4.7.0.XXX
PIN: G Pong Champ
Carrier: T-Mobile U.S.
Posts: 5,515
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pastor_rob View Post
Let me get this right ... you are wondering why a "VERIZON" ONLY phone which the 9530 is ... which is being used by you on a T-Mobile server ... is saying you have to activate on Verizon for complete use????

You have two choices ... you will need to activate on Verizon ... or you can enjoy the "Need to Activate" requirement ... while you use it on T-Mobile.


By the way:

I have the same problem ... I want to have all the channels that DirectTV offers ... but I want to use it on my DISH network satellite ... and I want to pay the $19.95 special price that DISH is offering to DISH subscribers ... while getting all the benefits of DirectTV including the NFL Sunday Ticket from DirectTV. Can anyone help me???

Thanks in advance!!!


Wow bitter? You pay for a phone and unlock it; it is yours to do what you want with. You are implying theft here and there is none. Take a deep breath and relax.
Offline  
Old 12-25-2008, 09:44 PM   #10
cybermikey3
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
cybermikey3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: ny
Model: 9530
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 223
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TroyDBrown View Post
Wow bitter? You pay for a phone and unlock it; it is yours to do what you want with. You are implying theft here and there is none. Take a deep breath and relax.
Agreed, and I dont think he is implying theft, he is implying that you have to get the "network" or it wont work properly. He needs to learn before he speaks.
__________________
My Nismo
Blackberry Storm 9530 ON TMOBILE.
Offline  
Old 12-25-2008, 10:06 PM   #11
TroyDBrown
No longer Registered.
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 9530
OS: 4.7.0.XXX
PIN: G Pong Champ
Carrier: T-Mobile U.S.
Posts: 5,515
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cybermikey3 View Post
Agreed, and I dont think he is implying theft, he is implying that you have to get the "network" or it wont work properly. He needs to learn before he speaks.
You are correct I miss read that part, no theft. I also have a 9530 on T-Mobile and love it.

FYI I think once the CDK 4.7 comes out theme builders will be able to remove that message.
Offline  
Old 12-25-2008, 10:07 PM   #12
cybermikey3
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
cybermikey3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: ny
Model: 9530
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 223
Default

haha troy are you having that problem to? i am not if anyone here is message me and i will try to help.
__________________
My Nismo
Blackberry Storm 9530 ON TMOBILE.
Offline  
Old 12-25-2008, 10:26 PM   #13
TroyDBrown
No longer Registered.
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 9530
OS: 4.7.0.XXX
PIN: G Pong Champ
Carrier: T-Mobile U.S.
Posts: 5,515
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cybermikey3 View Post
haha troy are you having that problem to? i am not if anyone here is message me and i will try to help.
Mine is working great loving it and no activation message.
Offline  
Old 12-25-2008, 10:48 PM   #14
hudres
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Model: 9530
PIN: n/a
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 331
Lightbulb

Look at the bright side: There is a guy from Germany(on another thread) with an unlocked Verizon phone and using it on Rogers and he has no caller id. Which would you rather have: An annoying message or no caller id? Or you could switch to Verizon.....73
Offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 02:10 PM   #15
Calix
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Calix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: California
Model: Bold
PIN: 20DD0333
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 166
Default

Here is how to fix this issue:

If you are using an unlocked Verizon Storm and have "Activation Required" on your home screen or your phone number displays incorrectly, Dial # # 000000 (Send). In the Menu add your phone number and select save. The device will reboot and activate.
__________________
-Jason

Check out my FREE and Premium custom BB themes: Jason Calhoun.com
Offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 10:44 AM   #16
cscotty
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NJ
Model: 9530
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 175
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Calix View Post
Here is how to fix this issue:

If you are using an unlocked Verizon Storm and have "Activation Required" on your home screen or your phone number displays incorrectly, Dial # # 000000 (Send). In the Menu add your phone number and select save. The device will reboot and activate.
Anyone verified this yet? I am having the same issue, but I would like to know the success rate
__________________
He who knows, and knows not what he knows, knows nothing.
Offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 12:25 PM   #17
xxxmerlinxxx
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
xxxmerlinxxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NJ
Model: 9530
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 64
Default

Yes what Calix said works just fine.
Offline  
Old 01-07-2009, 02:31 PM   #18
cdw5510
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 9530
PIN: N/A
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 131
Default

Fun stuff people. I agree with the poster about if you buy it and want to get rid of it get on VZW. It is like buying a Saab and going to a Mercedes to get it serviced. Just messing with everyone...
Offline  
Old 01-08-2009, 04:24 PM   #19
Biffer314
New Member
 
Biffer314's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Logansport, IN
Model: 9530
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Centennial Wireless
Posts: 3
Default

Calix, you are a GENIOUS! That was driving me nuts! Thanks!!!
Offline  
Old 01-19-2009, 06:06 PM   #20
rumbee1545
New Member
 
rumbee1545's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Anchorage, AK
Model: 9530
PIN: 30509346
Carrier: GCI Wireless
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Calix View Post
Here is how to fix this issue:

If you are using an unlocked Verizon Storm and have "Activation Required" on your home screen or your phone number displays incorrectly, Dial # # 000000 (Send). In the Menu add your phone number and select save. The device will reboot and activate.
I tried this but this whole page of options came up... I don't understand how to "Go to Menu add your phone number" part....

Btw, I bought this global phone on Ebay from a seller who says it's unlocked. I popped in my SIM card and it says Activation Required at the top and it won't even read my SIM card... Is it even unlocked?
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

A Lot Of 3 Apple Charging Adapters Oem . U.S
$12.0
A Lot Of 3 Apple Charging Adapters Oem .  U.S  pictureOEM Apple Mac G5 A1047 System Genuine Back Rear Cooler Fan
$20.0
OEM Apple Mac G5 A1047 System Genuine Back Rear Cooler Fan pictureGenuine Sealed OEM Post-It Gold Apple Pop-Up Note Dispenser for 3 x 3-Inch Notes
$195.59
Genuine Sealed OEM Post-It Gold Apple Pop-Up Note Dispenser for 3 x 3-Inch Notes pictureApple iPhone 11 PRO X XR XS MAX 8/7/6S Lightning USB Data Cable cord iOS 13.3.1
$1.98
Apple iPhone 11 PRO X XR XS MAX 8/7/6S Lightning USB Data Cable cord iOS 13.3.1 picture6 Foot 2M OEM Apple iPhone XS XR X 8/7/6S Long USB Charger Data Cable cord White
$6.5
6 Foot 2M OEM Apple iPhone XS XR X 8/7/6S Long USB Charger Data Cable cord White picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.