BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-18-2008, 02:07 PM   #21
WillJitsu
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
WillJitsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Memphis, TN
Model: 8130
OS: 4.5.0.138
PIN: 318B717B
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 196
Default

Please Login to Remove!

Quote:
Originally Posted by camaxtli View Post
Thanks! I think I got it now. Its just from the pdf I posted and from the support guys I was told that rev0 is indeed limited to 400-700 max on data. The only way to get past that speed and even then it wont be constant just peak is to connect to any powervision app like sprint tv.
This will only give you those increased speeds in the actual Powervision App, correct?

This wouldn't affect any other speed such as web browsing or downloading files on the laptop would it?
Offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 02:18 PM   #22
camaxtli
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
camaxtli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Traffic
Model: 9780
OS: 5.0.0.921
PIN: a colada
Carrier: Tmobile
Posts: 157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WillJitsu View Post
This will only give you those increased speeds in the actual Powervision App, correct?

This wouldn't affect any other speed such as web browsing or downloading files on the laptop would it?
Don't quote me on this, I am just repeating what I was told, but yes. From what's on the pdf and from what I was told is that the increased speeds are achieved visiting the powervision apps. Speeds between 400-700 kbps are what you would expect, sometimes lower, for browsing and tethering. Again, I could be incorrect, just going by the pdf I posted and whats been told to me by tech support.
Offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 02:22 PM   #23
WillJitsu
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
WillJitsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Memphis, TN
Model: 8130
OS: 4.5.0.138
PIN: 318B717B
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 196
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by camaxtli View Post
Don't quote me on this, I am just repeating what I was told, but yes. From what's on the pdf and from what I was told is that the increased speeds are achieved visiting the powervision apps. Speeds between 400-700 kbps are what you would expect, sometimes lower, for browsing and tethering. Again, I could be incorrect, just going by the pdf I posted and whats been told to me by tech support.
Interesting. Thanks for the info.

Can someone confirm this?
Offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 02:50 PM   #24
thackstonns
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8330
Carrier: Alltel
Posts: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by camaxtli View Post
Thanks! I think I got it now. Its just from the pdf I posted and from the support guys I was told that rev0 is indeed limited to 400-700 max on data. The only way to get past that speed and even then it wont be constant just peak is to connect to any powervision app like sprint tv.
Alot of the times that I tether my bb pearl, I get throughput above the 700. ususally more along the lines of 800-900. I can't get over the 1Mbps but I believe that is more to do with the serial connection limit. But I am on alltel, so I don't know about sprint. I just don't see how they can increase the speeds for those apps and then say that evdo cant reach that high. I would think it more along the lines of every internet provider. They cap the speed at 700 for regular use to save bandwith. So that they can assure that thier apps work without hiccups. I have no proof of that, but that would be my thought. If not they would have to use a different chip in the phone to increase the speed. Now that, I know that they don't do. So if they are using the same evdo chip, and can make there bandwith more on thier apps obviously they are capping the other. Otherwise the chip wouldn't be able to go faster at all.
Offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 03:03 PM   #25
WillJitsu
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
WillJitsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Memphis, TN
Model: 8130
OS: 4.5.0.138
PIN: 318B717B
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 196
Default

I'm just wondering if there is a major speed different between tethering with the 8130 and buying a Sprint Wireless card for the laptop that officially supports the EVDO Rev. A speeds.
Offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 09:32 PM   #26
clskills
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Model: 9630
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 8
Default

well i used to have the pantech 500 wireless card and now i got the 8130 and the speeds are exactly the same when connected to my laptop I dont see any difference
Offline  
Old 03-18-2008, 10:05 PM   #27
camaxtli
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
camaxtli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Traffic
Model: 9780
OS: 5.0.0.921
PIN: a colada
Carrier: Tmobile
Posts: 157
Default

WillJitsu, I Hope this gives you an idea of the broadband cards speed.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 4.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	19.1 KB
ID:	10785   Click image for larger version

Name:	rsz_4Picture 2.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	18.4 KB
ID:	10786   Click image for larger version

Name:	rsz_Picture 3.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	20.1 KB
ID:	10787  

Last edited by camaxtli; 03-18-2008 at 10:11 PM..
Offline  
Old 03-19-2008, 05:55 AM   #28
Walt
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Walt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Florida
Model: 8130
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 320
Default

I tried this. I bought a Sprint wireless card and it was painfully slow compared to tethering my BB. I don't know why. I returned the card and cancelled the $60 mo service.


Quote:
Originally Posted by WillJitsu View Post
I'm just wondering if there is a major speed different between tethering with the 8130 and buying a Sprint Wireless card for the laptop that officially supports the EVDO Rev. A speeds.
__________________
Walt
Florida, USA
Sprint 8130 Pearl 2
Offline  
Old 03-24-2008, 05:03 PM   #29
thackstonns
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8330
Carrier: Alltel
Posts: 69
Default

The rev a card is great, but they haven't rolled out the rev a towers yet. So you wont see a speed boost till they do. Also I thought that rev a just boosted the upload speed from 40kb or so to the same as what the down would be. I didnt think that it boosted the download speeds very much.
Offline  
Old 03-24-2008, 05:06 PM   #30
Sith_Apprentice
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Sith_Apprentice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.xxx
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 10,149
Default

there are many places that have Rev A, i live in one of them.
Offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 01:36 AM   #31
genesis14
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: 8130
PIN: N/A
Carrier: telus
Posts: 1
Default

I have a question about dial up isp's. Can you attach your bb and use a dial up isp instead of the built in modem that use's the carriers internet capabilities?
Offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 03:25 PM   #32
wollman
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: 7130
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 4
Question This is really helpful

Quote:
Originally Posted by StuartV View Post
You DO NOT need VZAccess software to use your Pearl tethered. For that matter, you don't need it to use an air card, either.

As proof, my hard drive in my laptop pooped out on Friday night and I spent the weekend re-formatting and reinstalling XP Pro from scratch. I did not install the VZAccess software.

I DID install the BB Desktop Manager and BB OS. Once that was installed, I connected to my BB first via a USB cable to make the initial connection, and then via Bluetooth.

Then I connected to the Internet using the BB via Bluetooth. I used the Network Setup Wizard to create the Dial-up Networking connection for that.

Once connected, I inserted my Kyocera KPC650 aircard into my laptop and ran Microsoft Update, which detected the air card and downloaded a couple of drivers for it (via the Pearl BT connection). Now, when I insert my aircard, it automatically connects and works. I don't even have to use a Dial-up Networking connection to use the aircard.
Hi There...this is exactly the issue I'm dealing with right now. I just had a few questions for you. (Maybe you can help) I'm kind of new to all this techi stuff...but I was just wondering why if you would need an 'Aircard' if you have Wi-Fi...are they basically the same thing or something altogether different....Hope this makes sense..Thanks so much. JW
Offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 04:27 PM   #33
thackstonns
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8330
Carrier: Alltel
Posts: 69
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sith_Apprentice View Post
there are many places that have Rev A, i live in one of them.
Where do you live? And who do you have for a carrier? Just wondering who has rolled it out already.
Offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 04:29 PM   #34
Sith_Apprentice
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Sith_Apprentice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Model: 9000
OS: 4.6.0.xxx
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 10,149
Default

Both VZW and Sprint have Rev A areas, and DC is one for both. (gotta keep government types happy). Even some smaller carriers have Rev A as well, they skipped Rev 0
Offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 04:29 PM   #35
wollman
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Model: 7130
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 4
Unhappy Another Question

I guess my biggest question would be whether or not you need have a Phone Plan that allows you to use your phone as a modem? If that is the case then it really doesn't matter how you connect your phone to your computer, or does it? The real question is whether its possible to connect my phone (Blackberry with an unlimited internet/data plan) to connect my laptop to the internet via cable or bluetooth without paying for the option of using my phone as a modem??? Would you know???
Offline  
Old 03-25-2008, 04:30 PM   #36
John Clark
BBF Moderator
 
John Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Model: Z30
OS: 10.2.1.x
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T
Posts: 34,720
Default

Yes, with Verizon you need a tethering plan.
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

BRUKER SIGNAL CHANNEL AND MODULATION AMPLIFIER
$7548.99
BRUKER SIGNAL CHANNEL AND MODULATION AMPLIFIER picture3A 10-50V 12V 24V DC motor speed controller PWM high Z5B5 RS232 T5E8
$2.61
3A 10-50V 12V 24V DC motor speed controller PWM high Z5B5 RS232 T5E8 picture5Pcs Pre-Amplifier Module NE5532 Preamplifier Audio Board 2CH DC 12V-30V
$11.99
5Pcs Pre-Amplifier Module NE5532 Preamplifier Audio Board 2CH DC 12V-30V pictureVoice Playback Module MP3 Player UART I/O Trigger Amplifier Class D 5W
$5.89
Voice Playback Module MP3 Player UART I/O Trigger Amplifier Class D 5W pictureLOT OF 3 OP495 Analog Devices General Purpose Amplifier 4 Circuit Rail-to-Rail
$22.89
LOT OF 3 OP495   Analog Devices General Purpose Amplifier 4 Circuit Rail-to-Rail picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.