BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-16-2010, 03:41 PM   #101
gn2
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Model: 8700c
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 1
Default

Please Login to Remove!

Quote:
Originally Posted by darvish_boy View Post
do with this method :
- turned device radio off (not sure this is necessary )
- start loader.exe and it lists just some add-on plug in ( no device software )
- leave it open AND Start loader.exe Again.
It cant detect pin and say unknown pin.
continue update progress with unknown pin and it list the new software (5.x.x)
then close first loader.exe and push next on second update instance and it updates the device.
now you have 5 OS without any data plan.
(tnx for someone that explain this method before)
BIG thank you for posting this method. It worked PERFECTLY for me, I was able to update the OS in about 4 minutes....superb !
Offline  
Old 06-16-2010, 07:35 PM   #102
f1ipster
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T mobile
Posts: 13
Default

haha that is basically the more refined version of my complicated experimental method
Offline  
Old 06-17-2010, 01:44 PM   #103
smhsn
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Isloo
Model: 8900
OS: Windows 7
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Zong
Posts: 8
Default

hie i did it took almost 10mins but after reboot it has the same OS that is 4.6 nothing changed can anyone tell why is this so???
Offline  
Old 06-17-2010, 03:14 PM   #104
smhsn
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Isloo
Model: 8900
OS: Windows 7
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Zong
Posts: 8
Default

done thnx!!
Offline  
Old 06-23-2010, 12:46 PM   #105
pattupilot
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: May 2010
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Trigcom
Posts: 26
Default

does it work with macbook??

I have an unlocked 8900 with no data plan, after installing the new OS will my phone be locked again??

How do I save all my apps and stuff?? DM?

If I install it wrongly, how do I go back to my previous software without data plan?

thanks in advance!
Offline  
Old 06-30-2010, 03:42 PM   #106
Jack T. Chance
CrackBerry Addict
 
Jack T. Chance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: East Coast, USA
Model: Priv
OS: 5.1.1
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 502
Thumbs down

So, today I finally installed this version, following the directions in the first post.

WHAT A PIECE OF CRAP!!!

Why is it that EVERY time there's an OS update for the BlackBerry I have that's supposed to be SO superior to the version I'm on, when I install it, I have nothing but problems, even though everyone else has had it work flawlessly?!?

Some of the numerous problems I'm having right now:
  • Boot up times are still WAY too long, which is a royal pain, because I've now done at least 2 battery pulls, and numerous software reboots in trying to get it working properly.
  • The LED is blinking red to tell me that there's either a new message, or an update to an app, but I've checked EVERYTHING that indicated there were new messages, cleared the new messages, and the LED is STILL blinking red... and it's not due to a dead battery, either, the battery has plenty of juice.
  • Opera Mini 5.0 won't work now. No matter how many times I go into the app's permissions and tell it to allow everything, it can't connect to the internet.
  • BlackBerry App World has vanished. It shows up on my Applications list so I can access the permissions, but the icon is NOWHERE, so I can't launch the program.
  • Ring tones are MUCH too quiet on this new version.
  • My Bluetooth was working fine, but after my latest reboot, my BlackBerry HS-500 can't connect fully. When I turn it on, I get the first confirmation beep, but now I don't get the second and the headset doesn't connect to the BlackBerry.
It's taking all the self-control I have to keep from chucking my BlackBerry into a brick wall. What the hell is going on with this OS? Anyone have any of the same issues when they installed it on their 8900 on T-Mobile? If so, HOW DID YOU FIX THESE ISSUES?

This is why I generally don't trust anything other than the official OS releases from T-Mobile. Every time I try installing the "generic" version, I have nothing but issues.
__________________
Jack T. Chance's BlackBerry 8700 & 8900 Wallpapers

Don't steal other people's avatars! Make your own! >=(

Last edited by Jack T. Chance; 06-30-2010 at 04:09 PM..
Offline  
Old 06-30-2010, 05:33 PM   #107
somerandomguy
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: May 2008
Model: 9900
OS: 7.1 Hybrd
Carrier: tmo
Posts: 515
Default

Yeah, this version isint all that great; you'll want to upgrade to the newest versions. Or, if you wait a bit, ill post a guide on hybrids.

The latest williboy 6.2 hybrid is AMAZING.
__________________
--- Siggie ---
Offline  
Old 06-30-2010, 05:36 PM   #108
somerandomguy
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: May 2008
Model: 9900
OS: 7.1 Hybrd
Carrier: tmo
Posts: 515
Default

Yeah, You need to upgrade to the latest 5.0 release. .681 is a great build.

Or, if you want, try out the new williboy 6.2 hybrid; it's amazing.
__________________
--- Siggie ---
Offline  
Old 07-05-2010, 03:49 PM   #109
txlibertygirl
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raptor464 View Post
2. Go to c:\program files\common files\research in motion\apploader and delete the file named "vendor.xml." Vista/Win7 users: In the apploader folder, simply click on "Compatibility files" to see the actual Vendor.xml file. Once you've got that - simply delete the vendor.xml file there (even if you've deleted or think you've deleted it in the folder previously) and voila, it will allow you to update to the newly installed OS!
I have Window 7 and when I went to the apploader folder, I cannot find the "Compatibility files" so I just deleted the vendor.xml file. I noticed it did detect the pin number of my phone. Is that going to be a problem? I am currently downloading it.
Offline  
Old 07-05-2010, 04:34 PM   #110
txlibertygirl
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by txlibertygirl View Post
I have Window 7 and when I went to the apploader folder, I cannot find the "Compatibility files" so I just deleted the vendor.xml file. I noticed it did detect the pin number of my phone. Is that going to be a problem? I am currently downloading it.
Update:

It seem to be installed with no problem. I had to reboot it twice (first time, it didn't come back on so I pulled the battery and started over) Now I noticed something. When I was testing it with the DM, it wouldnt acknowledge the pin device therefore I cannot backup anything in the future? How do I get DM to acknowledge my phone?
Offline  
Old 08-01-2010, 05:05 PM   #111
nsx1164
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
nsx1164's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 23
Question installed OK - AT&T BB Curve 8900

installed OK using the procedure outlined in the original post.

So far its a BIG improvement over the prior 4.6x OS releases -- stability and reliability (no more "Reload Software: 522" errors). A few new features:
- multi-threaded SMS
- UI cleanup
- more stable APP installs - could lead to other things (running out of memory)

Main downside thus far is that reboot/restart times seem longer.

##########

Are there more current/updated versions of this OS for the 8900 ??
Offline  
Old 08-01-2010, 05:42 PM   #112
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

Yes. Check the stickies at the top of the 8900 forum.
Posted via BlackBerryForums.com Mobile
Offline  
Old 08-01-2010, 11:23 PM   #113
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nsx1164 View Post
...Are there more current/updated versions of this OS for the 8900 ??
http://www.blackberryforums.com/gene...languages.html
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Msa altair
$30.0
Msa altair pictureMSA ALTAIR 4XR Bluetooth Multigas Detector LEL, O2, CO2, H2S
$309.95
MSA ALTAIR 4XR Bluetooth Multigas Detector LEL, O2, CO2, H2S pictureMSA Altair M2S 4x Portable Gas Detector
$15.0
MSA Altair M2S 4x Portable Gas Detector pictureMSA Galaxy GX2 Docking Station and 2 x Altair 4x Detectors
$800.0
MSA Galaxy GX2 Docking Station and 2 x Altair 4x Detectors pictureTelonic Altair TLP1120-5XX2 SMA Filter 0955-0052
$24.99
Telonic Altair TLP1120-5XX2 SMA Filter 0955-0052 picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.