BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-12-2007, 04:26 PM   #21
BBChristopher
CrackBerry Addict
 
BBChristopher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dutchess County, NY
Model: 9000
OS: 5.0
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 646
Default

Please Login to Remove!

Good info....

Thanks
__________________
24A3F370 (9000)
East Coast Shoutin!!!!!!
"Imagine the Possibilities", Run Silent..Run Swift
850, 950, 957, 7100, 7130, 8100, 8800, 8310, 9000
Offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 04:54 PM   #22
cruzer3
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Model: 9000
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 58
Default A little surprised

I am alittle surprised that Sprint does nto have the WiFi on the latest BB coming out. I know Sprint is putting out a huge WiFi network. Press releases can be found all over for Sprint WiFi. I know Sprint is one ofthe main players pushing WiFi. I dont really care about the camera.

Will this new BB also act as a modem as the 7130e does?
Offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 09:52 PM   #23
BB Junkie
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Model: 8300
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 180
Default

Will Sprint 8830 come with rev A EVDO?
Offline  
Old 04-12-2007, 09:56 PM   #24
stonent
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
stonent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Model: 8220
PIN: FFFFFFFF
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 1,734
Default

The 8703e is capable of GSM as well. Just an FYI. The chips are there but I don't think they are turned on.
__________________
Stonent

Prior: BES: 7510, 7520, 7290, 7230, 7130, 8220 (No Data Plan), Droid Eris
Post your question on the forum, don't PM me.
Offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 03:15 PM   #25
cruzer3
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Model: 9000
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 58
Default Cdma/gsm

Yes you have to get a SIM card from Sprint to have the GSM portion work and I pretty sure you have to have that feature set turned on in you user profile for the infrastructure to be able to know that GSM is on. I know they have a world phone so it will act very similar to that phone.

Even thou I have a 7130e I think an upgrade would be nice!

Is there a list of features/functions that someone can post on this new model?
Offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 04:10 PM   #26
redsoxnation
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
redsoxnation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Arlington, VA
Model: 9650
OS: 5.0.0.699
Carrier: SPRINT
Posts: 359
Default

Oh and on the Cingular tip. If I want every other call I make to drop sure why not switch. Or leave sprints EVDO for your shoty service. Ha
Offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 07:39 PM   #27
FalloutMan
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Model: 8830?
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 38
Default

i said switch from Nextel to Cingular. Im makin the move to Sprint from Nexthell and I cant wait to get my hands on a G3 phone.
Offline  
Old 04-13-2007, 10:17 PM   #28
Impaler80s
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TX
Model: 8130
PIN: 31B54365
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 159
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smoothballer View Post
A thing of the past... I'm sorry that I do not like waiting several seconds between when I send the PPT and when the user actually hears the message like on your beloved Cingular network.
Bravo!!! I LOVE LOVE Nextel...no better network out there. I just wanted a Pearl and like Cingular's multimedia features...which Nextel has none of. The 7100i will be it for Nextel.
__________________
--
Sprint 8130 (Amethyst)
Previous BBs owned: Nextel 7510, 7520, 7100i, Sprint 8703e, AT&T 8300
Offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 11:03 AM   #29
BryanHarig
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
BryanHarig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NYC
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.94
Carrier: T-Mobile USA
Posts: 1,112
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stonent View Post
The 8703e is capable of GSM as well. Just an FYI. The chips are there but I don't think they are turned on.
Who on earth told you that nonsense?

Quote:
Yes you have to get a SIM card from Sprint to have the GSM portion work and I pretty sure you have to have that feature set turned on in you user profile for the infrastructure to be able to know that GSM is on. I know they have a world phone so it will act very similar to that phone.

Even thou I have a 7130e I think an upgrade would be nice!

Is there a list of features/functions that someone can post on this new model?
Sprint's world phones are the ip-a790, ip-i830w, Nextel i930. Sprint will rent you a GSM phone and Sprint SIM card to allow you to use you Sprint number internationally if you do not have a compatible phone. The 8703e is not a compatible phone.
Offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 03:22 PM   #30
Ptlk
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Brooklyn,New York
Model: 8700c
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 2
Default

Any screenshots of the phone?
Offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 12:12 PM   #31
ezyproductions
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Model: 7100
Carrier: nextel
Posts: 37
Default

Verizon BlackBerry 8830 Press Shots : The Boy Genius Report


this is for the verizon, should look the same i would think
Offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 06:48 PM   #32
BryanHarig
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
BryanHarig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NYC
Model: 8900
OS: 4.6.1.94
Carrier: T-Mobile USA
Posts: 1,112
Default

Hopefully it will be a different color.
Offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 07:34 PM   #33
Fungineer
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: :noitacoL
Model: 8100
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 107
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cruzer3 View Post
I am alittle surprised that Sprint does nto have the WiFi on the latest BB coming out. I know Sprint is putting out a huge WiFi network. Press releases can be found all over for Sprint WiFi. I know Sprint is one ofthe main players pushing WiFi. I dont really care about the camera.
WiMax, not WiFi - IEEE802.16e, not 802.11

Sprint is pushing WiMax because they are one of the only carriers to offer both mobile and fixed internet services - they could very easily use 802.16 to extend their fibre / commercial offerings to SoHo type businesses without as much overhead (ie: digging and laying cables). And they are more than happy to give you a WiMax card for your laptop so you can get "mobile broadband"... but in a phone, not likely anytime soon (despite WiBro being available in Korea). Technology wise it still takes up too much power to be useful in a handset.
Offline  
Old 04-16-2007, 09:40 PM   #34
ArgonNJ
No longer Registered.
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NJ
Model: WP7
OS: The Best
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 1,930
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fungineer View Post
WiMax, not WiFi - IEEE802.16e, not 802.11

Sprint is pushing WiMax because they are one of the only carriers to offer both mobile and fixed internet services - they could very easily use 802.16 to extend their fibre / commercial offerings to SoHo type businesses without as much overhead (ie: digging and laying cables). And they are more than happy to give you a WiMax card for your laptop so you can get "mobile broadband"... but in a phone, not likely anytime soon (despite WiBro being available in Korea). Technology wise it still takes up too much power to be useful in a handset.
Really I had heard rumors that Palm was going to introduce wimax into their treo phone later in the year.
Offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 11:47 AM   #35
cruzer3
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Model: 9000
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 58
Default Information on the 8830 for Sprint

Searched the Sprint pages and found this information:

Information on the Sprint 8830 Phone!
Seems that it will only do 1x and Rev 0

BlackBerry(r) 8830 World Edition powered by Sprint Fact Sheet

Enjoy!
Offline  
Old 04-26-2007, 12:28 PM   #36
test54
BlackBerry Master
 
test54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Model: AAPL
OS: iPhone
Carrier: is Better than BB :)
Posts: 3,633
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fungineer View Post
WiMax, not WiFi - IEEE802.16e, not 802.11

Sprint is pushing WiMax because they are one of the only carriers to offer both mobile and fixed internet services - they could very easily use 802.16 to extend their fibre / commercial offerings to SoHo type businesses without as much overhead (ie: digging and laying cables). And they are more than happy to give you a WiMax card for your laptop so you can get "mobile broadband"... but in a phone, not likely anytime soon (despite WiBro being available in Korea). Technology wise it still takes up too much power to be useful in a handset.
Really? AT&T and Verizon dont offer fixed internet services? i think all the companies have that oppertunity to extend their reach but at what cost? I see this being limited as you say by battery life in phones and the availability of the technology (takes along time to roll this out).
__________________
"A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any invention in human history - with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila." - unknown
Offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 04:58 PM   #37
wdduck
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
wdduck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Model: 8310
Carrier: Centennial Wireless (GSM)
Posts: 24
Default

We have a product conference call in 2 weeks. Hopfully more info to come. They may give a better idea when the 8830 will launch.
__________________
BlackBerry, Gotta Have It!!!

8310 > Pin= 243BAB32
Offline  
Old 06-05-2007, 09:34 PM   #38
tony158828
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bronx, NY
Model: 8830
OS: v4.2
PIN: 3186AC4A
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 11
Default

Maybe this is a more definitive answer directly from Sprint.

Introducing the BlackBerry 8830
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

COMMODORE AMIGA/MOS8520A-1  IC chip 
$20.0
COMMODORE AMIGA/MOS8520A-1  IC chip  pictureCommodore Amiga MOS 8520R2 Complex Interface Adapter 
$20.0
Commodore Amiga MOS 8520R2 Complex Interface Adapter  pictureOpen-Box Excellent: Comfort Products Inc. - Commodore II Big & Tall Leather E...
$216.99
Open-Box Excellent: Comfort Products Inc. - Commodore II Big & Tall Leather E... pictureWhipmix Pro 100 and Jelenko Commodore Both With Compressors And Porcelain Powder
$1900.0
Whipmix Pro 100 and Jelenko Commodore Both With Compressors And Porcelain Powder pictureWindsor  commodore carpet extractor used
$71.0
Windsor  commodore carpet extractor used picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.