BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-05-2005, 02:13 PM   #1
timinator
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
timinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Washington
Model: 8300
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 29
Default Javaloader screenshot - unknown request?

Please Login to Remove!

I'm trying to use Javaloader screenshot for grabbing some screens from a 7520 device. My syntax is: "javaloader -usb screenshot myscreen.bmp"
The following messages are returned:
Connected
Retrieving screen data... Error: unknown request
Disconnected

Any ideas?
__________________
===================================
"There are 10 types of people in the world.
Those that understand binary and those that don't!"
www.timothytrimble.info - The ART of S/W Development
==================================
Offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 02:21 PM   #2
arconsulting
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Metro NYC
Posts: 175
Default

>> Any ideas?

Are you running at least v4.0.2 on the handheld?
__________________
-- Aric Rosenbaum
BlackBerry consulting, BlackBerry development
www.arconsultinginc.com
BlackBerry consulting and development (RIM SI Partner)
Offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 02:23 PM   #3
timinator
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
timinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Washington
Model: 8300
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 29
Default

I'm running 4.0.0.249.

So, an desktop upgrade will take care of it? I'll go looking for the update.
__________________
===================================
"There are 10 types of people in the world.
Those that understand binary and those that don't!"
www.timothytrimble.info - The ART of S/W Development
==================================

Last edited by timinator; 12-05-2005 at 02:27 PM..
Offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 03:13 PM   #4
timinator
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
timinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Washington
Model: 8300
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 29
Default

Well, I'm running JDE 4.0.2, and I've upgraded the desktop software to 4.1.0.8. The device itself is running v4.0.0.249. I'm still getting the exact same error when trying to do a screen shot.
__________________
===================================
"There are 10 types of people in the world.
Those that understand binary and those that don't!"
www.timothytrimble.info - The ART of S/W Development
==================================
Offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 03:20 PM   #5
SCODonnell
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
SCODonnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicago
Model: 9930
OS: 7.1.0.267
PIN: the_tail_on_the_donkey
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 71
Default -u versus -usb?

Quote:
Originally Posted by timinator
My syntax is: "javaloader -usb screenshot myscreen.bmp"
Might be a simple point, but my batch job uses this syntax:
Code:
JavaLoader.exe -u screenshot c:\bb_screen.bmp
Also, I've heard where using a USB hub has caused problems in the past. Is your BB connected through a hub or directly?
Offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 03:26 PM   #6
timinator
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
timinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Washington
Model: 8300
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 29
Default

I get the same problem with the -u. And I'm connected directly via a usb port on my computer. Desktop connects to the device just fine. I have the same problem with or without desktop connected.
__________________
===================================
"There are 10 types of people in the world.
Those that understand binary and those that don't!"
www.timothytrimble.info - The ART of S/W Development
==================================
Offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 03:30 PM   #7
SCODonnell
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
SCODonnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Chicago
Model: 9930
OS: 7.1.0.267
PIN: the_tail_on_the_donkey
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 71
Default I have a 7100t -- maybe that's the issue

Looks like it's not fully supported on all BB models:

http://www.blackberryforums.com/showthread.php?t=17410
Offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 03:48 PM   #8
timinator
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
timinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Washington
Model: 8300
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 29
Default

Well, that kind of stinks. I'm writing a User's Guide and since I can't exactly duplicate all of the functionality on the simulator, looks like we'll have to do without certain screens.

Thanks for the help.
__________________
===================================
"There are 10 types of people in the world.
Those that understand binary and those that don't!"
www.timothytrimble.info - The ART of S/W Development
==================================
Offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 07:45 PM   #9
arconsulting
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Metro NYC
Posts: 175
Default

You need to run v4.0.2 on the handheld. IOW, the screenshot functionality has nothing to do with the BDM or JDE version.
__________________
-- Aric Rosenbaum
BlackBerry consulting, BlackBerry development
www.arconsultinginc.com
BlackBerry consulting and development (RIM SI Partner)
Offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 08:37 PM   #10
timinator
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
timinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Washington
Model: 8300
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 29
Default

Any ideas on where to get ahold of v4.0.2 for a 7520? I've looked all over the BB Developers site, including the Alliance Partners pages and found nothing with software updates for the device itself.
__________________
===================================
"There are 10 types of people in the world.
Those that understand binary and those that don't!"
www.timothytrimble.info - The ART of S/W Development
==================================
Offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 09:32 PM   #11
arconsulting
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Metro NYC
Posts: 175
Default

Check out:

https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads...B9D5EE16489088

With the Sprint/Nextel merger, they certainly don't make it easy...
__________________
-- Aric Rosenbaum
BlackBerry consulting, BlackBerry development
www.arconsultinginc.com
BlackBerry consulting and development (RIM SI Partner)
Offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 12:11 AM   #12
timinator
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
timinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Washington
Model: 8300
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 29
Default

Thanks much. And here I thought I scoured every click on the web site. ;)
__________________
===================================
"There are 10 types of people in the world.
Those that understand binary and those that don't!"
www.timothytrimble.info - The ART of S/W Development
==================================
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Vintage Dec Digital H775d Remote Battery Backup 35v 1.5a D.C.
$14.95
Vintage Dec Digital H775d Remote Battery Backup 35v 1.5a D.C. pictureRetro Vintage XStamper Office Stamps, Ink, Jan-Dec Inserts, Reinkable ~Preowned
$19.9
Retro Vintage XStamper Office Stamps, Ink, Jan-Dec Inserts, Reinkable ~Preowned  pictureVINTAGE 1988 AVERY JAN-DEC Aigner Standard Line Indexes/Ring Binder-11" x 8 1/2"
$9.97
VINTAGE 1988 AVERY JAN-DEC Aigner Standard Line Indexes/Ring Binder-11Vintage OHAUS 2610G Dec-O-Gram Triple Beam Balance Scale ref # yyyy
$39.95
Vintage OHAUS 2610G Dec-O-Gram Triple Beam Balance Scale   ref # yyyy picturePLYMOLD Set Table 2 CHAIRS Bistro Metal Dining Kitchen VINTAGE Used Restaurant
$98.0
PLYMOLD Set Table 2 CHAIRS Bistro Metal Dining Kitchen VINTAGE Used Restaurant  picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.