BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-2009, 08:10 AM   #21
dadp2
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Model: 8703e
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 17
Default

Please Login to Remove!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trokair View Post
PMed over to you, dadp2.
Trokair, Your pm is disabled same with email. Please contact me at my email.
D
Offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 05:34 AM   #22
Soxfan04
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Soxfan04's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Patriot Place (Foxboro, MA)
Model: 9630
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 83
Default

I think Sprint just released a 4.5 OS software for their 8703e. Should be able to load that onto a Verizon 8703e after deleting the vendor.xml file. I am going to try loading it on my old 8703e to see how well it performs.
Offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 11:22 AM   #23
bbkingrocks
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Model: 8330
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 38
Default

Just installed 4.5 on my VZW 8703e. Seems to be working well. Great to have html email.
Offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 12:08 PM   #24
bbkingrocks
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Model: 8330
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 38
Default

Just noticed that Documents to Go doesn't appear to have installed. Sprint references it on the download screen but its not on my BB.
Offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 12:22 PM   #25
jsconyers
New Member
 
jsconyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In a van down by the river.
Model: NOTE2
OS: 4.1
PIN: <- Where do I find this?
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 15,103
Default

Connect your device back to the PC and go into Application Loader. From there, place a check next to Docs To Go.
__________________
The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits.
When you take things for granted, the things you are granted, get taken.
Even a mosquito doesn't get a pat on the back until it starts to work.
Too many people miss the silver lining because they're expecting gold.
[BES 5.0.3 / GroupWise 2012 HP2]
Offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 04:34 PM   #26
bbkingrocks
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Model: 8330
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 38
Default

Seems somewhat strange but application loader is only showing the various non-RIM applications that I have installed like google maps, gmail, etc. The core blackberry programs are not showing up, including Docs to Go.
Offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 04:36 PM   #27
jsconyers
New Member
 
jsconyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In a van down by the river.
Model: NOTE2
OS: 4.1
PIN: <- Where do I find this?
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 15,103
Default

Do you have the OS installed on your PC with the vendor.xml file deleted?

How did you install the OS on your device if you don't have it on your PC?
__________________
The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits.
When you take things for granted, the things you are granted, get taken.
Even a mosquito doesn't get a pat on the back until it starts to work.
Too many people miss the silver lining because they're expecting gold.
[BES 5.0.3 / GroupWise 2012 HP2]
Offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 04:44 PM   #28
bbkingrocks
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Model: 8330
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 38
Default

I downloaded version 4.5 directly from the Sprint site, installed on my computer, deleted the vendor.xml file and then opened DM 4.7. The only installation quirk was when DM didn't see the new version, apparently because it was looking online for update software, I disconnected from the internet, restarted DM and was then given the option to install the new software. Went pretty smoothly after that and seems to be working well on the device. Synchronization with outlook via DM also working.
Offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 04:47 PM   #29
jsconyers
New Member
 
jsconyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In a van down by the river.
Model: NOTE2
OS: 4.1
PIN: <- Where do I find this?
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 15,103
Default

I never use DM to upgrade, I use Loader.exe that comes with the OS.

I would search your entire PC for vendor.xml and delete all instances and then try looking in apploader again.
__________________
The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits.
When you take things for granted, the things you are granted, get taken.
Even a mosquito doesn't get a pat on the back until it starts to work.
Too many people miss the silver lining because they're expecting gold.
[BES 5.0.3 / GroupWise 2012 HP2]
Offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 04:59 PM   #30
bbkingrocks
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Model: 8330
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 38
Default

Hey, thanks a lot. I hadn't used loader.exe before but it worked perfectly. All the bb software was there along with Docs to go. Appreciate the help.
Offline  
Old 05-22-2009, 05:01 PM   #31
jsconyers
New Member
 
jsconyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In a van down by the river.
Model: NOTE2
OS: 4.1
PIN: <- Where do I find this?
Carrier: Sprint
Posts: 15,103
Default

Good deal
__________________
The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits.
When you take things for granted, the things you are granted, get taken.
Even a mosquito doesn't get a pat on the back until it starts to work.
Too many people miss the silver lining because they're expecting gold.
[BES 5.0.3 / GroupWise 2012 HP2]
Offline  
Old 05-26-2009, 11:24 PM   #32
dadp2
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Model: 8703e
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dc/dc View Post
I'll believe it when I see it.

Until then, I've still got the BS flag up.
Its out in the wild -Like I said Trokair's word is gold !
Thanks again to Trokair for sharing a glimpse with us almost 2 weeks ago !
D
Offline  
Old 05-29-2009, 10:08 AM   #33
Trokair
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Model: 8703e
OS: 4.5.0.131
Carrier: Verizon Wireless
Posts: 3
Default

Not a problem folks. Enjoy (now that it's official)!
Offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Atlas Copco SRTT-B 25Nm Transducer (New, Sealed Box)
$499.99
Atlas Copco SRTT-B 25Nm Transducer (New, Sealed Box) pictureYORK 025-28678-112 | SUP: 5 V d.c. | OUT: 0.5..4.5V d.c. | PRESSURE TRANSDUCER
$175.0
YORK 025-28678-112 | SUP: 5 V d.c. | OUT: 0.5..4.5V d.c. | PRESSURE TRANSDUCER pictureRochester UVX1F6 Voltage Transducer
$99.95
Rochester UVX1F6 Voltage Transducer pictureOMEGA, PRESSURE TRANSDUCER, PX319-2KG5V, 0-2000 PSI, WITH CABLE CONNECTION
$40.0
OMEGA, PRESSURE TRANSDUCER, PX319-2KG5V, 0-2000 PSI, WITH CABLE CONNECTION pictureSonosite 180 Plus Portable Ultrasound Probe C15e CW MCX Transducer
$575.0
Sonosite 180 Plus Portable Ultrasound  Probe C15e CW MCX Transducer picture






Copyright 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM and BlackBerry are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.