BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-18-2016, 09:49 AM   #1
roveer
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 8350i
Carrier: Nextel
Posts: 210
Default Lockscreen pw AND Know or Secure Workspace PW? 2 PW's?

Please Login to Remove!

I'm test installing BES12 on a Samsung S6 Active. Wasn't really sure which activation type to use but since this is a Samsung device I figured one off the KNOX types.

So I have used Work & Personal - Full Control.

It would appear that all activation types require the device to have a lockscreen password. It also appears that all of the activation types require a password into the workspace or KNOX. That's 2 passwords to get to your email.

Is there any way to remove one of these? 2 PW's to check your email is excessive. My god. I've got my BB10 device set to NO PW and all I have to do is hit the button tape here to access your work space. That's what I'd really like.

I did notice that using KNOX is allowing me to put my work icons (email, cal, contacts etc) out with my personal icons on the Personal side. I do like that.

But I need to figure something out for the password thing.

Thanks,

Roveer
Offline  
Old 06-20-2016, 12:00 PM   #2
freakinvibe
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Basel
Model: Class
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Swisscom
Posts: 1,616
Default Re: Lockscreen pw AND Know or Secure Workspace PW? 2 PW's?

I am not familiar with KNOX but on the Blackberry devices you also have a device password and a Work Space password.

You can set a policy to have both passwords the same and unlocking the device will also unlock Work Space. I don't know if something similar exists on KNOX.
Offline  
Old 06-22-2016, 09:31 AM   #3
roveer
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 8350i
Carrier: Nextel
Posts: 210
Default Re: Lockscreen pw AND Know or Secure Workspace PW? 2 PW's?

Found the problem. Exchange activesync device access policy was stepping on BES12 policy once email client is configured. Simply turned off "require password" in EMC activesync configuration and now it follows the BESAdmin setttings.

Roveer
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Pelco DSSRV2-200 DVR w/Intel Quad Xeon E3-1275 V3 3.50Ghz/8Gb RAM/6 Caddies noHD
$349.99
Pelco DSSRV2-200 DVR w/Intel Quad Xeon E3-1275 V3 3.50Ghz/8Gb RAM/6 Caddies noHD pictureCustom PC w/ SuperMicro C7X58 Xeon W3565 3.2GHz 8GB Ram&
$4.15
Custom PC w/ SuperMicro C7X58 Xeon W3565 3.2GHz 8GB Ram& pictureUNI-T UT210B True RMS 200A AC Mini Clamp Meter Digital LCD Ammeter NCV Test A9C4
$23.66
UNI-T UT210B True RMS 200A AC Mini Clamp Meter Digital LCD Ammeter NCV Test A9C4 pictureAVIGILON RM WORKSTATION DELL PRECISION T1700 MT 3.10GHz XEON E3-1220 V3 8GB RAM
$102.5
AVIGILON RM WORKSTATION DELL PRECISION T1700 MT 3.10GHz XEON E3-1220 V3 8GB RAM picture6x Twin HP Proliant SL160z G6 Nodes unit 4x Xeon E5520 2.26GHz 32GB Ram &
$665.98
6x Twin HP Proliant SL160z G6 Nodes unit 4x Xeon E5520 2.26GHz 32GB Ram  & picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.