Closed Thread

Old 03-11-2009, 10:24 AM   #1
graystrickland
Thumbs Must Hurt

Model: 8800
Carrier: ATT (formerly Cingular)
Default Tethering Vista PC to Bold on ATT using BLUETOOTH

Please Login to Remove!

I am already tethering successfully using a USB cable on a Bold on the ATT network using these instructions:

Quote:
Originally Posted by shock8401 View Post
I used some information out of this thread in this forum and some from another forum but finally got my Blackberry Bold to work as a modem using AT&T as my service provider on Windows Vista platform.

I'm a first time forum writer but I wouldn't have been able to get mine to work w/o insight from people on these forums so I am detailing how I got mine to work. Hope it helps!

1.If you have not already, download and install the Blackberry Desktop Software.
2.Go to the Windows Device manager. Quickest way: Start > Run > devmgmt.msc
3.Click + button next to Modems, double click “Standard Modem”
4.Click the Advanced tab
5.Enter this into the empty box (no leading space):
AT+CGDCONT=1,”IP”,”wap.cingular”
6.Hit Okay, and close device manager.

Also, then
1 From your computer, click Start, Control Panel, then Network and Sharing Center.
2 Set up a connection or a net work then Next.
3 Select Set up dial up connection.
4 Select the Standard Modem, then Next.
5 Enter this as the phone number: *99# –> Next
6 Enter user name (ALL CAPS): ISP@CINGULARGPRS (after GPRS, put .COM) forum wouldn't let me post a website address
7 Enter and confirm password (ALL CAPS): CINGULAR1 –> Next/Finish
8 Open the desktop manager and plug in your Blackberry via the USB cable. Make sure it detects the Blackberry as connected.
9 Go back to your network connections window (step 7), and double click the new ATT Dialup icon.
10 Your password, username, and dialup number should already be saved. If it’s not, just follow lines 6 and 7 above again. Then just click “Dial”

This worked for me.. hope it works for you!