BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-15-2007, 03:37 PM   #21
AuntyDan
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: May 2007
Model: None
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 18
Default

Please Login to Remove!

Quote:
Originally Posted by penguin3107 View Post
We have two users with 8830s. Just activated today...
Thanks for the detailed info. Can you confirm your users get EV-DO Internet speeds on their 8830's? (It wouldn't be beyond Verizon to have crippled it!)
Offline  
Old 05-15-2007, 03:52 PM   #22
penguin3107
BlackBerry God
 
penguin3107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Model: iOS 5
Carrier: VZW
Posts: 11,701
Default

Yes, they both get EVDO speeds when they're in an EVDO covered area.
__________________
BCSA
BES 5.0.3 MR4 :-: Exchange 2007 SP3 RU3
http://port3101.org
Offline  
Old 05-16-2007, 04:59 PM   #23
AuntyDan
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: May 2007
Model: None
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by penguin3107 View Post
Yes, they both get EVDO speeds when they're in an EVDO covered area.
Cool, thanks.
Offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 07:32 PM   #24
Jordan W.
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: May 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigwillokc View Post
...User name = SP@CINGULAR GPRS.COM
(must be caps)...
Thank you for the instructions bigwillokc. Does this allow to run at EDGE speeds or GPRS speeds?

Last edited by Jordan W.; 05-23-2007 at 07:33 PM.. Reason: tried to highlight "GPRS" in the quote - didn't work
Offline  
Old 05-23-2007, 11:43 PM   #25
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

If you have EDGE it should be EDGE speeds.
Offline  
Old 05-25-2007, 08:01 AM   #26
jorowi
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Model: 8310
PIN: 242871EF
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 10
Default

Does anyone know if it is possible to tether a BB8800 on a Macbook?

Thanks.
Offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 06:19 PM   #27
antoniuk
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: California
Model: 8800
Carrier: AT&t
Posts: 17
Default

nevermind :P

Last edited by antoniuk; 05-31-2007 at 06:32 PM..
Offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 09:43 AM   #28
imshick
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigwillokc View Post
The post above is wrong, even if its from Cingular's site. You don't need a tethering plan if you have a data plan. Try this:



1.Install the BlackBerry desktop software.
2. Verify that you see the 'Standard Modem' in the device manager. Right click on “my computer” ; “properties” ; “Hardware” Tab; “Device Manager” and then scroll down to “modem”
3. Double click the 'Standard Modem' in the device manager and click on the advanced tab.
4. Place the following string in the extra initialization commands: AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","wap.cingular" - take care that your quotes look like normal quotes, not italicized quotes.
5. Create a dialup connection using this info:

User name = [email address]
(must be caps)

Password = CINGULAR1
(also must be caps)

Number to dial = *99***1#


6. Open up and make sure you have a USB connection established with the BlackBerry Desktop Manager.
7. Connect your dialup connection.


That's it. Works fine for me. Will only work for Cingular customers, obviously.


Hello - I found your posting to be extremely helpful, however, after I authenticate and connect, I am sending packets but not receiving any. Consequently, this does not allow me to get to the internet. I have followed your steps and it will dial, check username and password, authenticate and show I am connected with speeds at 115Kbps (default), but just can't get to the internet - Page cannot be displayed message. I have tried flushing dns, releasing IP etc.. any suggestions? Your information was the most helpful and accurate I have come across. Look forward to your reply!
Offline  
Old 07-03-2007, 02:55 PM   #29
NickRac
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Stamford
Model: 8830
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 15
Default

So let me get this straight...AFTER the voice charges and after the $45 a month for unlimited data, verizon hits us AGAIN with ANOTHER $15 just to tether the modem AND it puts usage restrictions on us?
__________________
Nick Racanelli
Verizon 8830
Offline  
Old 08-03-2007, 08:57 PM   #30
camaxtli
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
camaxtli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Traffic
Model: 9780
OS: 5.0.0.921
PIN: a colada
Carrier: Tmobile
Posts: 157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigwillokc View Post
The post above is wrong, even if its from Cingular's site. You don't need a tethering plan if you have a data plan. Try this:



1.Install the BlackBerry desktop software.
2. Verify that you see the 'Standard Modem' in the device manager. Right click on xxx8220;my computerxxx8221; ; xxx8220;propertiesxxx8221; ; xxx8220;Hardwarexxx8221; Tab; xxx8220;Device Managerxxx8221; and then scroll down to xxx8220;modemxxx8221;
3. Double click the 'Standard Modem' in the device manager and click on the advanced tab.
4. Place the following string in the extra initialization commands: AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","wap.cingular" - take care that your quotes look like normal quotes, not italicized quotes.
5. Create a dialup connection using this info:

User name = [email address]
(must be caps)

Password = CINGULAR1
(also must be caps)

Number to dial = *99***1#


6. Open up and make sure you have a USB connection established with the BlackBerry Desktop Manager.
7. Connect your dialup connection.


That's it. Works fine for me. Will only work for Cingular customers, obviously.
Thanks, this works good for me with a 8800. I am just wondering if there is a way to get it to go faster than 115k? I'm thinking of using the software Mark Rejhon recommended on here, Propel. Maybe that will make a difference.
Offline  
Old 08-07-2007, 10:38 PM   #31
AuroraProject
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 61
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorowi View Post
Does anyone know if it is possible to tether a BB8800 on a Macbook?

Thanks.
I'd like to know this too.
Offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 04:36 AM   #32
AuroraProject
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 61
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorowi View Post
Does anyone know if it is possible to tether a BB8800 on a Macbook?

Thanks.
I finally found this:

» How to use your BlackBerry 8800 as a Bluetooth modem for Mac | The BlackBerry Beat | ZDNet.com

Edit: did some testing, this works pretty well. I get 140k down and 70k up, not the fastest, but now I can use my MacBook Pro anywhere I have GPRS!

Last edited by AuroraProject; 08-20-2007 at 04:57 AM..
Offline  
Old 08-20-2007, 07:24 AM   #33
Galvatron
No longer Registered.
 
Galvatron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mesa Arizona
Model: 8800
PIN: 240582A8
Carrier: tmobile
Posts: 647
Default

well theres always sharkmodem lol
Offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 04:43 PM   #34
chitwwe
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 13
Default Seems to fail at verify UN and PW

I've been on the phone with ATT for an hour.

I have used the information above and have everyting set up correctly. I'm trying to tether via bluetooth from a dell laoptop.
It appears to connect because it get the following status information

Openning Port
Dialing
Connected to remote PC
Verifying UN and PW
Unable to connect

I have upgraded my plan to tethered. They said they set up an internet account. Still doesn't connect. They finally told me I had to call dell b/c they were expecting to see bluetooth modem in my device manager but I have Standard 33600 bps Modem.

Any thoughts?
Offline  
Old 08-22-2007, 08:01 PM   #35
Galvatron
No longer Registered.
 
Galvatron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Mesa Arizona
Model: 8800
PIN: 240582A8
Carrier: tmobile
Posts: 647
Default

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.0) BlackBerry8800/4.2.1 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/100)

Dell hell lol there's the main prblem try shark modem
Offline  
Old 08-23-2007, 12:53 PM   #36
chitwwe
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Model: 8800
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Cingular
Posts: 13
Default Bluetooth Tether Fixed

Quote:
Originally Posted by chitwwe View Post
I've been on the phone with ATT for an hour.

I have used the information above and have everyting set up correctly. I'm trying to tether via bluetooth from a dell laoptop.
It appears to connect because it get the following status information

Openning Port
Dialing
Connected to remote PC
Verifying UN and PW
Unable to connect

I have upgraded my plan to tethered. They said they had to also set up an internet account. Still doesn't connect. They finally told me I had to call dell b/c they were expecting to see bluetooth modem in my device manager but I have Standard 33600 bps Modem.

Any thoughts?
OK. I Fixed the problem. I removed the Dell preinstalled bluetooth management software (Add remove programs). Then disabled the bluetooth device (Device Manager) and the reneabled it so that windows saw the hardware and associated the appropriate Windows management tools. After doing this I paired the device and followed the ATT/Cingular steps mentioned in the other posts and worked just fine.
Offline  
Old 12-10-2007, 09:49 PM   #37
mfaubert
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Minneapolis
Model: 8800
Carrier: ATT/Cingular
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigwillokc View Post
The post above is wrong, even if its from Cingular's site. You don't need a tethering plan if you have a data plan. Try this:



1.Install the BlackBerry desktop software.
2. Verify that you see the 'Standard Modem' in the device manager. Right click on “my computer” ; “properties” ; “Hardware” Tab; “Device Manager” and then scroll down to “modem”
3. Double click the 'Standard Modem' in the device manager and click on the advanced tab.
4. Place the following string in the extra initialization commands: AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","wap.cingular" - take care that your quotes look like normal quotes, not italicized quotes.
5. Create a dialup connection using this info:

User name = [email address]
(must be caps)

Password = CINGULAR1
(also must be caps)

Number to dial = *99***1#


6. Open up and make sure you have a USB connection established with the BlackBerry Desktop Manager.
7. Connect your dialup connection.


That's it. Works fine for me. Will only work for Cingular customers, obviously.
After reading a few different threads, including a FAQ posted on this site - this is the post with the information that made it work for me. This should be copied into the FAQ and made a sticky for how to make AT&T (nee Cingular) 8800's work as a tethered modem.

I do have an unlimited BB plan, so I am curious to see if there are any additional charges posted in the future.
Offline  
Old 01-28-2008, 05:52 PM   #38
bolaber
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Model: none
PIN: N/A
Carrier: tmobile
Posts: 9
Default

what do i need to do differently for t-mobile?
Offline  
Old 04-19-2008, 08:34 PM   #39
lintakoc
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Houston
Model: 9000
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 38
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bolaber View Post
what do i need to do differently for t-mobile?
anyone?
Offline  
Old 04-22-2008, 06:46 PM   #40
bdj6020
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Model: 9000
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigwillokc View Post
1.Install the BlackBerry desktop software.
2. Verify that you see the 'Standard Modem' in the device manager. Right click on “my computer” ; “properties” ; “Hardware” Tab; “Device Manager” and then scroll down to “modem”
I'm not seeing a standard modem in the list. Any ideas on how to fix this?

I've a 8800 and I'm running desktop manager 4.3.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

CISCO CP-7941G-CH1 VOICE IP PHONE VoIP UNIFIED CHANNEL / LICENSE w/ PWR SUPPLY
$49.99
CISCO CP-7941G-CH1 VOICE IP PHONE VoIP UNIFIED CHANNEL / LICENSE w/ PWR SUPPLY  pictureVTech Cordless Dual Line PC Phone for Skype VoIP - Model: USB7100 - NEW
$75.0
VTech Cordless Dual Line PC Phone for Skype VoIP - Model: USB7100 - NEW pictureAvaya 9608G 700505424 VoIP Desktop Office Telephone
$68.01
Avaya 9608G 700505424 VoIP Desktop Office Telephone  pictureNEW Sealed Cisco CP 6945 CL K9 Unified UC VOIP Phone CP-6945-CL-K9
$6.0
NEW Sealed Cisco CP 6945 CL K9 Unified UC VOIP Phone CP-6945-CL-K9 pictureMitel 50005071 5340 VOIP Dual Mode Backlit LCD Display VOIP IP POE Telephone #A
$62.95
Mitel 50005071 5340 VOIP Dual Mode Backlit LCD Display VOIP IP POE Telephone #A picture






Copyright © 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM © and BlackBerry © are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.