Closed Thread

Old 04-03-2008, 11:01 AM   #1
Stan_TheGunNut

Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Default New 8830 and ?'s

Please Login to Remove!

I just picked up my first Blackberry, an 8830 World Edition with Sprint as the provider. I am completely new to Blackberry. I'm trying to set stuff up, and was wondering if there was a software program available to use on my computer to set up emails (hotmail, yahoo....), contacts, etc, so I don't have to resort to typing everything in on a tiny keyboard.

Also, there seems to be a lot of good information on this board, much of it relatively technical. Is there a list of acronyms anywhere such as what BES vs BIS is?

Thanks.
Old 04-03-2008, 11:06 AM   #2
jsconyers

Model: NOTE2
PIN: <- Where do I find this?

you can set up your email accounts through your carrier's BIS account. Set the account up at BlackBerry Internet Service

For a better understanding of the acronyms, check here:
BlackBerry Glossary - BlackBerryFAQ

Welcome to the forums
Old 04-03-2008, 11:24 AM   #3
djm2
BlackBerry Master

Model: 9780
Carrier: T-Mobile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stan_TheGunNut View Post
I just picked up my first Blackberry, an 8830 World Edition with Sprint as the provider. I am completely new to Blackberry. I'm trying to set stuff up, and was wondering if there was a software program available to use on my computer to set up emails (hotmail, yahoo....), contacts, etc, so I don't have to resort to typing everything in on a tiny keyboard.

Also, there seems to be a lot of good information on this board, much of it relatively technical. Is there a list of acronyms anywhere such as what BES vs BIS is?

Thanks.
For entering contacts you can use Outlook, and sync to the BB.
Old 04-03-2008, 11:29 AM   #4
akosnitzky
BBF Moderator

Model: 9650
Carrier: Verizon BIS

Wirelessly posted (Verizon 8830)