BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-06-2009, 09:22 PM   #181
aznstyle
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 28
Default

Please Login to Remove!

The Internet Browser selection showed up under Default Browser. It didn't show up when I reloaded the LoaderBackup file so I restarted the phone and it showed up. Kinda odd that it didn't show up after reloading the LoaderBackup file
Offline  
Old 07-06-2009, 10:40 PM   #182
fonejunkie
Just me
 
fonejunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Model: iFone
OS: iOS4
PIN: Not on my iPhone5
Carrier: iPhone5 on AT&T Mobility
Posts: 2,292
Default

It appears that RIM was causing the issue with OS upgrade not being able to restore your calendar - was caused by the FaceBook calendar issue... Here's the RIM knowledge base article (and text):

View Document

Resolution

This issue has been addressed in Facebook 1.6 MR1 for BlackBerry smartphones. Please upgrade to this version of the Facebook application before performing a BlackBerry handheld software upgrade if possible.

If you are using the Facebook for BlackBerry smartphones 1.6 application, and you are unable to restore your calendar data after performing a BlackBerry handheld software upgrade, please complete the following steps.

1. Make sure that Facebook for BlackBerry smartphones 1.6 is not the default calendar service.

2. You can identify the default calendar service by completing the following steps:

a. On the BlackBerry smartphone Home screen, click Options.

b. Click Advanced Options, then click Default Services.

c. Make sure that Facebook is not listed in the Calendar (CICAL) field.

3. After specifying a different default calendar service, browse to the location of the backup file that was created, and restore the calendar data manually using BlackBerry® Desktop Manager Advanced Backup and Restore.


Workaround

Do not select Backup & Restore 3rd Party Applications when performing a BlackBerry Device Software upgrade.

Products

* Facebook
Offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 05:00 AM   #183
gzourid
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: COSMOTE
Posts: 1
Default Greek Language

Hello, i want to ask you if it support Greek, and if yes please tell me how i activate greek in my blackberry.
Thanks

Last edited by gzourid; 07-07-2009 at 05:04 AM..
Offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 08:58 AM   #184
grbuzzard
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Model: 8300
PIN: N/A
Carrier: rogers
Posts: 1
Default BB Bold 4 .6 .282 Oulook Sync & BB

OK, after the update to 282, my outlook calendar was totally wiped out. My BB still has all the appts. I do not have facebook. My calendar options and my DM are current as well. I run XP Pro on the laptop and office 2003. I have two issues on the o. The first is why did everything get wiped out? The second is that I can't reload the BB appts back into outlook. I have used the sync options of one way sync from device to outlook and it appears that it cant find any appts to sync even though I can see them all on the device. I use the same email address on the device and the laptop. My calender options simply lists the two email addresses i have and the one in the options, default services CICAL and CMIME is the same as well. I have tried backing up , wiping clear, then restoring on both. I have uninstalled and re-installed the software on both. Any other ideas. Could it be an outlook issue( mind you I haven't changed outlook in over a year). Thanks
Offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 07:40 AM   #185
BlackBerry-Q8
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kuwait
Model: 9900
PIN: 27FE8EDB
Carrier: Zain Kuwait
Posts: 45
Question .282

hi

Updating the device running smoothly but!

1. The battery is running so fast
2. On 3G Mood in some areas the BlackBerry is restarting by itself

Any ideas?
Offline  
Old 07-09-2009, 03:30 AM   #186
oppitronic
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
oppitronic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Frankfurt, Germany
Model: 9000
Carrier: T-Mobile Germany
Posts: 84
Default

It's been a while...but finally I have installed the update.
Well, my backup refused to restore, but I am on BES and it seems all data is still there. Funny enough it lost my 24 hour clock setting.
Can't say much on battery life yet, but it seems that 3G mode still "eats" a lot.
Offline  
Old 07-09-2009, 01:59 PM   #187
estabulla
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
estabulla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Model: 9700
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 396
Default

I noticed that this OS does not give you the "3G only" option like the Rogers Bold (or any other carrier branded I presume). The Rogers branded Bold I have gives me three options: 3G only, 3G & 2G and 2G only.

I wonder why they chose not to provide the "3G only" option. Strange.
__________________
--EB/ASN
9700 on 6.0.0.something, BES 4.1 on Exchange, BIS (AT&T)
Ex 8700, 8800, 8100, 8310, 9000
Offline  
Old 07-09-2009, 02:29 PM   #188
fonejunkie
Just me
 
fonejunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Model: iFone
OS: iOS4
PIN: Not on my iPhone5
Carrier: iPhone5 on AT&T Mobility
Posts: 2,292
Default

If 3G is not available, the device will fall back to 2G anyway... unless the 3G Only setting is "3G or nothing". Not an issue, as I see it. Maybe I am not understanding the problem completely.
Offline  
Old 07-09-2009, 11:11 PM   #189
DoubleOhBold
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canberra, Australia
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.314
Carrier: Telstra
Posts: 3
Default

I successfully upgraded from .192 to .282 yesteday and if anything, it seems SLOWER.

Slower to navigate the menus, and DEFINITELY a LOT slower loading image thumbnails.

Other than that, I seem to have LESS free memory but it's all pretty much the same. I have been able to switch from 2G & 3G, to 3G only to 2G only ever since I got my Bold. Maybe that's more network related then OS version related.

Bring on 5.0 I say!
Offline  
Old 07-10-2009, 06:22 AM   #190
MidnightDraven
BlackBerry Mensa
 
MidnightDraven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chester,UK
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Tesco Mobile
Posts: 9,481
Default

yes its only for AT&T customers that the new switch 2g/3g affects
__________________
~Midnight Draven

"That's it then. Cancel the kitchen scraps for lepers and orphans, no more merciful beheadings... and call off Christmas."
Offline  
Old 07-10-2009, 06:42 AM   #191
Anairda277
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Vodafone
Posts: 1
Default

Hello JSanders,

I wonder if you could be of any help, pls!
I have downloaded the file as epr your intsructions, but thing is that on the 2nd step, I don't have the "Vendor" file to delete, and the application loader comes as *.dell file not *.exe, therefore I cannot run the program into devide....

1 - I have downloaded the file from link - OKay;
2 - I runned the file and follow all instruction of setup wizard;
3 - I have pluged in the BB to PC;
4 - Whent to Programs file/.../ RIM/...;
5 - No vendor file, and teh apploader is not a *.exe

Please I really would like to get this to work. Can you be of any help?!

Thanks
Adriana
Offline  
Old 07-10-2009, 06:44 AM   #192
MidnightDraven
BlackBerry Mensa
 
MidnightDraven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chester,UK
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Tesco Mobile
Posts: 9,481
Default

you have desktop manager installed right.
__________________
~Midnight Draven

"That's it then. Cancel the kitchen scraps for lepers and orphans, no more merciful beheadings... and call off Christmas."
Offline  
Old 07-10-2009, 05:16 PM   #193
tompirlet
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Model: 9000
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Proximus
Posts: 14
Default

Thanks, the 282 runs smooth!!
Offline  
Old 07-11-2009, 10:39 AM   #194
kensing65
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
kensing65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SE Florida
Model: Bold
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 77
Default dropped calls/bad signal

I replaced my phone due to the speakerphone/low volume issue and installed .282.. wished now I hadn't... I live in a rural area and the reception has always been pretty good with my ATT service but now I'm dropping calls, searching for network etc.. I"m downloading the Rogers version now just to see as some say this makes a difference. If not, I'll go back to .266

bummer...
Offline  
Old 07-11-2009, 06:32 PM   #195
berrylow
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
berrylow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Model: 8900
PIN: N/A
Carrier: movistar
Posts: 28
Default

I wish the best for those that upgraded to 282 and phone is working fine, did my upgrade but this time it doesnt work with my bold, went back to 266, running smooth, let see next upgrade.
__________________
A new BB will be old very soon
8310>8820>Bold>8900>back to Bold this time carrier gave it for free>?
Offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 10:03 AM   #196
Sk8Surfr
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Model: 9800
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 139
Default

Hate this release... KILLS my battery - back to 266 for me
Offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 11:20 AM   #197
holden
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
holden's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida Sunshine
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.296
PIN: TOFJAGER
Carrier: Cingular-AT&T-Verizon-Nextel
Posts: 1,046
Default On your domain network?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimfraser View Post
Installed and waiting for BES activation to complete.
I have done many OS updates and BES activation always takes forever. Right now it is about half way through the 1377 Application Permissions. It appears to be over the air, even though I am hardwired via USB cable to my network computer. I am on the 29th floor of an office tower and 3G is weak even though there are many cell towers around. It drops down to Edge because of the weak 3G signal. Being on Edge may explain why over the air activation takes so long.
Any way to speed up activation (via USB?) ?
Wired or tethered activation is usually a bit quicker providing your on your domain network. If your tethered, it usually will not be OTA but through your network after you have opened your DM and have Outlook or Lotus open.

H.
__________________
hmeister...
nettech
Offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 06:53 PM   #198
The Crunch
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
The Crunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Los Angeles, California
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.314
PIN: 90009700
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 54
Default

This is strange. I read about as many people loving .282, as there are others hating it...no middle ground.

It has been working very well for me. Battery life is very good for me. I don't remember .266's battery life, but I don't remember it being any better or worse than with .282.

3G/2G selection is nice to have, but I really don't use it much, as I'm surrounded by 3G, and I have 2 batteries and a cradle that I only use to charge the 2nd battery. ;) but I don't feel that I change my battery more often than before that setup.

At this point, I'm tired with these incremental upgrades. I'd like to see OS 5.0. .93 of that OS was good, but too buggy for regular use, so I went backto 4.6.
__________________
Favorite gadgets: Blackberry Bold 9000 OS 5.0.0.314 Fastest OS for the 9000 | BlackBerry Bold 9700 on order 11/16; B2B accts rule.
Offline  
Old 07-12-2009, 08:25 PM   #199
holden
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
holden's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Florida Sunshine
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.296
PIN: TOFJAGER
Carrier: Cingular-AT&T-Verizon-Nextel
Posts: 1,046
Default Question - ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Crunch View Post
This is strange. I read about as many people loving .282, as there are others hating it...no middle ground.

It has been working very well for me. Battery life is very good for me. I don't remember .266's battery life, but I don't remember it being any better or worse than with .282.

3G/2G selection is nice to have, but I really don't use it much, as I'm surrounded by 3G, and I have 2 batteries and a cradle that I only use to charge the 2nd battery. ;) but I don't feel that I change my battery more often than before that setup.

At this point, I'm tired with these incremental upgrades. I'd like to see OS 5.0. .93 of that OS was good, but too buggy for regular use, so I went backto 4.6.
I notice your on ATT. Can you keep an eye on the performance in complex networks where the device shifts between EDGE and 3G. I was remembering when everyone was trying the earlier versions that allowed hard coding the type of network. I would be curious if anyone is experiencing any issues with the new OS and the ATT hardware...

Thx...

H.
__________________
hmeister...
nettech
Offline  
Old 07-13-2009, 06:30 AM   #200
kensing65
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
kensing65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SE Florida
Model: Bold
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 77
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by holden View Post
I notice your on ATT. Can you keep an eye on the performance in complex networks where the device shifts between EDGE and 3G. I was remembering when everyone was trying the earlier versions that allowed hard coding the type of network. I would be curious if anyone is experiencing any issues with the new OS and the ATT hardware...

Thx...

H.

I'm with ATT and this was my issue when I upgraded to .282... I live in an area where 3G/EDGE bounces around quite a bit. I got alot of dropped calls and 'searching network' and it seemed that EDGE never appeared. Went back to .266 and I'm seeing the EDGE again.. I"m told that there have been outage issues in S. Florida where I live so maybe that is part of it, I don't know... I'm still getting the searching network issues and I'm dropping alot of calls.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

20pcs Transparent Face Mouth Cover Anti-Droplet Hotel Chef Waiter Anti-Split us
$6.49
20pcs Transparent Face Mouth Cover Anti-Droplet Hotel Chef Waiter Anti-Split us picture20pcs Transparent Face Mouth Cover Anti-Droplet Hotel Chef Waiter Anti-Split us
$13.65
20pcs Transparent Face Mouth Cover Anti-Droplet Hotel Chef Waiter Anti-Split us picture20pcs Transparent Face Mouth Cover Anti-Droplet Hotel Chef Waiter Anti-Split us
$6.49
20pcs Transparent Face Mouth Cover Anti-Droplet Hotel Chef Waiter Anti-Split us pictureMr Bar B Q 6 Compartments Condiment Dispenser Chilled Server Caddy Tray Salad
$129.99
Mr Bar B Q 6 Compartments Condiment Dispenser Chilled Server Caddy Tray Salad  picture3- LG CRN-8245B CD-Rom Drive IBM 06P5262 REMOVED FROM UNUSED SERVER X305 E 305
$4.95
3-  LG CRN-8245B  CD-Rom Drive IBM 06P5262 REMOVED FROM UNUSED SERVER X305 E 305 picture






Copyright © 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM © and BlackBerry © are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.