BlackBerry Forums Support Community

Closed Thread

Old 02-19-2009, 09:56 PM   #1
Eschguy

Model: 8330
Carrier: Sprint
Default Read (and write) Simplified Chinese

Please Login to Remove!

Hey guys, I'm completely new to my BlackBerry so forgive me if this is a stupid question.

I have the need to be able to read and write simplified Chinese on my Blackberry. Right now it shows up as little black boxes wherever the characters are supposed to be. Is it possible to fix this? If so, anybody feel like taking the time to walk me through it?

On a second note, if it is at all possible for me to write Chinese characters that would be great. It's not terribly important but it would definitely be convenient.

Any help would be appreciated!
Old 02-22-2009, 12:09 AM   #2
r8320

Model: 8320
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eschguy View Post
Hey guys, I'm completely new to my BlackBerry so forgive me if this is a stupid question.

I have the need to be able to read and write simplified Chinese on my Blackberry. Right now it shows up as little black boxes wherever the characters are supposed to be. Is it possible to fix this? If so, anybody feel like taking the time to walk me through it?

On a second note, if it is at all possible for me to write Chinese characters that would be great. It's not terribly important but it would definitely be convenient.

Any help would be appreciated!
choose one of the OS upgrades with "East Asian Language Support", follow the upgrade instruction, check the language and input options for installation and you will have the additional (to English) language once the App Loader completes its job. Reading is always there. You switch between English and Chinese input modes by going thru Menu selection or by Alt+Return key.
Old 02-22-2009, 12:47 AM   #3
Eschguy

Is there an easy way to do this on a Mac? I'm not finding anything.
Old 02-22-2009, 04:12 AM   #4
Eschguy