BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-26-2006, 07:30 PM   #1
sfo
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
sfo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Francisco
Model: 8703e
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 227
Default 4info

Please Login to Remove!

I stumbled across 4INFO. Looks good, but I'm cautious about providing my BlackBerry phone number. If you've tried the app, is it good? And have you gotten ANY telemarketing calls as a result of providing your number?
Offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 07:37 PM   #2
LunkHead
BlackBerry God
 
LunkHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cardboard box
Model: 850
OS: 0.0.00001
PIN: kie swear
Carrier: USPS Priority
Posts: 11,203
Default

Have a link..... ?

Never heard of it....

What does it do?????
Offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 08:28 PM   #3
Figment
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Diego
Model: 8700C
Carrier: TMO
Posts: 160
Default

The program is great! No need to worry about giving them your phone number I've had no problems at all.
Offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 03:11 AM   #4
pspiegel
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Los Angeles
Model: 9700
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 587
Default

what is it exactly?

EDIT: looks to me like its similar to berry411... http://www.4info.net/
Offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 10:52 AM   #5
MrKyoo
BlackBerry Master
 
MrKyoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Los Angeles
Model: 4s
OS: iOS
PIN: 79B32491
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 4,546
Default

For more info. http://www.blackberryforums.com/afte...ighlight=4info

~MrKyoo
__________________
http://twitter.com/mrkyoo
Offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 11:02 AM   #6
LunkHead
BlackBerry God
 
LunkHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cardboard box
Model: 850
OS: 0.0.00001
PIN: kie swear
Carrier: USPS Priority
Posts: 11,203
Default

Ya looks simular to Berry411... Think I will stick with it... Thanks for the info and link
Offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 08:38 PM   #7
4INFO
New Member
 
4INFO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: 8700c
Posts: 13
Default updated version

Hi all.

Just FYI - we have updated the BB client. Its more stable, bug fixes for NHL and NBA, etc.

m.4info.net/client

Also, FYI, Berry 411 uses our WAP mobile site to power their client. So if you want to go straight to the source, why not try it out from your BB browser?


URL ==> m.4info.net

It has just seen a major overhaul.

Thanks!

Lee
Product Manager
4INFO
__________________
Lee McArthur
--------------
Product Manager
4INFO - Be in the know, while on the go.
www.4info.net
Offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 10:30 PM   #8
sfo
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
sfo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Francisco
Model: 8703e
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 227
Default

OK, Lee...I'll give it a try. But no telemarketing and no resultant spam, correct?
Offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 10:36 PM   #9
sfo
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
sfo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: San Francisco
Model: 8703e
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 227
Default

Funny! So I try to set it up on my 8700c and get:
"Connection Failed. You have entered into an area with poor connection. This application depends on a network connection."
Makes sense. Five bars and in San Francisco. Yeah, the Bay Area is an obscure place for a network connection.
Sorry, but too much trouble. Berry 411 is safe.
Offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 09:31 AM   #10
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator
 
JSanders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: North of the moss line
Model: Z30
OS: 7.0sumtin
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 41,921
Default same deal here

With no ill will towards 4Info:

My office sits 100 feet away from the rear of a TMO store with their array of antennas to boost their signal, where I am currently getting a signal rating of 58 dBm, and never under 75 dBm.

I've used 4Info a good bit in the past couple of months, and I get that same error off and on, "Connection Failed, You have entered into an area with poor connection. The application depends on a network connection."

4Info looks like a good product, but so far it has not been dependable. Gotta have somebody convince me otherwise.
Offline  
Old 12-07-2006, 06:44 PM   #11
4INFO
New Member
 
4INFO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: 8700c
Posts: 13
Default Update

Hi Guys.

We have recently released a new version of the client for blackberry (just last week), to try and get rid of that connection error problem, as well as a page loading lag.

If you could let me know how it is working for your device, that would be great.

You can download the new client OTA from:

http://m.4info.net/client

Thanks!

Lee
__________________
Lee McArthur
--------------
Product Manager
4INFO - Be in the know, while on the go.
www.4info.net
Offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 06:41 PM   #12
4INFO
New Member
 
4INFO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: 8700c
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSanders
With no ill will towards 4Info:

My office sits 100 feet away from the rear of a TMO store with their array of antennas to boost their signal, where I am currently getting a signal rating of 58 dBm, and never under 75 dBm.

I've used 4Info a good bit in the past couple of months, and I get that same error off and on, "Connection Failed, You have entered into an area with poor connection. The application depends on a network connection."

4Info looks like a good product, but so far it has not been dependable. Gotta have somebody convince me otherwise.

Hi all. Me again.

After 2 releases, we have finallyt sorted out the connection bug on the blackberry. We have released version 2.02 just last week, and it is our most stable version yet. I am using a 7290 and an 8700 here in my office with only 1-2 bars of strength, and the error message is gone.

For those of you willing to give us another try, please let me know how it works for you now.

Download URL (OTA): http://m.4info.net/client

Many thanks

Lee
4INFO
__________________
Lee McArthur
--------------
Product Manager
4INFO - Be in the know, while on the go.
www.4info.net
Offline  
Old 06-02-2007, 01:14 PM   #13
evilcaptain
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NJ
Model: 9700
OS: 5.0.0.405
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 304
Default

I am using version 2.03 and the trackball does not work.
Lee,

Is there going to be support for the BBs with trackballs?
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Server Products portion pack dispenser stainless steel
$10.0
Server Products portion pack dispenser stainless steel pictureServer - 88000 - Stainless Steel Bottle Pump w/Adjustable Stroke
$8.0
Server - 88000 - Stainless Steel Bottle Pump w/Adjustable Stroke picture*NEW* MultiTech FF440 4-Port Analog V.34 Fax Finder Server (B496)
$699.95
*NEW* MultiTech FF440 4-Port Analog V.34 Fax Finder Server (B496) pictureNMB/ MINEBA 4710NL-05W-B50 Qty of 1 per Lot Server Fan; BALL BEARING; BRUSHLESS
$25.0
NMB/ MINEBA  4710NL-05W-B50 Qty of 1 per Lot Server Fan; BALL BEARING; BRUSHLESS pictureData Flow Systems CPU 933Mz Hyper Server Module HSM001
$439.0
Data Flow Systems CPU 933Mz Hyper Server Module HSM001 picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.