BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-26-2007, 08:57 PM   #1
joemz
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NJ
Model: 8830
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 191
Default 7100 as PDA w/o data plan

Please Login to Remove!

Can I set up an old 7100, without a data plan, to act as a pda for contacts and calendar?

I know that I won't get any OTA activity, but I'm hoping that I can install desktop manager (BIS) and get my outlook calendar and contacts synched to Outlook when I start up desktop manager and cable up the 7100g

No redirector, nothing needing a data plan

correct?
Offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 08:58 PM   #2
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

Yep, it'll work very well for that. Good luck!
Offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 09:00 PM   #3
joemz
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NJ
Model: 8830
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 191
Default

good stuff. my wifes palm pilot broke and since she doesn't need or want email on a handheld, i'm glad i can use the BB as her pda/phone

thanks
Offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 09:02 PM   #4
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

My wife did the same thing. Used my old 7100t unlocked as a phone/pda and sync'd it with Outlook. Now I got her on a white Pearl doing the same thing. She loves it.
Offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 09:05 PM   #5
joemz
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NJ
Model: 8830
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 191
Default

The 7100 I plan to use is unlocked, and was wiped and all corporate security rules wiped out. So it's like new

Can I assume that doing what I plan to do (pda) won't put any of my wifes corporate policies on the phone. In fact, my guess is that they won't even know about the phone.
Offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 09:07 PM   #6
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

Does she have a BB that is on a BES?
Offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 09:09 PM   #7
joemz
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NJ
Model: 8830
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 191
Default

Nope, no nothing
Offline  
Old 08-26-2007, 09:10 PM   #8
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

Then what corporate policies are you talking about? Is the sim card from a corporate issued phone or something? No policies are contained on a sim card. That's simply phone and account information.
Offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 09:45 AM   #9
joemz
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NJ
Model: 8830
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 191
Default

Probably not sure what I'm talking about, but...
On my company BB, on BES, there are security policies about such things as requiring passwords

I'm assuming that if the 7100/pda is never on my wife's companies BES, then simply cabling the 7100 with the desktop manager and synching cal/contacts will NOT force any IT policies onto the 7100
Offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 10:14 AM   #10
jeremyckitching
BlackBerry B Boy
 
jeremyckitching's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.415
PIN: 215BE1F8
Carrier: T-Mobile U.S.A.
Posts: 4,243
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joemz View Post
Probably not sure what I'm talking about, but...
On my company BB, on BES, there are security policies about such things as requiring passwords

I'm assuming that if the 7100/pda is never on my wife's companies BES, then simply cabling the 7100 with the desktop manager and synching cal/contacts will NOT force any IT policies onto the 7100
You are correct. If it has never been on a BES plan then synching it won't push any policies to it.
Offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 11:30 AM   #11
joemz
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NJ
Model: 8830
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 191
Default

thanks
Offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 11:11 PM   #12
technic@bluebottle.com
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 7105T
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 5
Default transfer files

Mr. BB moderator, it seems that your reply to queries are so easy to be done and make it work. Can you advise me in a very simple and direct way how to transfer Word.doc, excel file, and picture file from my laptop to blackberry device 7100? I am using prepaid sim card. Is the transfer possible? Why is it that when you buy unlocked phone, there is no program provided (if needed). BB should support their customer in this regard. Thanks
Offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 11:16 PM   #13
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

It is not possible to transfer those files to the 7100/7105 devices. You can email them to yourself if you have a data plan. Even then, you can only save the pictures to the device, not the other types of files. However, you are on a prepaid sim, so no data plan. I'm afraid you won't be able to transfer the files to the BB.
Offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 11:27 PM   #14
technic@bluebottle.com
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 7105T
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 5
Default

Thank you for quick reply. Are you saying that even if I have a data plan, I can only transfer pictures and not any other files like word.doc or excel? The brochure of BB 7100 device says that it can accept and read above files. Why is it so?
Offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 11:31 PM   #15
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

It can read the files as an email attachment only. However, it can only save the pictures from the emails not the word and excel docs.

Last edited by John Clark; 08-29-2007 at 11:32 PM..
Offline  
Old 08-29-2007, 11:42 PM   #16
technic@bluebottle.com
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 7105T
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks !!

Do you have any idea on how much is the average data plan?
Offline  
Old 08-30-2007, 12:06 AM   #17
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

with AT&T the cheapest unlimited data plan is $30 I think. (Standard account only-no prepaid data plans that I'm aware of)
Offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 09:59 PM   #18
technic@bluebottle.com
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 7105T
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks John.

I don't know if this wil make sense to you.

I am aware of the setting that if you slide in the BB to holster, it will be set to phone lock. I know also the automatic backlight off setting. I am just wondering when you slide in to holster the phone and got contact with holster's flip magnet, the backlght shuts off. Once the bottom portion of the phone passed the magnet, the backlight turned on. Is this conditon in any way affect the program in the phone? Thank you.
Offline  
Old 09-02-2007, 10:04 PM   #19
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

No, that doesn't hurt anything. Generally if you slide it out quickly enough it doesn't even really affect it. Occasionally, it will affect the auto opening of an email but not often.
Offline  
Old 09-05-2007, 10:42 PM   #20
leenie
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey
Model: 7105t
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 3
Default

Similar to the earlier poster, I plan just use the PDA and cell phone functions for now so I don't need to use a Palm & cell phone. I just purchased a 7105t from Ebay but it came with no software disc or user guide. It was a Sprint phone that was Unlocked and my carrier is AT&T. I thought downloading the software would be easy but I was too optimistic about my abilities. I've seen the Desktop Software v 4.2 which looks like its the latest but wasnt sure if that version is correct with the 7105t. I've also seen downloads on the AT&T sight and wasn't sure if maybe I should be using that. If you could help, that would be great.

I put my SIM card in and can make calls and receive them.

Also, I've never had a blackberry so if you could point me to some links that could get me started Sync'g with my outlook, etc. that would help. I downloaded a user guide for 7100 ver 4.1 to help.

I'm not planning on using the browser features yet. Can you only use the browser if you have a data plan? Not even just to pay per page to make sure its working or the occasional download of a ringtone? My old cell phone let me do that.

I guess this isn't as easy as I thought.

Thanks for your help
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Jeol MNIF3000 RF Impedance Match Matching Network Controller Control Module
$99.99
Jeol MNIF3000 RF Impedance Match Matching Network Controller Control Module pictureHorse Surround Electric Fence Charger, 5-Mile, Low Impedance, 110-Volt
$95.44
Horse Surround Electric Fence Charger, 5-Mile, Low Impedance, 110-Volt pictureLC101 Sencore Impedance Analyzer Works w/ Manual
$494.0
LC101 Sencore Impedance Analyzer Works w/ Manual  picture1X 10X 300Mhz Oscilloscope Probe, Universal High Impedance Alligator Clip P Y1M9
$13.55
1X 10X 300Mhz Oscilloscope Probe, Universal High Impedance Alligator Clip P Y1M9 pictureTekBox TBLM01 Line Impedance Stabilisation Network Mate
$249.0
TekBox TBLM01 Line Impedance Stabilisation Network Mate picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.