BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-17-2008, 09:57 PM   #1
uturn
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Model: 8830
OS: 4.2.2.176
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 8
Question 8830 on Sprint

Please Login to Remove!

Guess I may stay with Sprint (currently Nextel) but I am ready for a new BB. Hate to lose the DC but I don't want the 7100i and that's my choice. Any opionion about the 8830 on the Sprint network? Good choice? Other suggestions (or even another company)? Thanks, MIKE aka Uturn
Offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 10:01 PM   #2
zerog46
iPhone Mod!
 
zerog46's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: In a House
Model: 9650
Carrier: VZW Bold
Posts: 6,776
Default

Yes very good BB, unless you want a camera, then you want the 8130.
__________________
Life is not holding a good hand. Life is playing a poor hand well.
Offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 10:07 PM   #3
poperszky
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Model: 8800
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 5
Default

I like mine
Offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 10:13 PM   #4
dannymo82
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 6
Default

i switched from nextel to sprint and got an 8830. i friggin love the phone!!!! the service is even better on it than my nextel was....none of that radio interference clicking in speakers either :D
__________________
Whirred!
Offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 10:24 PM   #5
mjcostajr
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Washington, DC
Model: 8800c
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 9
Default

I was given a Sprint 8830 for work...works great. Voice is clear and internet is fast...works great as a broadband modem as well...
Offline  
Old 02-18-2008, 02:12 PM   #6
cruzer3
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Model: 9000
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 58
Default Sprint 8830

I have had a 8830 since it first cam eout in the Sprint family of phones. I had a BB 7130e but I prefer the 8830. I have had very little problems with the 8830 and love it.
Offline  
Old 02-18-2008, 07:43 PM   #7
triregion
New Member
 
triregion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: 8830
OS: 4.5.0.135
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 13
Default

I switched from the 7100 to the 8830 in September and love the 8830. TelNav is so much better on the 8830. It even checks for traffic and will re route you if you choose. Being able to listen to .wav files and storage on the media card is great. I have a few videos and a couple hours of MP3's on there as well. I thought it might be difficult to switch from Sure Type to the full keyboard but in a week or so after having the phone I forgot all about ST. For me it was a huge upgrade.
__________________
Carl
Pin: 30C007ED
Offline  
Old 02-19-2008, 11:56 PM   #8
Joemero
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 54
Default

I love my 8830 with Sprint. I've had it for about 3 weeks now and it's starting to get on my wife's nerves....which means I'm loving this device too much!!!!!
Offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 06:21 AM   #9
maneufeld
New Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: verizon
Posts: 1
Default

can anyone tell me whether the newer 8830s from sprint have the new dark splash screen that read "sprintspeed" or something like that?
Offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 10:22 PM   #10
jessep28
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Omaha, NE
Model: 9630
OS: 5.0.0.732
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 82
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uturn View Post
Guess I may stay with Sprint (currently Nextel) but I am ready for a new BB. Hate to lose the DC but I don't want the 7100i and that's my choice. Any opionion about the 8830 on the Sprint network? Good choice? Other suggestions (or even another company)? Thanks, MIKE aka Uturn
The speaker clicking phenomenon was kind of nice since you always knew when a phone call was inbound. Nextel constantly losing you was an annoyance as well.

Good luck finding a Blackberry.
Offline  
Old 02-20-2008, 10:55 PM   #11
juwaack68
iPhone Convert
 
juwaack68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tulip City - MI
Model: iP5
OS: 6.0.2
PIN: to beans
Carrier: I'm not
Posts: 13,877
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maneufeld View Post
can anyone tell me whether the newer 8830s from sprint have the new dark splash screen that read "sprintspeed" or something like that?
Yes, the new devices that I have been deploying (and my 8130) have the 'Rated for SprintSpeed' thing when they boot up.
__________________
No longer a BES Admin, but it was fun while it lasted!
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

COMMODORE AMIGA/MOS8520A-1  IC chip 
$20.0
COMMODORE AMIGA/MOS8520A-1  IC chip  pictureCommodore Amiga MOS 8520R2 Complex Interface Adapter 
$20.0
Commodore Amiga MOS 8520R2 Complex Interface Adapter  pictureSoftware guide book manual Amiga Programmer C Language A2000 A500 computer disk
$115.0
Software guide book manual Amiga Programmer C Language A2000 A500 computer disk pictureRADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-33 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC SCSI 16MB
$185.0
RADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-33 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC SCSI 16MB pictureRADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-31 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC Module card SCSI
$185.0
RADSTONE VME BOARD PME 68-31 MOTOROLA 6800 33Mhz AMIGA PPC Module card SCSI picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.