BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-30-2009, 12:25 PM   #1
Cavi Mike
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Cavi Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Model: **))
PIN: ATA
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 160
Question BB as modem Win 2K-OK, Win XP-FAIL

Please Login to Remove!

Am I missing something here? I've been using my 8800 as a modem for almost 2 years on my old Stinkpad running Win 2K but I just bought an Asus Eee and I cant get it to work for the life of me. I did happen to notice the 8800 isn't listed as "phones that work" in the How-To but it does work...on Win 2K.

*confused*
__________________
pearls ain't free
Offline  
Old 05-30-2009, 04:38 PM   #2
djm2
BlackBerry Master
 
djm2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Model: 9780
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 4,659
Default

Is Desktop Manager installed on the Asus? If not, install that and see if that helps matters.
Offline  
Old 05-30-2009, 04:47 PM   #3
Cavi Mike
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Cavi Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Rochester, NY
Model: **))
PIN: ATA
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 160
Default

Yes, 4.2. Same version I'm using on the 2K Stinkpad. I don't like the most recent version since it's so based on Roxio.
__________________
pearls ain't free
Offline  
Old 05-30-2009, 08:25 PM   #4
SteveO86
BlackBerryForums.com Super Moderator
 
SteveO86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Florida
Model: 9650
OS: 6.0.0.280
PIN: I heard it drop!
Carrier: VZW BIS
Posts: 6,534
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cavi Mike View Post
Yes, 4.2. Same version I'm using on the 2K Stinkpad. I don't like the most recent version since it's so based on Roxio.
There is an options to install the Desktop Manager without Roxio.
__________________
8830 -> 8330 -> 9550 -> 9650
Just think about how far BlackBerries have come from then till now... And what else is coming.

Follow me on Twitter
Offline  
Old 05-31-2009, 01:38 AM   #5
sandsjh
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Arkansas
Model: 8830
OS: 4.5.0.135
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Alltel BIS
Posts: 116
Default

If you have a password on the device you will probably have to use the T-Mobile software. I know on Alltel 8830 and 8330 you can't use the XP dial-up if you have a password... the Alltel software must take it out of unlock mode.

Otherwise, use bluetooth ;)
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

VINTAGE CONTINUUM PUMPED LASER CAVITY MODEL 711-06 S/N 677-DEC 1993-UNTESTED
$19.99
VINTAGE CONTINUUM PUMPED LASER CAVITY MODEL 711-06 S/N 677-DEC 1993-UNTESTED pictureVintage ACCO 10X 2 Hole Punch Office Equipment Collectible Desktop Item Art Dec
$12.99
Vintage ACCO 10X 2 Hole Punch Office Equipment Collectible Desktop Item Art Dec pictureVintage Dec Digital H775d Remote Battery Backup 35v 1.5a D.C.
$15.95
Vintage Dec Digital H775d Remote Battery Backup 35v 1.5a D.C. pictureNIB Vintage Mutual Adjustable Hand Punch No. 20 Date Stamped December 10, 1970
$9.0
NIB Vintage Mutual Adjustable Hand Punch No. 20 Date Stamped December 10, 1970 picture800ml Diamond Glass Bottle Vintage Glass Liquor Whiskey Crystal Bottle Drink Dec
$28.69
800ml Diamond Glass Bottle Vintage Glass Liquor Whiskey Crystal Bottle Drink Dec picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.