BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-24-2008, 07:29 PM   #1
duramaxdavid
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: 8700c
PIN: N/A
Carrier: cingular
Posts: 34
Default Desktop manager

Please Login to Remove!

Is this something I should be able to install on my personal PC? it ask for a password about half way through the install. I dont have one.

Thanks
Offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 04:00 PM   #2
xbrandonx
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 502
Model: 7290
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 7
Default

I downloaded mine from blackberry.com for free. I bought my phone used and it did not come with the disk. The only password I used is the same password to unlock my phone from the home screen.
Offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 08:36 PM   #3
duramaxdavid
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: 8700c
PIN: N/A
Carrier: cingular
Posts: 34
Default

This is the password im looking at. Where do I find it?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	desktop.JPG
Views:	24
Size:	58.8 KB
ID:	10854  
Offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 08:41 PM   #4
xbrandonx
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: 502
Model: 7290
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 7
Default

No, that is very different from what I was dealing with.
Offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 08:42 PM   #5
GotGadgets
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
GotGadgets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NY
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 26
Default

Its looking for the password for the User "Jackson" on that windows PC. Do you use a password to log into that machine?
Offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 08:43 PM   #6
Sith_Apprentice
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Sith_Apprentice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.xxx
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 10,149
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by duramaxdavid View Post
This is the password im looking at. Where do I find it?
that isnt desktop manager. just cancel that and you can redownload desktop manager from the site.
Offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 08:49 PM   #7
dhollins
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
dhollins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Mississippi
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.330
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 260
Default

Try here
https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads/browseSoftware.do
__________________
The BEST place to start IS.....
http://www.blackberryforums.com/search.php

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER
Offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 06:31 AM   #8
duramaxdavid
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: 8700c
PIN: N/A
Carrier: cingular
Posts: 34
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sith_Apprentice View Post
that isnt desktop manager. just cancel that and you can redownload desktop manager from the site.

I don't use a login password to get on my computer, thats the weird part. Ive tried to download this thing several times and keep getting that box. Am I downloading hte wrong thing? Could you post a link please? your didn't work dhollins
Offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 06:33 AM   #9
penguin3107
BlackBerry God
 
penguin3107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Model: iOS 5
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 11,701
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by duramaxdavid View Post
I don't use a login password to get on my computer, thats the weird part. Ive tried to download this thing several times and keep getting that box. Am I downloading hte wrong thing? Could you post a link please? your didn't work dhollins
Yes, you're downloading the wrong thing.
You're trying to install BlackBerry Manager... which is a management tool for BlackBerry Enterprise Server.

BlackBerry Manager is NOT the same as BlackBerry Desktop Manager.

You need to download and install BlackBerry Desktop Manager. (Sometimes referred to as BlackBerry Desktop Software)

BlackBerry - PDA Software Downloads - Support & Services at BlackBerry.com
__________________
BCSA
BES 5.0.3 MR4 :-: Exchange 2007 SP3 RU3
http://port3101.org

Last edited by penguin3107; 03-26-2008 at 06:35 AM..
Offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 08:51 PM   #10
duramaxdavid
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: 8700c
PIN: N/A
Carrier: cingular
Posts: 34
Default

big file. ill try that after it downloads thanks penguin
Offline  
Old 03-26-2008, 09:41 PM   #11
duramaxdavid
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: 8700c
PIN: N/A
Carrier: cingular
Posts: 34
Default

Thats worked. Thanks again. Whats the best PIM program to use? Seems the search brings up a bunch of stuff I dont understand. Work with me guys it took me a week to get the desktop manager to work

Last edited by duramaxdavid; 03-26-2008 at 09:44 PM..
Offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 05:37 AM   #12
penguin3107
BlackBerry God
 
penguin3107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Model: iOS 5
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 11,701
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by duramaxdavid View Post
Thats worked. Thanks again. Whats the best PIM program to use? Seems the search brings up a bunch of stuff I dont understand. Work with me guys it took me a week to get the desktop manager to work
I recommend Microsoft Outlook for most users.
If you have Microsoft Office (Word, Excel, Powerpoint, etc.) on your computer, you probably have Outlook installed as well.
__________________
BCSA
BES 5.0.3 MR4 :-: Exchange 2007 SP3 RU3
http://port3101.org
Offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 06:25 AM   #13
duramaxdavid
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: 8700c
PIN: N/A
Carrier: cingular
Posts: 34
Default

You know I installed office but didnt see outlook
Offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 06:39 AM   #14
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default

If you installed Office, then Outlook should be there, or do it again and make sure Outlook is a choice in the install.

What version do you have of Office?
Offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 02:15 PM   #15
duramaxdavid
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: 8700c
PIN: N/A
Carrier: cingular
Posts: 34
Default

office plus 07
Offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 07:40 PM   #16
GotGadgets
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
GotGadgets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: NY
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 26
Default

If its not already installed on your computer, drop in the install cd and it should pop up asking you if you want to Repair, Add Features, Uninstall... etc. Choose the Add Features button (wording might be slightly different) the you will probably find that Outlook has a red X on it. Click that and choose Run from my computer. That should do the trick.
Offline  
Old 03-27-2008, 09:08 PM   #17
duramaxdavid
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: 8700c
PIN: N/A
Carrier: cingular
Posts: 34
Default

I got it working. I missed it on the first go around. I got it running and data has been synced
Offline  
Old 04-13-2008, 11:23 PM   #18
windycitybberry
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: 9530
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by penguin3107 View Post
Yes, you're downloading the wrong thing.
You're trying to install BlackBerry Manager... which is a management tool for BlackBerry Enterprise Server.

BlackBerry Manager is NOT the same as BlackBerry Desktop Manager.

You need to download and install BlackBerry Desktop Manager. (Sometimes referred to as BlackBerry Desktop Software)

BlackBerry - PDA Software Downloads - Support & Services at BlackBerry.com
hey penguin3107-
i am trying to download the software for blackberry desktop manager and referred to the link you provided above. (thanks by the way)
however, i am pretty sure i should choose version 4.2.2 but how do i know if i get the one with service pack 1? or 2? or the version without service pack?
Offline  
Old 04-13-2008, 11:27 PM   #19
Sith_Apprentice
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Sith_Apprentice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.xxx
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 10,149
Default

4.2. service pack 2 is definately the best one. 4.2 is the one without the service pack, and 4.2 sp 1 is also listed there.
Offline  
Old 04-18-2008, 03:19 AM   #20
dennis from baoding
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: baoding china
Model: 7105t
PIN: 99999999
Carrier: china mobile
Posts: 65
Default

you can fill in anything,it doesn't matter i think at least everytime it requires for a password i fill in numbers or letters,and everytime it does well
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

K-type Thermocouple High Temperature Tester Fahrenheit Thermometer w/ M6 probe
$7.6
K-type Thermocouple High Temperature Tester Fahrenheit Thermometer w/ M6 probe pictureCompensation socket for thermocouple sensors /0709
$9.0
Compensation socket for thermocouple sensors /0709 picture6000 Count Multimeter Test Cable Thermocouple Temperature Measure Indicator Set
$18.46
6000 Count Multimeter Test Cable Thermocouple Temperature Measure Indicator Set pictureHP3400A True RMS Multimeter - Thermocouple-10MHz, 100uV to 300V
$249.0
HP3400A True RMS Multimeter - Thermocouple-10MHz, 100uV to 300V pictureREED Instruments TP-01 Beaded Thermocouple Wire Probe, Type K, -40 to 482°F -40
$16.49
REED Instruments TP-01 Beaded Thermocouple Wire Probe, Type K, -40 to 482°F -40 picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.