BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-06-2007, 12:39 PM   #1
nbohiroshinbo
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 7
Smile Sprint 8830 using it as a modem

Please Login to Remove!

just curious any sprint user out there, when u use your 8830 to act as a moderm, will u still recevied called? If you can still recevied called while using it as a moderm. What will happen when u pcik up the call, will ur internet connection dropped or?

Thx in advance.

Offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 01:03 PM   #2
juwaack68
iPhone Convert
 
juwaack68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tulip City - MI
Model: iP5
OS: 6.0.2
PIN: to beans
Carrier: I'm not
Posts: 13,877
Default

Yes, you can still receive a call.....connection didn't drop for me.

I also found that the Sprint connection manager software I was using for the 7130e didn't work for the 8830 - had to remove it and install new....just a side note.
__________________
No longer a BES Admin, but it was fun while it lasted!
Offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 01:06 PM   #3
koleary19067
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
koleary19067's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: PA
Model: STORM
OS: 4.7.0.151
PIN: MOBILE
Carrier: VERIZON
Posts: 2,089
Default

I have received call also with no issues
__________________
STORM (9530)
Offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 02:37 PM   #4
AndrewAZ
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 150
Default

When you get a call you data pauses, the phone can only do either voice or data but not both at the same time. I find when using PAM after I end my PAM session all my texts and emails come into the phone, but phone calls always interrupt PAM sessions.
Offline  
Old 08-06-2007, 09:18 PM   #5
DSS597
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
DSS597's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: California
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.296
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 185
Default

I can confirm on Sprint that I still receive text messages while in my PAM session, I can also send them. As stated, email and obviously voice will not come through while in PAM.
Offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 08:59 AM   #6
tallelf78
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 12
Default uhhhh, hold on here...

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewAZ View Post
after I end my PAM session all my texts and emails come...phone calls always interrupt PAM sessions.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DSS597 View Post
I still receive text messages...obviously voice will not come through while in PAM.
someone want to clarify cause if i am reading these posts correctly they are stating complete opposite things!?

also, does Sprint's data plan ($39.99) includes tethering/modem?
Offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 12:10 PM   #7
cruzer3
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Model: 9000
Carrier: ATT
Posts: 58
Default Pam

The Sprint data plan does include the use of the phone as a modem (PAM).

What occurs is if there is not data being sent to the computer calls will come in. The Data portion goes dormant and you are able to get Calls and texts.
Offline  
Old 08-09-2007, 12:08 AM   #8
DSS597
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
DSS597's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: California
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.296
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 185
Default

I use the PAM feature everyday. Incoming calls will interupt data while active, incoming calls take priority and stop all action. Email will NOT come through until the PAM session has ended and is disconnected with me, BUT I don't ever give the connection a chance to become dormant so email coming through while dormant, I'm not too sure of. As I stated, SMS will come through both ways while in the PAM session.

And yes PAM is free, and part of the data service with Sprint.

As far the plan goes I can't answer that. My plan I pay $95 per month for unlimited EVERYTHING.

Last edited by DSS597; 08-09-2007 at 12:22 AM..
Offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 12:45 PM   #9
sfr0003
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: sprint
Posts: 9
Default Sprint BB 8830 phone as a modem use problem

Hi, I am seeing a pop up window with the following message while I was trying to launch the software from the laptop. Please help.

Password Needed

Device ESN=number and then 0 attempts remaining
Offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 12:51 PM   #10
DSS597
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
DSS597's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: California
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.296
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 185
Default

Pop up window where? On the BB or the laptop?

Also what "software" are you launching?

To connect to the BB via BT you should just use a Windows dial up connection.
Offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 12:59 PM   #11
sfr0003
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: sprint
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DSS597 View Post
Pop up window where? On the BB or the laptop?

Also what "software" are you launching?

To connect to the BB via BT you should just use a Windows dial up connection.
Laptop. Sprint Mobile Broadband. What is BT and how do I use Windows dial up connection.
Offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 03:18 PM   #12
vawireless
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
vawireless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: 9700
Carrier: Bell
Posts: 79
Default

The password its asking for is your BlackBerry password.

As for the price plan, phone as modem is included in the 39.99 BlackBerry plan but not included in the 69.99 Worldwide BlackBerry Plan, though available for an extra $15.

The data connection "pauses" when a call comes in. The only issue this has caused is if you're using a VPN connection, then your VPN connection will drop and you will need to reconnect. If you don't know what VPN stands for, then don't even worry about it.
Offline  
Old 08-15-2007, 06:03 PM   #13
Horn5
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 2
Default

Hi, I am actually trying to figure out a similiar thing. I just got my BB8830 from Sprint two days ago and am currently trying to learn how to tether.

I have a Sony Vaio FE series laptop (edit: running VISTA) which I am attempting to tether through my usb cable for the sake of getting it done before I go to college in a week. I have been looking all over the internet and the BB site itself trying to find instructions but its either about the mac tether problem or the directions are not for a Sprint phone.

I have the software recently installed and my computer recognizes it as a BB, but the BB isn't charging or providing internet.

Could anyone point me in a direction for the internet tethering with the Sprint 8830 version?
Offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 08:14 AM   #14
vawireless
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
vawireless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: 9700
Carrier: Bell
Posts: 79
Default

Have you already installed the BlackBerry Desktop Manager software? This is necessary to have the proper drivers installed for the 8830.
Offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 11:27 AM   #15
Horn5
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 2
Default

Yes, I installed the software off the disk provided in the phone's box. I have all the options available on the desktop manager/device manager.

Also, my phone is now charging off the usb cable from my computer but, I have yet to figure out the internet issues.

Any ideas?
Offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 12:20 PM   #16
vawireless
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
vawireless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Model: 9700
Carrier: Bell
Posts: 79
Default

Have you also installed Sprint Connection Manager from sprint.com/downloads? There is a new version which supports the 8830.
Offline  
Old 08-18-2007, 08:27 PM   #17
juroku
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Salt Lake City
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 17
Default

I am in the same boat here. I have installed the Sprint software, and the new desktop manager that came with the 8830 I am getting an "error 678" in Windows XP. I just upgraded to from the Pearl (today).

The Sprint connectio manager sees the phone and all, and when I connect the phone even says indicates "phone as modem", but it disconnects and gives me that error.

Dave
Offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 02:39 AM   #18
DSS597
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
DSS597's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: California
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.296
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 185
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sfr0003 View Post
Laptop. Sprint Mobile Broadband. What is BT and how do I use Windows dial up connection.
BT is Bluetooth. Enable your Bluetooth and pair the BB (BlackBerry) to your laptop. Once you do that, to use a Windows dial up connection:

Go to: start/settings/control panel/network connections/new connection wizard.

Now, hit next, choose connect to the internet, next
set up connection manually, next
connect using a dial up modem, next
now put a check in the box next to the modem that says standard modem over Bluetooth, next
type in the name of what you're going to call it (example: Sprint 8830 BT Dial up), next
Phone number is #777
Leave user name and all fields blank uncheck "make this default internet connect"

You're done. You just set up your BB as a modem via Bluetooth. This way you don't have to use any Sprint PCS Manager software.
Offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 12:49 PM   #19
harryzuluberries
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
harryzuluberries's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Surf 'n Sun dude.
Model: 9630
OS: 4.iforgot
PIN: DUPONT FIFTH AVENUE LARGE ORPHEO ROLLERBALL
Carrier: the Titanic
Posts: 372
Default

I use the same method as DSS and it works like a charm.
__________________
TAIN
www.myspace.com/tshaka_zulu
Do, or do not. There is no try. -Yoda

7510>7520>7100i>8830>8330>9630
Offline  
Old 08-19-2007, 01:37 PM   #20
juroku
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Salt Lake City
Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 17
Default

Wish I could use BT on this thing, it is not equipped. Wasted a good chunk of my day waiting for the Sprint "experts" to tell me what I already knew.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

VINTAGE APPLE LITE VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD CARD 820-0522-A
$119.0
VINTAGE APPLE LITE VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD CARD 820-0522-A   pictureAPPLE 820-0522-A Lite VRAM 128K.TESTED.SKU206876
$33.33
APPLE 820-0522-A Lite VRAM 128K.TESTED.SKU206876 pictureVINTAGE APPLE LITE VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD CARD 820-0522-A
$64.0
VINTAGE APPLE LITE VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD CARD 820-0522-A pictureAPPLE 630-0895-B VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD CARD VINTAGE
$219.99
APPLE 630-0895-B  VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD CARD VINTAGE pictureAPPLE 820-0522-A 630-0895-B LITE VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD >
$299.99
APPLE 820-0522-A 630-0895-B LITE VRAM 128K X 8 BOARD > picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.